We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Braemar Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Braemar Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We don't ask for much, we are used to SYHA, but we do expect cleanliness and effective facilities. Tired fixtures and fittings and low staff coverage. We appreciate the building doesn't lend itself easily but cleanliness if top. We moved a mattress and small furniture to find litter and an old pair of knickers, euww! The kitchen worked, but was... More 

Helpful?
Thank ishbel780
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Braemar Youth Hostel, responded to this review

hi ishbel780, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us. Its disappointing to see the basic expectations weren't met and I will investigate the points you have raised. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and customer service in our hostels and clearly on this occasion this hasn't been achieved. We hope to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

this is my first hostel ever now I will reconsider my hotels and hostels because it's very affordable, the establishment is squirrels galore !!!!!!! I travelled a long way to Scotland to start my 1 month travel in Scotland and started with Brae-mar hostel, I got in at 10pm as I phoned earlier and Jayme at reception stayed open for... More 

Helpful?
Thank deedamg
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Braemar Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Deedamg, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had a good time and enjoyed the surroundings and wildlife around the area. We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan More 

Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

This is hostel is fairly standard, it is a bit dated but it does the job. The kitchen feels bigger than it is (but is ok), the lounge is huge with plenty of comfy chairs, and the dining area has plenty of space (I suspect it would be very noisy if full though). The beds are larger than in most... More 

Helpful?
Thank Calummurdo
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Braemar Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Calummurdo, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had an enjoyable experience and enjoyed the wildlife and nature around the hostel.I have noted your comments rergarding the female showers and we will have a look at these to see what the issue is. We hope to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

i had a brilliant stay with the SYHA Braemar, the building is old and needs a bit of love but Hayley-Louise and Jamie keep the place as good as it can get. One of the best stays in a hostel I've had. Hayley-Louise and Jamie are a credit to the SYHA, their hard work doesn't go unnoticed as every time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Murtymac
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Braemar Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Murtymac, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had a good time and will pass on your kind words to Hayley-Louise and Jamie. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan More 

glasgow
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Stayed at Braemar hostel last night and was rather disappointed. It was rather run down and in need of an uplift. Staying in room 1 but having to go up two flight of stairs to get a working shower. arrived back at hostel at roughly 1am and could not get access to hostel as had been given wrong security code.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Braemar Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Elaine F, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Im sorry to see you were disappointed and will look into the points you have raised.We value all feedback and will discuss these issues to see where we can improve our service. Regards Dan More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

very poor hostel, only one shower for women, others broken, only one washhand basin in toilets for washing and no soap, Door entry does not work so if no one is up to let you in, you are locked out which happened to my friend, POOR

Helpful?
Thank AnneMacGlasgow
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Braemar Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi AnneMacGlasgow, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us,We have been made aware of an issue with the door lock on the night in question and it appears the wrong code may of been given out.I can only apologise for this error and will ensure it doesn't happen again. Regards Dan More 

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Stayed in room 5. 6 beds. 2 small chest of drawers. 2 lockers. Spacious. Some hangers. Spacious self-catering kitchen. However, hygiene standards poor. The fridge is supposed to be checked daily for food not labelled with departure date and food passed their use-by dates. When I left on 0n 12 September, there were 5 out-of-date open milk cartons in fridge... More 

Helpful?
Thank Essbee53
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Braemar Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Essbee53, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.I have noted your comments regarding the fridges and out of date food and will discuss with the team. There are labels and pens available for all guest to use to label food. Regards Dan Osborne More 

Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in Braemar & wish we'd had longer to explore the Cairngorms. The Braemar Youth Hostel was great, super quiet, clean & the beds were comfy. Bathrooms were clean - except there were 3 showers in the men's bathroom & only 2 in the women's, one of which didn't seem to be working. This wasn't a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
SYHAHostelling, Manager at Braemar Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle C Many thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you enjoyed it and have noted your comments regarding the closure during the day.I will pass on your kind words to the staff there. Regards More 

Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a hill walking expedition. The rooms are comfortable and clean as is the kitchen, dining room and lounge. Staff are friendly and helpful. I would recommend this if you want reasonably priced accommodation that is close to the Cairngorms.

Helpful?
Thank Christine G
SYHAHostelling, Manager at Braemar Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Christine G Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you had a good time and will pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

Large Victorian era house converted for use as a SYHA hostel. On outskirts of the village and set in open woodland. Car parking on-site. Staff efficient, friendly and welcoming. Building is well maintained and decorated. Dorms spacious and comfortable. Modern toilets and showers. Large guest kitchen well equipped. Large comfy lounge. Shops nearby in village. Pleasant stay. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Dean A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.2 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
13.6 mi away
The Deeside Inn
The Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
12.9 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Braemar
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Braemar Youth Hostel is an impressive former shooting lodge standing within extensive grounds in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. Braemar Youth Hostel offers a mix of traditional interiors and modern furnishings with many homely touches such as big comfy sofas, a large self-catering kitchen and dining room. The youth hostel also provides a good range of rooms including many private and family rooms. A popular choice with families, groups and outdoor enthusiasts looking for budget accommodation. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Braemar Youth Hostel

Address: Corrie Feragie | 21 Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5YQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Price Range: $53 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Braemar Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar Youth Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay