We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Coolin View Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Coolin View Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 200: English reviews
Ibstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The b & b is clean and comfortable. We stayed in a top floor room which was a bit cramped. However, the view was spectacular over the harbour and onto the mountains beyond. The guy who welcomed was very friendly and helpful. A bit on the expensive side for the standard.

Helpful?
Thank spacecat999
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Although you felt the room was a bit cramped I am glad you enjoyed the view which as you say is 'spectacular'. Regarding the price I can only assume you had booked through an agent (booking.com, late rooms etc) which is always an expensive way to book your break. Always... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came here to stay with Wild women expeditions and came away with the most pleasant of experiences. Jim and Edward were wonderful hosts. The room was clean and comfortable, their company in the parlor was charming and helpful. When I come back to Skye, I'm staying here again.

Helpful?
Thank happiechik
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. I was delighted to have your group stay with us and hopefully we will see you and your group at some point in the future. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Scotland. More 

Alberta
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, quiet, central and great hosts. Had a great stay and excellent breakfast. Lovely front parlour for relaxing as well, good conversations and great me worries. Easy walk to great food and pubs, enjoyable place on Skye. Would love to return on the next trip here.

Helpful?
Thank PartagasCat
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I will pass on your comments regarding the breakfast to the restaurant staff. We would love you to visit again !! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great friendly welcome from the owner, picture postcard views from bedroom to the harbour, perfect location to park the car and explore Portree on foot. You are able to walk to everywhere so can enjoy the local restaurants and bars without worrying about driving. Looking forward to returning.

Helpful?
Thank WFerrier816
Eddie T, Manager at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are very lucky to have such a great location and as you say the 'picture postcard' view. Hopefully we will see you again on the beautiful Isle of Skye. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last October and had an excellent stay. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. Great breakfast too as well as friendly host. Fantastic location to stay to explore the Island. Not far from Stor /kilt rock.Would definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank Nadia R
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Nadia thank you for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we will see you at some time in the future. More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

This hotel was pretty decent. I didn't really interact with the staff. The room was reasonably clean and comfortable. Not much of a view from my particular room but walking out the front door there was an amazing one. The parking situation was entirely inadequate however. They only have parking for about 4 cars. It is important to mention that... More 

Helpful?
Thank fuzzypuppy
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. Regarding the parking there are actually 7 parking spaces (however there are 9 bedrooms)as well as on street parking. You are correct in saying there is a parking lot within walking distance with 130 free parking spaces. More 

Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

Such a nice guest house! We stayed in their new family room on the ground floor overlooking the street. It has a large comfortable full bed and bunk beds for the kids. The bathroom is modern and brand new and sports upscale soap, shampoo, lotion and body wash. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. There are about five parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethany A
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Coolin View and the breakfast provided in the restaurant. Our bench seating which overlooks the harbour is definitely an asset !! Hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future. More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016

When visiting Skye, stay at the Coolin View. fantastic view from your room, and their resturant is fantastic, servering a delicious breakfast. When we unfortuanatly forgot one of our wallets in the room, they contacted us through our Travelagent before we even where aware of the wallet missing and sendt it by mail to our next location. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Halvor A
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Coolin View. I will pass onto the restaurant management your comments re the breakfast. I hope to see you and your party again at some point in the future. More 

Spalding
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Lovely view of the harbour.Smallish room but large bathroom.Comfy beds and large flat screen tv.Tea/coffee making facilities.Host was very helpful and lugged my case up the stairs.Strangely there were no toiletries...which we didnt realise til we were actually showering.Paid for brkfast which was next door.however we were rather underwhelmed...no hot food and unexciting cold buffet.Disappointed as we had paid more... More 

Helpful?
Thank louisa951
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. Thank you for your comments regarding the comfortable bed etc. Regarding the price you paid you booked through an agent which is always an expensive route to take. If you contact your chosen accommodation direct you will almost always save money. Regarding the breakfast there is a choice of... More 

St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

The view on top of the harbour is beautiful and the highlight of this B&B. In terms of cleanliness, improvements are necessary (long dark hair of previous guests still around), at least bed and linen were clean. For the price of almost £ 100 per night (excl. breakfast) you should expect more.

Helpful?
Thank Ernst S
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ernst, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have brought your comments regarding the hair to the attention of the cleaning staff. Regarding your payment you booked via an agent which is always the most expensive way to book. Always book directly with the hotel / guesthouse direct for the cheapest price. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portree
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
15.9 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
#46 of 100 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Coolin View Guest House

Address: 2 Bosville Terrace, Portree IV51 9DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Price Range: $95 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolin View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Coolin View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolin View Hotel Portree
Coolin View Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay