We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Torridon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Torridon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 454: English reviews
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in hotel for two days. It is hard to find fault with the hotel however the price is completely inconsistent with the quality and service standards. I assume the popularity of the NC500 is increasing demand for the hotel. The owners/management should be careful not to kill the golden goose. Standards need to be much higher for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Great to see that everything was excellent with your stay but sorry that you did not feel you got value for money. The hotel has always been busy in August even before the NC500, and our rates for that time of year run May - Oct. Value is subjective and personal and our rates range... More 

Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When you arrive at the Torridon, you are greeted by a fantastic old fashioned and obviously high class highland hotel. A lovely traditionally appointed interior that evokes feeling that you're entering an old Victorian hunting lodge. The rooms are fantastically appointed and the bathrooms have claw footed baths. There's Wifi and Sky Tv. I stayed in room 12a. I came... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iain J
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. So glad that you enjoyed the hotel. While I understand the food was not exactly to your liking, it was good to see that it was perfectly cooked and extremely tasty. Regards, Dan More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This was the most luxurious hotel that I treated myself to during a 12 day visit to Scotland. And it was worth every £ ! From the moment I was met at the desk and shown personally to my room, the glorious dinner ( although a little salty ) and a wee bit hard to understand the many accents of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine R
Belmont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had 4 nights at the Torridon in August. We went there not really knowing what to expect in the region. From the time we arrived Dan and his team were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and they were attentive yet respectful of our privacy. One of the strengths of the Torridon is the ability to choose between fine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet you and your wife and enjoy the rest of your extended holiday. We are very pleased that you enjoyed all that we had to offer at both the hotel and the Inn and Al was particularly please to get a personal mention! Thanks for the review, Dan More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Breath-taking place to be. The inn is magnificent and filled with the Spirit of Scotland. This is County Luxury. The food at either restaurant is outstanding. 350 bottles of Scotch to be tasted. We started at the bottom row and starting working up. Just kidding. The country side is magical. The rooms were elegant. Bathroom inviting. The window look up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JackBJack
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and so pleased to hear you enjoyed the food, hotel and activities. The whiskies will soon number 365...one for every day of the year! Regards, Dan More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was beautifully decorated and spacious with splendid views to the magnificent landscape. We ate in the formal dining room and at the Inn and all meals were excellent in different ways. The bar staff could not have been more helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed cocktails and post dinner coffee looking out of the splendid bay window. It is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lategeographer
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the Inn and that you enjoyed the beauty of the area. Regards, Dan More 

West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the money, this hotel should have been VASTLY better. The location is beautiful. But the service was unaccommodating and the food was not as great as it should have been for the money. We arrived at 3 p.m. from the long drive. BE CERTAIN to understand what the road is like going up to the hotel - "single carriage"... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank NovelTeacher
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Bustbin As you said in your email after your departure you have written to trip advisor and I will reply. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. It was not our intention to give you a poor experience. Afternoon tea does need to be booked, but we would not have made you aware of... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Torridon and The Torridon Hotel exceeded our expectations and surprised us: with uplifting and exhilarating environments, and with the warmth and spirit of the people we met. We went outdoors in all conditions and received superb hospitality on return. Excellent meals, wine and a wonderful range of the finest 'water of life' (whisky!). Good bed with view of the loch.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BillfromMelbourne
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review

Great to see you enjoying all that the area had to offer and we are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations. Regards, Dan More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Torridon has many strengths -- it is a grand Victorian hotel amid Highland grandeur. Our room was large and comfortable, and boasted splendid views. The staff are friendly and helpful, albeit the initial welcome was cool and underwhelming. Breakfast was traditional but excellent. But we had very disappointing experiences at dinner over two nights. Halibut requested to be lightly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank John B
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed the room and service. You did tell us on one evening that you did not enjoy dinner and we took this on board and called you in the room to apologise and told you that we would not charge you for dinner as you disliked it that much. At... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Revisiting after some considerable time but we were left feeling hollow. Unfortunately the duty manager had a dreadful manner and had very poor communication skills. This wasn't deliberate just the way she is. We did not encounter one member of staff who was local which is such a shame. Dinner was good and breakfast divine. Rosie from Wales saved the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank zakjam
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The staff regardless of their nationality are professional and friendly as can be seen from other reviews written. We have a total of 55 staff of which 50% are British. There are no local staff as there is no local housing and as a result we provide over 85% of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

354 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (326)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
12.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#2 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
16.7 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
21.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
57.9 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Torridon is a luxury hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Torridon

Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Price Range: $317 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay