We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poolewe Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Poolewe Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed one night as a stopover on our NC500 drive and O what a nice little hotel ! It is situated on the main street but it is very quiet with beautiful surroundings. We had a room on the ground floor facing the sea. Very nice view. The room is spacious, exceptionally clean with lovely fluffy linen provided. The bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank 9552095
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here as a base for a midweek break in Wester Ross. The hotel is well located for sightseeing, and particularly for the nearby Inverewe Gardens. Our rooms were comfortable, breakfasts and dinners were fine, and the service was good. However, the dining room closes once students go back to college, so the bar/'bistro' is the only dining option... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob C
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We called in for dinner I had the gammon steak which was very nice, but my husband ordered the steak and ale pie but unfortunately his was more like a mushroom pie, which is unfortunate because he hates mushrooms. He counted the mushrooms and there was 16 and only 6 pieces of meat very disappointed. For desert he ordered the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SandrS10
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent four nights here recently having booked on line. Whilst the hotel rooms were clean there was always a fusty smell in the sitting/dining areas of the hotel as if the windows were needing to be open to let fresh air in. Do not be fooled by the online photo of the hotel! It looks as though it is sitting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Poolewe Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our freshly cooked food and found the facilities clean and comfortable. I am however a little bewildered with your comment "do not be fooled by the online photo of the hotel" as our website and all our third party websites, do contain... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a fancy hotel, the room we had was in an outside building, big room, great comfy bed, well furnished, in good condition. Shower a little weak but acceptable. Dog friendly which was essential for us Great staff, without exception they could not have been better, good quality food, basic comfort food type like steak pie, burgers etc,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angus F
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words; it's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us. More 

Edinburgh,
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had visited the Poolewe Hotel over 40 years ago and as we were having a short trip of reminiscing past visits to the North West of Scotland we decided to finish our 5 day trip at Poolewe abd renew our acquaintance with the Poolewe Hotel and the Inverewe Gardens in particular! This turned out to be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wills1389uk
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Since taking over the Hotel in January 2013 we have invested a lot of time and money updating the Hotel and every Winter we carry out necessary... More 

Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
305 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been driving the North Coast 500 through the Highlands. This hotel is a great first night stopping place. Very near the Ewe Gardens. Relax in this quaint, somewhat dated hotel. We had a lovely family room, which I booked for the extra space. We had a nice view of the water. They do have a restaurant for dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, we appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us. More 

Codsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the Family Suites which suited us as we wanted two bedrooms with a communal lounge. The bedrooms and bedding were good quality and the communal bathroom clean with lovely shower. The Hotel serves good meals (book in advance as very popular) so we didn't use the suite's kitchen but could have cooked some of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen M
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Poolewe Hotel and thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are very fortunate to be located in such a lovely part of the Highlands and provide a base for our guests to enjoy the many activities on offer in the area, particularly walking and visiting the World... More 

Exeter
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed over for one night during a visit to the north of Scotland. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. Decent sized room with space enough for our dog cage. Breakfast was smoked haddock with a poached egg, Huge piece of haddock that was very tasty.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-n-Fran
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Poolewe Hotel, customer feedback is extremely important to us. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your over night stay and particularly enjoyed your breakfast. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on our drive along the North Coast 500. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was delightful and room was very good, with views over the loch. Great breakfast and the evening meal we had was very nice. Would definitely recommend the Poolewe Hotel and would stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank franfigures
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Poolewe Hotel whilst driving along the NC500. It is always pleasing to hear that you found the facilities to be of good standard and would recommend the Hotel. As you know the Hotel is ideally located for travelling/sightseeing the Highlands and guests can enjoy the lovely views over the loch... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
6.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#4 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
19.9 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
15.1 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional highland hotel and restaurant, on the shores of Loch Ewe in sight of Inverewe Gardens. Poolewe Hotel is a 16th-Century coaching inn in the picturesque village of Poolewe on the shore of Loch Ewe near Gairloch on the NW Coast of Scotland. Just 90 minutes of beautiful easy driving from Inverness Airport. Set amidst dramatic Highland scenery, Poolewe Hotel is ideal for anyone wishing to explore this wild and beautiful corner of Scotland. Guests can choose from twelve en-suite bedrooms and suites, most enjoying spectacular views most of the sea or mountains. In addition, Poolewe Hotel boasts a reputation for excellent food with a restaurant, a conservatory dining area, and a bar. Log fires in all the public rooms contribute to the friendly atmosphere of this historic inn. The hotel welcomes dogs; there is ample parking and free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Visit Poolewe whether to relax or to enjoy an active holiday, or a combination of both. • Visit the world-famous National Trust for Scotland Inverewe Gardens situated less than a mile from the hotel, clearly visible from the hotel dining room. • Enjoy hill walking. There are maps available in the hotel outlining the various routes, catering for a wide range of abilities. • Trout and salmon fishing, whale watching, deer stalking, canoeing, climbing, mountain biking, pony trekking, golf are all on offer in the area. • Take in the beautiful and inspiring scenery. • Visit a traditional small highland distillery. • Witness the amazing wildlife of Western Europe's last true wilderness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Poolewe Hotel

Address: Main Street | Highlands, Poolewe IV22 2JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Price Range: $116 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poolewe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Poolewe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poolewe Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay