We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mackay's Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mackay\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 299: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

4 of us (adults) Just returned from a 3 night break in Strathpeffer booked with Urquhart Travel. It was amazing value for money. The coach driver Davey was great and really knew his stuff. We stopped at Pitlochry on our journey to Strathpeffer, where we found everyone super friendly. The staff at Mackays were friendly and very helpful. The service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dids J
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a great week here,lovely area sadly hotel is a let down, badly needs refurbished,uncomfortable beds,and rooms in need of paint,great views from front of hotel,but filthy Windows spoiled this.staff were friendly and food average.would definitely holiday again in this area but not this hotel,we booked through urquart travel and tours were good,just a shame hotel let it down

Helpful?
Thank elsiebobs1

Travelers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed there last week. Staff where helpful. Was in the lodges at the back, room was big and clean. It was one of the better places for disabled space in room, but showers basic. Food was fine. It needs a bit of upgrading in furnishings and entertainment relaxing areas. Pub very much so. It was a good stay and not... More 

Helpful?
Thank kgr16
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kgr16, Thank for reviewing you stay I am pleased to hear that the staff were helpful and that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently in the process of a refurbishment program and the bar is also on that list at the end of the year. I do hope you return to see the changes we have been making.... More 

Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel during our NC 500 tour. Excellent service and superb food in the restaurant. Our superior room was great with a small welcome decanter, a nice touch. Host Murray was extremely helpful and attentive. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Howard B
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start! Firstly this is cheap accommodation! £30 - £35 for dinner bed and breakfast is a budget price. The staff are brilliant, really pleasant and willing to help with whatever query / request you might have. They obviously work split shifts as the same person serves breakfast as well as pints in the pub at night. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tourgs
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tourgs, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I completely agree the hotel is in need of some upgrade in the rooms and we are currently in the process of doing this unfortunately this does take time. Thanks for your kind words regarding the staff I will pass these on as the will be delighted to hear them. I... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 days with a David Urquhart coach tour. Room was so dated, smelled and to my surprise did not have a shower. When we spoke to the deputy manager we were told they were fully booked, in fact over booked the next day. She told us that we could use the showers in the swimming pool changing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karen h
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen h, I am terribly sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and your room allocation, I appreciate that it does not help you but we are undergoing an extensive refurbishment program just now but unfortunately this takes time. I am surprised to hear you were unhappy with your food as we get many great comments about our... More 

Bay Area, CA
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in August 2016 and paid £94 for one night. Customer service is non-existent - we waited for long time to check-in and check-out. Room was dated, bathroom ceiling was covered with black mold, shower without hot water. Free wi-fi did not work (and there is no 3G phone service in that area). Hotel does serve breakfast but... More 

Helpful?
Thank aarsky
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aarsky, I am very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay, I wish you had mentioned something at the time in order to rectify some of the problems. Kind Regards Debbie Scott General Manager More 

Spain
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were housed in the old building, no shower which is unsuitable for seniors with mobility problems who cannot get in and out of the bath easily, or being able to wash your hair properly..we heard so many people complaining about the same thing and wanting their room changed...no privacy curtains to walk around in the room, so you either... More 

Helpful?
Thank almoradi2016
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear almoradi2016, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. The hotel is an old building and in need of some TLC but we are currently undergoing a refurbishment program and improving the hotel everyday. We are currently in the process of replacing the baths with showers but unfortunately this does take time. We are also going through... More 

Galston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Have had great holidays at the Mackays for the past few years on my own and with family. I've stayed in the Lodges, Travelodge and Spa buildings and the rooms are always spotless clean and reasonable bathroom / Shower. The rooms have all ways been big enough and beds comfortable. The breakfast and dinners are always very good and plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank John3175
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John3175, Thank you very much for such a kind review. I am thrilled to hear you have always had enjoyable stays and are planning a return trip in March we look forward to seeing you then. Kind regards Debbie Scott General Manager More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

our room was clean, very dated, good size, no accessories just a bar of soap. Breakfast was ok, but cooked breakfast very greasy and poached eggs swimming in water. Friendly efficient receptionist. Doesn't feel like a hotel, rooms seperate to main building,very thin walls and ceiling therefore could hear people walking about and talking. bar seperate to main building and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonnehiggins
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yvonnehiggins, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I am sorry certain aspects were not to your liking I do hope this does not deter you from future visits as we are making improvements every week and will certainly take your comments on board. Kind Regards Debbie Scott General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#5 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Mackay's Hotel

Address: The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Price Range: $73 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackay's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Mackay's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Strathpeffer
Mackay's Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay