We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eddrachilles Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Badcall Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Eddrachilles Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
muir of ord
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Twin room for 2 nights at £120 per night b&b (courtyard room) £160 for room with a view. A lovely wee hotel in a lovely location, lots of potential for the future. On arrival we were shown into our room which was a bit strange, but having been given an explanation of the heating we were able to appreciate the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kmacScotland
EddrachillesHotel, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a review. I am glad you can see potential in our new venture and thank you for your good wishes. We value all feedback which is why I did seek you out after hearing you were unhappy. I apologised at the time that we had missed the opportunity to ask... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had booked this hotel several months in advance and during this time it had changed hands. The new owners contacted us a couple of times to confirm our booking and honoured the original rate we were quoted. When we arrived we discovered we were the only couple staying and were given a beautiful room with a huge bed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank zan15
EddrachillesHotel, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement. We have had a few nights this summer when we have gone from being fully or near fully booked to a very few guests and then back up again. It is good to know that we didn't take our eye off the ball, particularly as we were just transitioning in... More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I know that this hotel has had a change of ownership recently and it will be an immense task to bring it up to date. The furnishings and decoration are all quite old fashioned. The bedroom was small but the bed was lovely and comfortable, it had lovely sheets and nice big towels. The view from the window was stunning... More 

Helpful?
Thank hmr132015
EddrachillesHotel, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us feedback which we always value, even when it is disappointing. It does help us as we work our way through a long list of improvements which we want to make to the hotel having taken over operations a little over 100 days ago. I'm glad you enjoyed the new... More 

London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped off for coffee and were warmly welcomed by the new owner. The conservatory is a stunning place to enjoy their very good scones and coffee. Suggested wander round the grounds and shoreline was greatly enjoyed. It's a place I would love to stay over for a few days and as it's not that far from INV airport which... More 

Helpful?
Thank DieHoek
EddrachillesHotel, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! I'm glad you had the time to enjoy the grounds and the views over the bay (it's what convinced us to buy the hotel when we viewed it last year). We'll very much look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Newcastle
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in for 2 nights dinner, bed & breakfast on the basis of place and the fact that it was short-listed in the Good Hotel Guide. Firstly the location is splendid looking west through a gap in the trees onto a splendid tranquil Inlet of the sea with small fishing boats at anchor. It was obviously an old laird's... More 

Helpful?
Thank drcolin
EddrachillesHotel, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a balanced and constructive review and also for the feedback which you gave directly to our chef when you were in residence. We deeply appreciated your consideration - it's the best way for us to learn - and we do hope that you will be pleased to... More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do not be drawn in by the attractive approach and surroundings. The new owners are slightly eccentric and egotistical, but are welcoming. Our room was small and did not command the high price paid. The bathroom was extremely small and the rooms are noisy, as advised in the room booklet, we were kept awake until 12.30 am! On the plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
EddrachillesHotel, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review

Obviously we are disappointed that you had a poor experience during your one night stay and will certainly take your comments into account as we invest in the hotel. It is, as you observed, an old building dating back in part to 1750s, and some people find that charming and authentic while others miss the modern convenience of a Premier... More 

Scourie, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took my daughter for her 18th birthday and found the service to be fine, The taste of the food to be lovely but quantity of the meal to be miniscule. I am a local who lives two miles away, there was no draft beer, only bottled beer which was warm and wasn't the nicest. Very poor value for a two... More 

Helpful?
Thank ionarh1
EddrachillesHotel, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry that you found the meal to be so disappointing and I am very puzzled that you didn't raise your concerns directly with us - we have lots of satisfied local regulars! If you had mentioned it at the time to the waiting staff they would have happily asked the chef for an additional food. Perhaps your waiter didn't... More 

Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the 3rd year we booked into the Eddrachillis Hotel. Our first two years were so good we booked for 2016 before leaving in 2015. However, it changed ownership during the year and what a change. The hotel was just the same and very clean BUT the food was terrible. In fact terrible is too good a description. Without... More 

Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
EddrachillesHotel, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a candid review and we are sorry that you had a disappointing experience. Even where it is painful to read, we regard all feedback as useful in improving our service to guests. It is only a pity that you chose in the five days of your visit not to raise your concerns... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want to be warmly greeted with a welcome pot of coffee and some home bakes on the house, you enjoy amazing views, excellent food , a spotlessly clean room and you want to bring Fido - then come here - you won't be disappointed. 😆

Helpful?
1 Thank Margate M
EddrachillesHotel, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! It means a such a lot when our guests notice the efforts of the entire team here. And we do love our canine guests, although the two White Cats of Eddrachilles are not so sure! Hope to welcome you back soon... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

We stayed next door at Eddrachillas Cottage and had dinner 2 nights are the hotel. The food was superb and the staff was wonderful. We arrived not long before closing on one evening and the chef was kind enough to accommodate us. They have over fifty types of scotch and each time I visited they helped me choose a scotch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
EddrachillesHotel, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We do enjoy the company of visitors to the neighbouring holiday cottages (not owned by us) and haven't regretted changing the policy of the previous owners to keep the grounds exclusively for residents of the hotel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the lovely walk to the shore as well as food. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badcall Bay
0.0 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A small, friendly hotel with quality restaurant, all day cafe offering, and, from late July 2016, an artisan bakehouse. Located on the coast of NW Sutherland at Badcall, 2 miles from the village of Scourie, in the heart of one of Europe's last remaining wildernesses. Gorgeous sea views, a truly peaceful location, with 4 acres of woodland gardens. Ideally located for the North Coast 500 route - at the half way mark, at the heart of the NW Highlands Geopark and close to bird watchers' favourite Handa Island. Opportunities for independent or expert guided hillwalking, mountaineering, sea kayaking and open canoeing, call to discuss. The hotel offers bed & breakfast in comfortable en suite rooms. Our room-rates include a cooked to order delicious Highland breakfast. We are open all day to residents and non-residents, the choice includes coffee & baking, lunch, afternoon teas, a lounge bar and dinner. New owner-managers, Fiona and Richard Trevor, look forward to sharing Eddrachilles with you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eddrachilles Hotel

Address: Off the A894 | 2 miles south of Scourie on the North West coast, Badcall Bay IV27 4TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Badcall Bay
Price Range: $102 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Eddrachilles Hotel Badcall Bay, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing