We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duisdale House Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Duisdale House Hotel
Duisdale House Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

569 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Duisdale House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 500: English reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2014

We stayed at Duisdale House Hotel for one night as part of a tour around Scotland. We had a non sea view room overlooking the side of the house that was very quiet, very comfortable and yes the room could possibly have been a little larger (not small just a little more room for cases etc)however it is an older...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tristan D
Reviewed September 10, 2014

Great location staff seemed stiff and unwelcoming Not a great dinner but lovely breakfast Decor adventurous mostly plus side (less is more) Location and gardens beautiful and a pleasant trail clearly marked taking you around the extensive grounds They had a hot tub but not for free!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PoppetTucker
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewed September 10, 2014

The hotel is a lovely old mansion with pretty gardens and landscaping. Upon arriving we were escorted to the tiniest, most claustrophobic room we have ever stayed in. It fit very little beyond what appeared to be a full size bed. Our suitcases barely fit in the room. My husband explained that for a 4 star hotel the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Julia T
Duisdale_Manager, Manager at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our food to be excellent at Duisdale and enjoyed the lovely old mansion, gardens and landscaping. However as you will appreciate that old buildings come with non-uniform sized rooms hence we offer a wide selection of sizes and views. However we were taken aback when on your arrival at Duisdale,...

Dumbarton
Reviewed September 8, 2014

Just had 3 nights at the Duisdale Hotel. The staff were very friendly and the food excellent. They have nice gardens and a lovely view from the front of the hotel over the Sound Of Sleat. The rooms are in excellent condition and are very comfortable, the best views from a room are at the front but the side rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mirren
Sheffield
Reviewed September 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night on our way to the Outer Hebrides in August. Lovely welcome and we were upgraded to a four poster room. Most comfortable bed we have slept in for ages. The hotel atmosphere is both formal and friendly, not stuffy at all. Staff extremely polite and helpful. We choose the fine dinning menu which included canapés...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkQS
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Choosing to stay here during my 4-day hillwalking visit to the Isle of Skye was one of the best decisions of my life. Having a full breakfast before heading out on a long day of hiking, then returning to a full, wonderfully prepared dinner is as ideal a day as you can ask for. The staff was very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pbuda57
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewed September 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Duisdale house last week, August , due to the Andrew Harper recommendation. It was very disappointing , we left a day early and paid for the time we were not there . The decoration son of the whole place is very dark and somewhat drab as the decorator saw fit to pick black...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Maria F
Duisdale_Manager, Owner at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Maria. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. Had you mentioned any of your concerns during your stay, each could have all been resolved easily however the décor is personal with each and every room displayed on all of our websites. This we are unwilling to change and feel that bland...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Given the glowing reviews this hotel had received I was disappointed with our time at the Duisdale. We had primarily picked this hotel due to the feature of being able to sail on the yacht that is predominately shown on their website. The hotel itself has a lovely location a very short walk from the beach and has large grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alex S
Duisdale_Manager, Owner at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear of your disappointment regarding the sailing trip which had to be cancelled. We have no control over the elements and have great respect for the sea. As you remember it was mentioned the night before your sailing trip that the Shipping Forecast was giving out a Warning of Gale Force...

London, UK
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Duisdale House is a small, beautifully appointed hotel on the road between Kyle of Lochalsh and Armadale. The staff were attentive and helpful. The room was on the small side, but stylish and with all mod cons. Apart from the stunning view, the best bit was the food. Dinner was outstanding, and breakfast ranked among our top three hotel breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanorrigby131
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel this summer; the house is beautiful, in a charming property with a lovely garden and trees around. You would need to consider booking the restaurant which serve delicious meal as well, as there are not that many options in the immediate surrounding. A place to visit without any doubt

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

455 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (210)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Alternative Four Poster Garden View (20)
Viewed
Classic Double (21)
Viewed
Classic Double Woodland View (20)
Viewed
Four Poster Garden View (19)
Viewed
Four Poster Seaview (20)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.1 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
22.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
135 reviews
39.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
337 reviews
22.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to the beautiful Isle of Skye and enjoy an indulgent luxury break in the Highlands of Scotland at Duisdale House Hotel. Perfectly situated in the area known as Sleat on the southernmost tip of Skye, the hotel has been completely transformed into a chic boutique retreat in recent years, and the award winning restaurant and exclusive daily sailing trips on board our luxury yacht (from April to September) add a whole new dimension to a short break on the Isle of Skye. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duisdale House Hotel

Address: Sleat | Isle of Skye, Sleat IV43 8QW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Price Range: $161 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duisdale House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Duisdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duisdale House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Duisdale House Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Duisdale House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Best view, over the water.”
 of 5 bubbles Q8921OOsh, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Best views will be at the front of the hotel - there's a storage unit and office at the rear so that's quite noisy (and there's no view!)”
 of 5 bubbles 635GregR, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The four poster bed is worth it :)”
 of 5 bubbles stephenhogan182, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Room with a Sea View best but obviously more expensive.”
 of 5 bubbles 614iaint, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
“Just make sure to go. It was quiet no matter where were in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 102lizk, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question