We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Duisdale House Hotel

Save
Share
A851, Isleornsay IV43 8QW Scotland
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
$564
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/15/22
Hotels.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (413)
360
Panoramas (13)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Duisdale House Hotel is a luxury, award winning, family run boutique hotel on Skye’s southern Sleat Peninsular. With breath taking views over the sea loch to the mountains beyond, this former hunting lodge, oozes character and charm. Each of our individually styled bedrooms is unique and distinctive and complements the historic features of Duisdale House. From standard or twin rooms with woodland views, to deluxe four posters overlooking the garden and our popular suite with sea views, we are sure you will find staying at Duisdale House a delight. Comfort and relaxation is paramount with each room thoughtfully equipped with everything you need for your stay, including free wifi, LCD TVs, ensuite bathrooms with power showers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. Our delux rooms all have espresso coffee machines. Dogs are now welcome. The hotel boasts an award winning Restaurant, and an elegant lounge with high ceilings and log fire and patio overlooking the gardens. There is also a stylish, contemporary bar, well stocked with local gins and malt whisky. With 2 AA Rosettes for food, dining is always a special occasion at Duisdale, with a menu that changes daily and focuses on showcasing the best of Skye’s fresh local produce. Located only 10 minutes from Broadford, Duisdale is well located to explore the many world class attractions of Skye. You can also book activities at Skeabost, our sister hotel near Portree, which has its own 9 hole golf course and fly fishing on the River Snizort
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
826Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 448
  • 186
  • 103
  • 59
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Margaret H wrote a review Jan 3
Portknockie, Scotland, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Right from the welcome we felt safe given the world health situation. The whole team were professional and friendly. Rooms were adequately big enough to be able to spend time in. In the public areas we were suitably distanced from other guests while still being able to chat. Food was excellent and the team efficiently dealt with dietary requirements with no fuss. We have never felt so relaxed when staying at a hotel. Well worth the price. We'll always remember this stay when we see penguins. Would consider doing it again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
David Suszek wrote a review Nov 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom24 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My partner and I stayed 3 nights at the Duisdale House hotel on a half board package booked through Voyage Prive’. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the Isle of Skye. We have booked and stayed at many hotels across Europe and this one is up there for excellence. Dining is a full on experience both at breakfast and evening meals and the staff, and we mean all the staff, are so attentive and pleasant. Nothing was too much for them and they all contributed to making our stay an enjoyable experience. Special mention to Neil MacDonald and his team for all their help. Staff training and retention is obviously high on the list of priorities and we wished we had the opportunity to meet the owner, Annie Gracie Gunn, to express our admiration and also our thanks for making our first visit to Skye such a pleasant experience. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil MacDonald, Guest Services / Front Office at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded Nov 25, 2021
Dear davesN4235VW Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay at Duisdale House Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us for 3 nights and I am pleased that you enjoyed each day with us. We do have a beautiful location being in Sleat which is known locally as the garden of Skye. It fills us with pride to read that we left such a positve impression and this you experienced from all of our team members as we are always preparred to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay. When we have good staff we certainly like to hold onto them and part of this it keeping them interested through training and development. I am sure that Anne would have been very happy to meet with you, she is a very busy lady with her foot firmly on the gas pedal each day driving her business forward in what has been very uncertain times. We shall most look forward to your return where you can indulge in the Duisdale experience again soon
Read more
cth6616 wrote a review Nov 2021
Colchester, United Kingdom15 contributions7 helpful votes
We were given a room with a four posters bed. The bed was a double size not even king size, the duvet the size of the bed which meant when one moved the other didn’t have cover and the mattress had seeing better days. Very tired bedding. We were looking forward to our stay but bitterly disappointed.. Breakfast was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil MacDonald, Guest Services / Front Office at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded Nov 25, 2021
Dear cth6616 Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry to be reading your comments about your recent stay with us. We would have most appreciated if you had raised any of the issues that you were having during your stay as we would have loved to of been able to do something about them. Its sad for us to read that any of our guests are leaving feeling disappointed. I am please to read that you enjoyed your breakfasts. We would love for you to return and perhaps one of our other bedrooms may be more suitable for you to enjoy and relax in
Read more
Julie Swan wrote a review Oct 2021
12 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights. Room was nice enough as was view of garden but the building site next to it wasn't. Bathroom was badly finished and shower was not high pressure. Had dinner there first night and for £59 a head for tiny portions was seriously overpriced, my husband could not eat anything off the menu but they were good enough to cook him a steak. Didn't bother second night got sandwiches from the co-op much more filling for a tenth of the price. I like the windows left open in my room and housekeeping closed them all, also sure someone had been in my suitcase as things were not as I left them, there was no reason to move my suitcase. The whipped butter at breakfast was not pure butter and they didn't seem happy when we asked for real butter. When we went to leave receptionist was stood with bill and pen waiting for me to sign, were they thinking I was going to run off because of what I look like (blue hair, piercings and tattoos, don't judge people by appearance) bill was 3 times what it should have been and on my checking I discover I had been charged for someone else's dinner and drinks. Not surprising as waiting staff were of the nice but clueless variety. Overall it was ok but not worthy of 4 stars and very overpriced all round. I work in a 3 star hotel (I do every job) and could stay there for a week for the price I paid for the Duisdale and I would get better food and service. Definitely won't be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil MacDonald, Guest Services / Front Office at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded Nov 6, 2021
Dear Scots Quine666 Thank you for taking the time to review our property from July of this year. I am pleased to hear that you found your bedroom nice and enjoyed the view of the garden. We did have some building works going on as we are developing and expanding our hotel with minimal disruption caused to our guests. I am a little surprised to hear that you had an issue with water pressure as we have two mega flow tanks on our system to avoid this ever happening, we did not have any other complaints from other guests in regards to water pressure during your time with us. It is most disappointing to be reading your comments about your dining experience. Dinner is priced at £59.00 per person and your evening starts off in the lounge enjoying our log fire with canapes whilst you read over our menu making your selections of locally sourced dishes with a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian options for starter and main course, and our seasonal puddings from our pastry chef. I think that your comparison of mass produced factory sandwiches from the coop to be most inappropriate as a comparison to freshly cooked locally sourced produce. Our lovely servers were most kind and offered your husband a steak as the menu for the evening was not to his liking. Our housekeeping staff are very considerate when servicing each of our guests bedrooms, our rooms are aired each day whilst the room is being serviced so as guest bedrooms are at an adequate temperature for our guests returning for the day. Each bedroom is hoovered every day so I can only presume that one of our staff moved your case for this to take place. When you whisk butter it becomes light and airy and this can change the texture, our staff were again attentive to your needs and brought you sliced butter for you to enjoy with your breakfast items. I must also address your comments that you have put in writing in regards to the staff that work here your comments of “The waiting staff were nice but of the clueless variety” this is most unprofessional of somebody who also works in this industry regardless of their own appearance and to insinuate that our staff were judgmental of you I find very hard to swallow. Our receptionist being attentive in her roll having everything ready for you to literally sign on the doted line I would call good service and if there was an error this was rectified very quickly We have remained with our four star status along with our 2 AA Rosettes for our food quality by the industry professionals and I would certainly think that these people should know how to quality grade properties as many of them have also been in the industry for many years. Thank you for your comments we wish you well on your future travels.
Read more
TTT wrote a review Oct 2021
Copenhagen, Denmark26 contributions3 helpful votes
Our family stayed in the cottage for two nights and enjoyed it. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of space. The standalone tub was amazing with lots of steaming hot water after our long hike. Plenty of coffee/tea, fresh towels and water for the room as well. I was a bit puzzled by the shower, which consists of a small section of the washroom with a plastic curtain and drains into the floor leaving the room wet for the rest of the evening. In the morning, maintenance workers were posted directly outside our bedroom window quite early in the morning, making it difficult to enjoy the beautiful view and the opportunity to sleep in. Otherwise the staff was fantastic and treated the kids like royalty. There is a beautiful foyer in the main house with a roaring fireplace. I can imagine that in the spring and summer, the garden is a gorgeous addition to this boutique hotel. I would go back and perhaps try the main house.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Cottages have a wonderful view and lots of space for a family
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil MacDonald, Guest Services / Front Office at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2021
Dear Timetotravel4us Thank you so much for your recent review of Duisdale House Hotel. It was a joy and a pleasure to have you staying with us, our Pinnacle cottage is just perfect for families to stay in and enjoy. I am so sorry if our maintenance team caused you any disturbance early in the morning but I am very pleased that my colleagues made your children feel important. We would be delighted to have you staying with us on your next stay in the main house, its a wonderful building with beautiful victorian period features that just add such wonderful character. We shall most look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$180 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandThe HebridesIsle of SkyeIsleornsay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Duisdale House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Duisdale House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gallery An Talla Dearg (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Duisdale House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Duisdale House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Duisdale House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Duisdale House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Am Praban Bar & Restaurant, Restaurant at Kinloch Lodge, and An Crùbh.
Are there any historical sites close to Duisdale House Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Clachan Duich Burial Ground (9.4 miles).
Does Duisdale House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.