We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 478: English reviews
Start your review of The Invercauld Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reading previous reviews this place sounds like the pitts! Well it isnt. If you want 4 / 5* modern hotel with central heating full blast then this is not for you. This is a lovely old building, the interior fits this type of building, high ceilings, wood paneling, lots of stairs. yes there are areas that could do with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scruton817
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a terrible experience. Yes we got a cheap last minute deal with bookings.com but that was only because there wasn't much else available. The picture looked ok and it's in a very popular walking area near the Cairngorms. Large old place that needs an update. We entered in and waited at reception whilst a members of staff carried on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariaandwes
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel but badly managed especially in the dining room. Apart from the last day there was at least one item that would run out at breakfast. The first morning they managed to run out of eggs AND bacon at the same time. In the evening the service was disorganised and sloppy. This may be due to having three people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flybywyre
liverpool
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a really good week, excellent Driver Debbie, the Hotel was ok booked a scenic view only problem with room no heating in Bathroom which was Freezing!!!!, the Dining times in the evening could have been better organised and the Manager/Guy sorting tables was a bit short tempered with some members of staff. The real star in the Hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cemoc48
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I shall pass on your kind comments to Theo in the Restaurant, and the owner of the Gathering Place, look forward to seeing you next year. Kind Regards Jane

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly I can not say enough positive comments about the staff. The staff are very attentive and welcoming. The hotel stated it had wifi, which is a must when I'm travelling with business. Well they do have wifi however only in the communal lounge. The heating was broken and the poor receptionist had a job to find heaters for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shawemma
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. I am sorry that we did not come up to your expectations. We do not serve canned beans or carrots, thanks again for the review. Regards Jane

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar on a four night Shearing's trip. The staff at the hotel are excellent the food is good. The main hotel areas are good but our room let the whole trip down. We stayed in a basic room and that is what it was. It was in need of drastic refurb. Although clean everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plod55
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I am pleased to hear that the staff looked after you and you enjoyed our food offering, im sure if you had come to see the reception team they could have swapped rooms for you. Regards Jane

Preston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2017

our recent trip to braemar on 13/2/17.was without doubt one we will not forget for a long time... but first to our feeder drivers going and coming home a thank you ..now our tour driver debs a big thank you...you did a great job..and now to the hotel we were looked after very well all week room cleaned everyday food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimbo837
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Invercauld, glad you had a great stay and were well looked after by the team, I will pass on your comments to the owner at the Gathering place. Hope to see you again in the future. regards Jane

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 18, 2017 via mobile

3 is a little harsh and I would give 3.5 if trip advisor's system of scoring allowed. The food was fine-we got what we paid for. The young Polish lady worked really hard and was very pleasant, certainly an asset to the hotel. Would I go back, yes.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for your feed back. Regards Jane

Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and attentive, but the hotel was cold, menu was short, no puddings, and inedible poor quantity burger and cold fish and chips completely pointlessly served on a breadboard.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James M
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, sorry you did not enjoy your lunch this is a very rare occourance for us, I will look into what happened Regards Jane

Stanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 16, 2016

hotel very clean staff 100% food good and hot room 59 clean if a little tired traveled itress shearings staff in dinning room very helpful we had a girl called zsuzsi she was fantastic reception staff great fix the tv straight away bar food great the sharing platter well worth the money cant praise this hotel enough will stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank brahamrussell
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a 5* review, glad to read the team looked after you and you had a good holiday. Will pass on your kind comments onto the team. Thanks again Regards Jane

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.1 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
257 reviews
10.1 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
812 reviews
13.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
555 reviews
24.4 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Price Range: $63 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question
tonbridge
over a year ago
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Bradford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
tonbridge
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Mountain views rapt the front”
 of 5 bubbles mariaandwes, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“all rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles brahamrussell, Dec 16, 2016 | Read review
“View towards Braemar Castle is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles jacl93, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms very widely in facilities and there's no lift.. But hotel management will do their best to make you comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffAdams, Nov 25, 2016 | Read review
“We had only an evening bar meal there but will go again.”
 of 5 bubbles 572robertg, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question