We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Coolin View Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Coolin View Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 195: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was pretty decent. I didn't really interact with the staff. The room was reasonably clean and comfortable. Not much of a view from my particular room but walking out the front door there was an amazing one. The parking situation was entirely inadequate however. They only have parking for about 4 cars. It is important to mention that... More 

Helpful?
Thank fuzzypuppy
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. Regarding the parking there are actually 7 parking spaces (however there are 9 bedrooms)as well as on street parking. You are correct in saying there is a parking lot within walking distance with 130 free parking spaces. More 

Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a nice guest house! We stayed in their new family room on the ground floor overlooking the street. It has a large comfortable full bed and bunk beds for the kids. The bathroom is modern and brand new and sports upscale soap, shampoo, lotion and body wash. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. There are about five parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethany A
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Coolin View and the breakfast provided in the restaurant. Our bench seating which overlooks the harbour is definitely an asset !! Hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future. More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When visiting Skye, stay at the Coolin View. fantastic view from your room, and their resturant is fantastic, servering a delicious breakfast. When we unfortuanatly forgot one of our wallets in the room, they contacted us through our Travelagent before we even where aware of the wallet missing and sendt it by mail to our next location. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Halvor A
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Coolin View. I will pass onto the restaurant management your comments re the breakfast. I hope to see you and your party again at some point in the future. More 

Spalding
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Lovely view of the harbour.Smallish room but large bathroom.Comfy beds and large flat screen tv.Tea/coffee making facilities.Host was very helpful and lugged my case up the stairs.Strangely there were no toiletries...which we didnt realise til we were actually showering.Paid for brkfast which was next door.however we were rather underwhelmed...no hot food and unexciting cold buffet.Disappointed as we had paid more... More 

Helpful?
Thank louisa951
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. Thank you for your comments regarding the comfortable bed etc. Regarding the price you paid you booked through an agent which is always an expensive route to take. If you contact your chosen accommodation direct you will almost always save money. Regarding the breakfast there is a choice of... More 

St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

The view on top of the harbour is beautiful and the highlight of this B&B. In terms of cleanliness, improvements are necessary (long dark hair of previous guests still around), at least bed and linen were clean. For the price of almost £ 100 per night (excl. breakfast) you should expect more.

Helpful?
Thank Ernst S
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ernst, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have brought your comments regarding the hair to the attention of the cleaning staff. Regarding your payment you booked via an agent which is always the most expensive way to book. Always book directly with the hotel / guesthouse direct for the cheapest price. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful visit. The location is excellent and the view across the bay is lovely. The rooms are simple, but we well appointed, clean and charming. The owner was delightful and the staff was helpful. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Skye.

Helpful?
Thank Alyce M
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future. More 

London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Outstanding guest house in Portree. Staff incredibly friendly and efficient, premises spotlessly clean. Good location and car aprking outside too. The restaurant next door at No.1 is a great spot for dinner too, as well as providing a good breakfast. Cant recommend too highly.

Helpful?
Thank Clive G
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Clive thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will also pass on your comments to the restaurant staff. Hopefully you will manage to visit the Isle of Skye again. More 

madison, wi
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

We loved the location and view. The rooms were small but efficiently laid out and quiet. The owners welcomed us when we drove up and we had a few delightful conversations with them during our 3 night stay. We could easily walk restaurants for breakfast and dinners. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Ourroadlesstraveled
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Coolin View. More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We booked an overnight stay here as we were travelling around Scotland. It is set in a beautiful scenic location and near to an array of restaurants and pubs. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and shown to our well decorated room with en suite. The view from the window was very picturesque. We had a comfortable sleep... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison G
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Coolin View. I also agree that you should book well in advance. We are almost completely full ......... for next summer ! Always book direct with your chosen guest house for the best deals. More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Location excellent ... wonderful view of The Cuillins from the bedroom. Hotel in excellent position looking over picturesque Portree Harbour. Very warm welcome from Eddie the owner and his staff. Dining Room next door .... very pleasant relaxed atmosphere. Dinner in the evening first class ...... all food fresh and well presented. Will definitely try to visit again in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank crocksontour
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I will also pass on your kind comments to the restaurant staff. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portree
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 100 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urquhart Caledonian Hotel
Urquhart Caledonian Hotel
#19 of 100 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Coolin View Guest House

Address: 2 Bosville Terrace, Portree IV51 9DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Price Range: $99 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolin View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Coolin View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolin View Hotel Portree
Coolin View Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay