We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Royal Golf Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Golf Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 188: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect destination for those wanting to experience one of the top ten golf destinations worldwide, or as a wife of a golfer, soak up the wonderful sights and tranquility of the town of Dornoch. I had read some negative reports however I found them insignificant as our experience was nothing but pleasant. The staff were friendly, engaging, helpful and nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank vjforrest
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your most kind review. I do remember when you arrived and it was a pleasure to meet you both and show you to your room. Positive reviews like yours gives us all great encouragement during this busy season and the team value your lovely comments. I know you traveled along way to be here and... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable and stylish rooms, many with a view right out to the golf course. Friendly and accommodating staff. We loved the bar with its TVs, big overstuffed leather chairs and sofas, excellent selection of beers and whiskies. Really short and easy walk to town. Couldn't have been more pleased and would recommend this spot to every traveling golfer I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
G7675AUrobertr, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay in such a positive light. Naturally I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience and that you would recommend us to fellow golfers. I hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Robert Ratcliffe General Manager More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This a quaint hotel (22 rooms). The staff is knowledgeable and hard working. They'll do their best so you enjoy your stay. The views of the golf course are incredible - just steps from the front door is the first tee of the Royal Dornoch golf course.

Helpful?
Thank Vegas_Michael_2014
G7675AUrobertr, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind review following your recent stay at The Royal Golf hotel. Naturally I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience whilst visiting the hotel. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Robert Ratcliffe General Manager More 

England
Level Contributor
168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a return stay after a lovely time last year. Things started badly with our reservation requests which although accepted were not followed through so we had to request a change of room. We experienced one horrific housekeeping oversight which the hotel management sought to rectify with a substantial price reduction. We also felt breakfast was poor with tinned... More 

Helpful?
Thank maida22
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maida22, I am assuming you are the same lady who I spoke to one evening a few weeks ago who, after listening to my humble and sincere apologies, assured me that you accepted my apology, grateful for telephoning you, (the least I could do) and would take the unfortunate incident no further. However you did mention to me you... More 

Connel, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

or you will never see it again - well that was my experience. I emailed to make a fairly straightforward request for the return of a phone charger I left at my visit. Instead of it being returned it became an unbelievable saga demonstrating the staff had no intention of returning it. The first response by email informed me that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Regarding your recent review, please be assured we had every intention of returning your phone charger. We regularly return all left property to all corners of the globe when called upon. It is just unfortunate that in your case the charger was lost in the post on the first attempt. I openly admit we omitted to obtain a... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You could not ask for a better location to play the Royal Dornoch golf course. Attentive staff and a warm welcome upon arrival. They have a great bar off the reception with an extremely well stocked bar with of course - scotch!!

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Many thanks for taking time to post your review following your recent stay with us at The Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit including our well stocked bar and thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you here again before too long.... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a group of 8 we had the pleasure of playing the Famous Royal Dornoch golf course and took the decision to stay at the Royal Dornoch Hotel. The hotel is situated on the first tee at Royal Dornoch and next door to the Golf Club and Shop. It's fair to say that this hotel is primarily for golfers and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Golf Hotel, Dornoch. In response to your comments, I can report that we will be embarking on a re-furbishment schedule this coming winter which will enhance our bedrooms and public areas. Overall I am delighted that you enjoyed your Dornoch experience and hope to... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

This isn't cheap but the location for golf is peerless. It's right next to 1st tee and 18th green of Royal Dornoch. Really helpful staff in all departments. Lovely dinner and breakfasts. Peaceful setting. Rooms not really commensurate with pricing but you're paying for excellent location, lovely food and the cosiness of it not being a large hotel. If you're... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crackerant
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your recommendation. We are most fortunate with our close proximity to the golf club, ranked 6th best in the world by golf digest. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you here again in the near future. Kind regards,... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

We stayed in the Royal Golf Hotel for two nights in May. We are not golfers but were using the hotel as a base for some gentle walking in the area. There was a slight snafu when we checked in as we were given the wrong room (2 rooms with the same surname checking in on the same day) but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill C
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Many thanks for taking time to post your very complimentary review following your recent stay with us at The Royal Golf Hotel. I apologise about the slight mis-hap with your room upon check-in however pleased it was quickly resolved. I am sorry about the WiFi on the second floor, I was aware of the problem which I am... More 

Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

So looking forward to dinner here as me and my friend go along for dinner two to three times a year . Service was good . But know one asked us how our meal was . The meal ....mussels to start were good the duck terrine was a good portion but tasteless . Then we had two what was suppose... More 

Helpful?
Thank redcollection
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that service was good and you enjoyed your starters. I subsequently tasted the duck terrine and it was delicious to be honest so I am a little bemused by your comment in this regard. Naturally I am disappointed to read your comments but more so by the fact... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Eagle
The Eagle
#6 of 7 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
11.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Conservatory Restaurant
Conservatory Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Golf Hotel, is perfectly situated overlooking the first tee of Royal Dornoch Championship Golf Course, the 6th best golf course in the world as judged by Golf Digest. All 22 bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard, most having superb views across the golf course and the Dornoch Firth beyond. Free WiFi internet access. The Conservatory Restaurant serves locally sourced,fresh seasonal food in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Golf Hotel

Address: The First Tee, Dornoch IV25 3LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Price Range: $167 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay