We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Asgard B&B

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Asgard B&B
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

By far the best accommodation I have ever stayed in. I work away from home and have stayed in many different types of accommodation, none have even come close to the level of service received at Asgard B&B. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are spacious, clean and very tastefully decorated. A nice little touch was fresh milk for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting, we always strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible. You will still be Haralds Ludo partner. Hope to see you soon. Dawn More 

Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

We were disappointed with our stay in large part because we had not been advised of the rules of the house prior to our arrival. Had we known that the living room "lounge" would be closed and locked at 10:00 pm, we would have never considered staying. We were banished to our small rooms at 10:00 pm each night of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dayton0906
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Sorry you feel this way, but if everyone stays in the lounge till whenever the rest of the guests would be disturbed Just to correct you , the lounge is not looked . If you feel you were 'Banished ' You could have gone out. We have never had our rooms called 'Tiny' before and likewise never had folk complain... More 

UK, NZ and wherever else
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Lovely, clean house, cute dogs, comfy bed, great breakfasts, and we even had a DVD player in our room! Especially good was the selection of nice things for breakfast; you can even have Dawn's homemade dumpling thingy (as she described it: a bit like boiled xmas cake), and I recommend you do. And the salmon. And the black pudding :D... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mo_5i
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review, its god to see how other see the house and us. Dawn More 

birmingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

This is an outstanding B&B with ‘quality’ as the watchword. It’s within an easy walk of the town or if you want to drive, parking is not a problem. Our room was so comfortable and the shower was spacious and powerful. There is a relaxing lounge. Dawn and Harald were very helpful and informative about what to see and when... More 

Helpful?
Thank flapjack37
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Its so good to read how others see us. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely B&B and the owners are very friendly and excellent hosts. The breakfasts are especially good with a large range of choices. The rooms were exactly ad advertised and very comfortable and the views from the sitting room were are lovely. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2016

The Asgard is only 5 minutes walk from the ferry, which is so convenient. We stayed for 4 nights last August and had a fantastic time - there's so much to see in Orkney. Dawn and Harald keep an immaculate house- incredibly clean and neat. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were superb. If you love dogs... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JCBaxter
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We arrived off the ferry after a long journey and were so pleased to have chosen to stay at Asgard. Less than 5 minutes from the port meant a great start to our 3 night stay. Food great and hosts welcoming. Puppies a real highlight!

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Our three days at Asgaard house were extremely pleasant. Asgaard is located just far enough away from the main streets of Stromness to be quiet, but close enough to be at the Ferry dock in just 7 minutes. The view is beautiful out over the bay. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The bed is comfy and the shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol_AnnSBF55
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Sorry for not responding sooner, Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again. Dawn More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015 via mobile

This B&B is run to an extremely high standard by Dawn and Harald. We stayed for 5 nights while doing a drysuit course at Scapa Scuba. We had a twin room. Very comfortably furnished with all the items that you might need. Beds very comfortable, lovely shower room with a great walk in shower. Nice touch with the dressing gowns!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bridget1056
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Hope to see you again, after you have dived warmer waters. Dawn More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Dawn and Harold where the best hosts we have experience out side South Africa, they made our stay a home away from home, going the extra mile on all our needs. The B&B is a homely atmosphere with large comfortable rooms and bath rooms. All our meals where restaurant quality but with the homely touch.

Helpful?
1 Thank Truls17
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Hi Hope you guys got home safe and recovered from Orkney seas. Thanks for the review and the wellies. Dawn & Harald More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.6 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
6.1 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Walkers, Anglers, Cyclists, Golfers, Bikers, bussines and holiday makers all welcome, Just leave the kids at home and come and spend a few days in Orkney. The rooms are all on 1 floor with ensuite bathrooms. A large lounge is available for your use. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Asgard B&B

Address: Asgard Cairston Road, Stromness KW16 3JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Asgard B&B Stromness, Orkney Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing