We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Broadford Backpackers Hostel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Broadford Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 85: English reviews
Start your review of Broadford Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my very first time ever staying at a hostel, and it just isn't my thing. Nothing wrong with this establishment, except no elevator. I just like my privacy, and enjoy a snore free/body odor free environment. Just me!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee H
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

The hostel was well presented and in a good spot to access the coastal walkway near broadford. It's quite some distance from many of the other attractions on the isle, but that appears to be the nature of Skye. Where this hostel really stood out was the helpfulness of the staff. The guy on duty was very friendly and offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
Reviewed January 6, 2017

Positives: fairly cheap, in an accessible location, and close to a shop, fish & chips, and other food places. Good common area with lots of games and books. Comfortable beds. Negatives: Not clean - the bathrooms dirty and always out of paper, the showers hideous, and the bedroom had mold on the ceiling. The kitchen is small with only one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harriet Matilda R
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed November 29, 2016

The hostel is located at the back of a long stretched building so follow the colorful signs at the entrance. You can park your car at the back for free. There is a kitchen to do your cooking as well as a lounge area to relax Room was spacious for 6 person but the tap inside was not working. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AaronAikWeiJian
Woodstock, Vermont
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Stayed 2 nights at the end of November. Good vibes! Clean.Spacious and light filled double room. Only a few people staying at this time of year so nice and quiet. Very handy for the hills. Great staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbie46241
Finland
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Hostel is easy to get to with a bus. Building itself doesn't look like hostel and not to mention that funeral house... so it is not that welcoming. Inside the hostel was clean with nice beds. But new pillows should be bought. They don't have a drying room,so there are not that much place to hang your wet clothes to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaMikkonen
Daniel F, Manager at Broadford Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, And many thanks for your review. The building isn't purpose built, but we do try to make it as welcoming as possible. I am aware of the issue with the heating in the common area and have put a temporary heater in pending a pump repair. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the atmosphere at the hostel, we're normally pretty...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 20, 2016

I was there with my new wife on our honeymoon. After trying many B&B and hostels in Kyle of Lochalsh and Plockton ("no vacancies" in all of them), we were told there could be availability in there. We were lucky as they told us there was a double booking that was cancelled. We had to sleep in different beds in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iggarcia
Daniel F, Manager at Broadford Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I'm glad we were able to help!

Cairo Governorate, Egypt
Reviewed August 13, 2016

We stayed in a private room.The room was quite big.We were given twin beds.It had a basin with mirror and a side table as well.The fitted sheet was not fitting to the mattress and I am not sure whether the sheets and duvet were not clean or damp.The bathroom for the private rooms was big but it did not had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KhyatiAg
Daniel F, Manager at Broadford Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi & many thanks for your review. We do launder and dry bed linen in house, so it should be dry. If yours was still damp from the dryer you have my sincere apologies. We do occasionally mix up a single/double sheet in the linen packs, so if this occurs pop down to reception and we will of course by...

Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

The common area and kitchen facilities were great but the rooms were damp and sheets were a bit worn out. Staff was friendly and helpful. This hostel lacked a place to dry clothes and shoes after a hike. There was also only three toilets that were in order which was not enough in the morning while there were quite many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karoliner274
Daniel F, Manager at Broadford Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. I do agree some of our bedding is looking a little tired however we have recently replaced many of our duvets and pillows, and will be looking to renew the duvet covers, sheets and pillow cases etc. over the course of the season....

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Firsty, location is not good at all as it is in the southern part of the island and the main attractions are in the central and north areas. Even of you have a car as we did, distances are not short. Mind that everything closes at 9 pm so you may get nothing to dinner if you arrive late, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickylaz
Daniel F, Manager at Broadford Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Broadford Backpackers hostel, and did not come to speak to me regards to your concerns during your stay. I feel one star is harsh, and I note that all of your reviews are either one or five stars with nothing in between. The hostel is located in the South Eastern...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.4 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
330 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
990 reviews
29.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 5 in Broadford
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hostel is situated in the scenic village of Broadford ideally located for enjoying everything the Isle of Skye has to offer with access to public transport to get you all around the island and surrounding mainland. The hostel itself offers safe, clean and comfortable accommodation with a personal touch and we are always willing to do our best to meet any requirements that you may have. So whether you are going out to enjoy the sights or staying in to relax in our living room cuddled up with our cat we will try to make your experience of the Isle of Skye as wonderful as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Broadford Backpackers Hostel

Address: High Road, Broadford IV49 9AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Price Range: $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Broadford Backpackers Hostel Isle Of Skye, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Broadford Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you get room #9 make sure you are not in the bed right under the sky light as it woke me up really early.”
iggarcia, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“They have a bathroom with a bathtub. Just in case you have been sleeping in a tent for a while and want to relax a little.”
Raubmaus, Sep 28, 2015 | Read review
“Well, none of them is with the bathroom as it is always shared.”
Tkropkamalecki, May 21, 2015 | Read review
“Anyone with people!”
MSalomguasp, Apr 29, 2015 | Read review
“If travelling with 2 or three others, choose a private room for the same price.”
scharla, Feb 11, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question