We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Golf Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Golf Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 193: English reviews
portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Being married to a golfer this is a great hotel. The staff was great and the location was excellent. Would stay there anytime.Rooms was tired ,but then your only there to sleep. Had drinks in the bar which was wonderful. Will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank ddrob
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took family friends for dinner as we do three or four times a year. As always the food and service are excellent. Very good wine list not over priced. We always get a window table with its splendid view over Dornoch links course and the Dornoch Firth to Portmahamock light house.

Helpful?
Thank Artjo
Huercal-Overa, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the first hotel in our tour of the Highlands and turned out to be the best . From the very warm welcome as we entered reception , the nice well appointed spacious rooms and the excellent food and service in the lovely restaurant , we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel . Obviously it caters in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank KennethM703
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth, Many thanks for posting such a marvellous review following your recent stay here at The Royal Golf hotel, Dornoch. I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and most grateful for recommending us so highly. I look forward to welcoming you back next time your are touring the Highlands ! Kind regards, Robert Ratcliffe... More 

Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016

The room was tired even though it had been through a moderate refurbishment. The restaurant, food and service were very good. We don't play golf so I cannot judge the course. Being on a links course I am sure the golf is good although we don't play as I have golfers elbow. Dornoch is a lovely place to stay. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nasher2015
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay here at The Royal Golf Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and assure that this winter will see further re-furbishment of bedrooms and public areas. The golf course is ranked 6th best in the world by golf digest and so is... More 

Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

Hotel is literally 12 steps from the first tee box at Royal Dornoch. Room was spacious but we were disappointed with a view of the parking lot for that price. Room was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was include and was very nice. After golf we were about an hour early for our dinner reservation and asked if we could... More 

Helpful?
Thank mickeyb37
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mickey, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Golf Hotel, Dornoch. Sadly not all our spacious rooms overlook the golf course or beach beyond, so I am sorry that you must have been occupying one of the very few rooms that do not have a view of the course. Thank you for... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Perfect destination for those wanting to experience one of the top ten golf destinations worldwide, or as a wife of a golfer, soak up the wonderful sights and tranquility of the town of Dornoch. I had read some negative reports however I found them insignificant as our experience was nothing but pleasant. The staff were friendly, engaging, helpful and nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank vjforrest
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your most kind review. I do remember when you arrived and it was a pleasure to meet you both and show you to your room. Positive reviews like yours gives us all great encouragement during this busy season and the team value your lovely comments. I know you traveled along way to be here and... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Very comfortable and stylish rooms, many with a view right out to the golf course. Friendly and accommodating staff. We loved the bar with its TVs, big overstuffed leather chairs and sofas, excellent selection of beers and whiskies. Really short and easy walk to town. Couldn't have been more pleased and would recommend this spot to every traveling golfer I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
G7675AUrobertr, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay in such a positive light. Naturally I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience and that you would recommend us to fellow golfers. I hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Robert Ratcliffe General Manager More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

This a quaint hotel (22 rooms). The staff is knowledgeable and hard working. They'll do their best so you enjoy your stay. The views of the golf course are incredible - just steps from the front door is the first tee of the Royal Dornoch golf course.

Helpful?
Thank Vegas_Michael_2014
G7675AUrobertr, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind review following your recent stay at The Royal Golf hotel. Naturally I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience whilst visiting the hotel. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Robert Ratcliffe General Manager More 

England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

This was a return stay after a lovely time last year. Things started badly with our reservation requests which although accepted were not followed through so we had to request a change of room. We experienced one horrific housekeeping oversight which the hotel management sought to rectify with a substantial price reduction. We also felt breakfast was poor with tinned... More 

Helpful?
Thank maida22
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maida22, I am assuming you are the same lady who I spoke to one evening a few weeks ago who, after listening to my humble and sincere apologies, assured me that you accepted my apology, grateful for telephoning you, (the least I could do) and would take the unfortunate incident no further. However you did mention to me you... More 

Connel, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

or you will never see it again - well that was my experience. I emailed to make a fairly straightforward request for the return of a phone charger I left at my visit. Instead of it being returned it became an unbelievable saga demonstrating the staff had no intention of returning it. The first response by email informed me that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Regarding your recent review, please be assured we had every intention of returning your phone charger. We regularly return all left property to all corners of the globe when called upon. It is just unfortunate that in your case the charger was lost in the post on the first attempt. I openly admit we omitted to obtain a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Eagle
The Eagle
#6 of 7 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
11.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Conservatory Restaurant
Conservatory Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Golf Hotel, is perfectly situated overlooking the first tee of Royal Dornoch Championship Golf Course, the 6th best golf course in the world as judged by Golf Digest. All 22 bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard, most having superb views across the golf course and the Dornoch Firth beyond. Free WiFi internet access. The Conservatory Restaurant serves locally sourced,fresh seasonal food in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Golf Hotel

Address: The First Tee Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Price Range: $140 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay