We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ben Wyvis Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ben Wyvis Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 459: English reviews
Start your review of Ben Wyvis Hotel
 Click to rate
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A very majestic hotel looming over you when you drive up their entrance. We got an exceptional deal through EastBreaks for 3 nights DBB for £69. The hotel is very big and grand. Bits may have been a bit tired but overall presentation of all rooms, foyer, bar and dining room were clean, tidy and fairly attractive although old style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gs287
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We enjoyed or stay it's exactly what we expect. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The decor is a little tired as was the bathroom. Everything worked as it should and did not detract from our enjoyment one bit. Meal choices were limited but were ok and service was brisk. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A last minute phone call to Easy-Breaks gave me a very good deal at Ben Wyvis Hotel in Strathpeffer. Three nights DBB for £89.oo. Came home this morning feeling much more relaxed. I read many reviews of this Hotel which were less than complimentary so I feared the worst. I'd used Easy-Breaks for many years until about 2 years ago,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charles D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly, I called the hotel to advise I was on route but may late, to be told we stop serving food at 20:00 hrs. A hotel stops serving at 20:00 ????? Very strange! Upon arrival, yet again I was told food had stopped being served, it was now 20:20. In the room it did say room service available see menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bennybhoyek
StuartSharonNabbs, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Timings in the restaurant were changed because we were so quiet and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. I wish you had let us know you were cold as...

Tain, Highlands, Scotland
Reviewed January 16, 2017

Sadly, we only stayed one night in this fabulous hotel - next time will be for longer. The staff we met were all very friendly and helpful and our room 121 was the biggest that we had ever stayed in, with a huge comfy bed and fantastic views! We had booked a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package of which the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunbius
StuartSharonNabbs, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time at the hotel and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Alness, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

We joined some friends on a weekend break at the last minute , and it was the best Hotel break we've been on. The hallway was decorated for Xmas and the lounges were lovely and warm. The old building is really well cared for and clean. The food we had was first class. Three course dinner and wine were excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dawnchornby
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. We really appreciate the kind words regarding your stay and we look forward to your return.

Reviewed December 21, 2016

Stayed at the Ben Wyvis with my partner after being at a football match in Dingwall, which is only a short drive from the very beautiful Spa town of Strathpeffer. The building had a very nice feel to it and although large did not feel cold in the mid of winter. The man who was staffing the front desk and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristofer C
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay for the (if my memory serves me well) Ross County v's Aberdeen match. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will return in the near future.

United Kingdom
Reviewed December 21, 2016

Stayed for one night after going to a football game in nearby Dingwall. Was really impressed by the stunning Victorian buildings and beautiful scenery in Strathpeffer itself. We were met at hotel reception by a friendly and incredibly helpful member of staff. My partner and I hadn't appreciated the fact it is low season and there were only a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina M
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay for the (if my memory serves me well) Ross County v's Aberdeen match. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will return in the near future.

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 18, 2016

Staff were wonderful and the room was cozy and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely hot and tasted great. Staff were always willing to help and give information about the surrounding area. Some places in the hotel definitely haunted. Some things we cant explain. Light orb in garden, person in mirror in dinning hall, cold feeling in hallway, shadows and a few...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lee7omni
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. Your comments are greatly appreciated andI remember chatting with you at reception and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Thurso, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Set in a stunning location with spectacular views this grand old hotel is struggling to catch up on what feels like years of neglect. The room was warm and the bed comfy so I was happy, but the more discriminating half spotted cobwebs, ingrained dirt around the bathroom fittings, and the scuffed and scratched furniture giving an air of genteel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith M
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. I am sorry that you felt that your room was not clean and this has been taken up with the housekeeping staff. If your room was noisy then I only wish you had mentioned this at the time and we could of...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (170)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
23.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
711 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
372 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
666 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Address: On the A834 Dingwall To Contin/Garve Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Price Range: $76 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ben Wyvis Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ben Wyvis Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the mountains. Views are fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles charlesdF1995BY, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 121 for views, bed and spaciousness.”
 of 5 bubbles dunbius, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
“Room 121, great view and huge bed!”
 of 5 bubbles kristoferc2014, Dec 21, 2016 | Read review
“Room 121 was grand!”
 of 5 bubbles H8423EPmarinam, Dec 21, 2016 | Read review
“A front facing room will give you a fantastic view.”
  • Door frame where door previously pushed in. Wood stuck back on but not made good. Not a good loo
  • Tape used by previous occupant to block out light due to ill fitting curtains
  • Fantastic view from the room.
 of 5 bubbles kawkawkaw, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question