We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Coolin View Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Coolin View Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Spalding
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely view of the harbour.Smallish room but large bathroom.Comfy beds and large flat screen tv.Tea/coffee making facilities.Host was very helpful and lugged my case up the stairs.Strangely there were no toiletries...which we didnt realise til we were actually showering.Paid for brkfast which was next door.however we were rather underwhelmed...no hot food and unexciting cold buffet.Disappointed as we had paid more... More 

Helpful?
Thank louisa951
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. Thank you for your comments regarding the comfortable bed etc. Regarding the price you paid you booked through an agent which is always an expensive route to take. If you contact your chosen accommodation direct you will almost always save money. Regarding the breakfast there is a choice of... More 

St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The view on top of the harbour is beautiful and the highlight of this B&B. In terms of cleanliness, improvements are necessary (long dark hair of previous guests still around), at least bed and linen were clean. For the price of almost £ 100 per night (excl. breakfast) you should expect more.

Helpful?
Thank Ernst S
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ernst, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have brought your comments regarding the hair to the attention of the cleaning staff. Regarding your payment you booked via an agent which is always the most expensive way to book. Always book directly with the hotel / guesthouse direct for the cheapest price. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful visit. The location is excellent and the view across the bay is lovely. The rooms are simple, but we well appointed, clean and charming. The owner was delightful and the staff was helpful. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Skye.

Helpful?
Thank Alyce M
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future. More 

London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Outstanding guest house in Portree. Staff incredibly friendly and efficient, premises spotlessly clean. Good location and car aprking outside too. The restaurant next door at No.1 is a great spot for dinner too, as well as providing a good breakfast. Cant recommend too highly.

Helpful?
Thank Clive G
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Clive thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will also pass on your comments to the restaurant staff. Hopefully you will manage to visit the Isle of Skye again. More 

madison, wi
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

We loved the location and view. The rooms were small but efficiently laid out and quiet. The owners welcomed us when we drove up and we had a few delightful conversations with them during our 3 night stay. We could easily walk restaurants for breakfast and dinners. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Ourroadlesstraveled
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Coolin View. More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We booked an overnight stay here as we were travelling around Scotland. It is set in a beautiful scenic location and near to an array of restaurants and pubs. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and shown to our well decorated room with en suite. The view from the window was very picturesque. We had a comfortable sleep... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison G
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Coolin View. I also agree that you should book well in advance. We are almost completely full ......... for next summer ! Always book direct with your chosen guest house for the best deals. More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Location excellent ... wonderful view of The Cuillins from the bedroom. Hotel in excellent position looking over picturesque Portree Harbour. Very warm welcome from Eddie the owner and his staff. Dining Room next door .... very pleasant relaxed atmosphere. Dinner in the evening first class ...... all food fresh and well presented. Will definitely try to visit again in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank crocksontour
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I will also pass on your kind comments to the restaurant staff. More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

I recently stayed at the Coolin View Guest House in Portree for two nights. Although I was travelling solo I had booked the double room with sea view and am really glad that I did, as the view is beautiful. Like many of the places in Portree, the Coolin View looks a little "frayed at the edges" from the outside... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Merryl16
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We have taken on board your comments and increased the breakfast to , tea, coffee, toast, cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cheese and ham. Hopefully you will manage to visit us again at some point in the future and sample the breakfast !! More 

Terrace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

This was a girls trip, 4 ladies in 2 rooms. All was comfortable and convenient. Fantastic location, super friendly staff, great view. Bonuses were the sitting area and the restaurant next door, as well as the viewing benches just for guests overlooking the harbour. Loved it all and would highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gwendola1
Aurora
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights while visiting the Isle of Skye. Location was great with ample parking available. Our room was very clean and well appointed. Breakfast was not included but the owner was very helpful in pointing out the local co-op where we were able to purchase pastries, etc to take with us as we were after an early start to... More 

Helpful?
Thank clancunningham
Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to say that our restaurant is now opened for breakfast (no more visits to the local co-op !) We serve a continental style breakfast or a full Scottish breakfast (also various specials like scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, smocked haddock and poached eggs etc) Hopefully... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (75)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portree
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
#40 of 99 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urquhart Caledonian Hotel
Urquhart Caledonian Hotel
#18 of 99 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Coolin View Guest House

Address: 2 Bosville Terrace, Portree IV51 9DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Price Range: $100 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolin View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Coolin View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolin View Hotel Portree
Coolin View Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay