We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baltasound Hotel

Traveler (106)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (16)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Baltasound Hotel is a small family run hotel only a few hundred yards from Baltasound Pier and Marina. Its central location makes the hotel an ideal base for exploring Unst. The hotel offers accommodation in the modern inside rooms and Scandinavian style pine log cabins. Breakfast, afternoon tea & coffee as well as the evening meals are served in the hotel Restaurant and lounge. Every year we do everything to provide our guests with an outstanding service to make them feel welcomed like at home.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
277Reviews
3Q+A
52Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 107
  • 86
  • 55
  • 15
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Staying on Unst and decided to have a meal out. This place was the nearest. Slightly idiosyncratic service, but attentive and helpful. Very prompt. Food decent quality and as far as I could tell, all freshly cooked to order. Chunky helpings too. My main caveat is that if you're
Read more
Response from Stephen S, Manager at Baltasound Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Richard, Firstly you should have been told of the 15% prior to your meal, which I'm assuming you weren't, so apologies for that. The restaurant is expensive to run and there is a small subsidy from the hotel accommodation to the bar/restaurant; so we take the view that the service charge is fair for none resident diners, and of course you're not obliged to dine . The other approach would be to increase the menu price and give the residents a discount for their room stays. We're pleased you enjoyed your meal and welcome you back when you're passing this way again. Kind Regards Steve
Read more
I stayed here for 3 nights whilst here on business and I really enjoyed the fact that i was staying in the most northerly hotel in the UK, moreover the cabins only added to the charm. I slept so soundly, which was mainly due to the sea air but equally thanks to a few beers in
Read more
Booked for 2 nights, friendly reception but, having spent >£120 per night on b&b, were non-plussed to get a very “tired” and basic room (room 1) and a bed that was so old and soft it was impossible not to roll together. The result was a really poor night’s sleep. Food wasn’t bad
Read more
Staying in a local B&B we were recommended to eat at this hotel. We were welcomed by the owner on our arrival & shown to the bar. The barmaid was very friendly & helpful. Good choice of wine & local beer. Lovely views from the dining room & we couldn’t fault our 2 course
Read more
Our visit to Baltasound Hotel was quite a catastrophal. I thought we had booked a hotel room but the ”room” was a camping cottage with a high hotel price. It is nothing wrong with cottage rooms (which I have often used) but not with this price which was totally over-prized. We
Read more
Response from Stephen S, Manager at Baltasound Hotel
Responded Apr 4, 2019
Dear Janisuom, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and being fair minded would have compensated you if justified. The hotel hasn't had issues with the cabin heating and guests have used them throughout the winter. I checked you in and showed you to your cabin at around 18-00 hours and I didn't notice any heating issues (I cleaned the cabin and the heating was put on mid morning) You didn't use the restaurant and stayed in the cabin after your days walking - therefore if there were issues over your cabin heating you should have come to reception and asked for me. I checked the cabin the next morning and it was perfectly warm and the helicopter pilots in the same cabins didn't have any problems. I did reply to your e-mail - the thing here is you stated that if the hotel didn't refund your second night by ' by 20-00 hours' on the Tuesday you would write a bad Trip Advisor review. For the record we didn't deceive you.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandShetland IslandsUnstBaltasound
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing