We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Glenisle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Glenisle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

620 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 608: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My friend and I were staying a few doors down at a B&B and after reading reviews on here thought we would try the Glenisle for dinner. I booked a few days before arrival on Arran. When we arrived we were told there was a wedding party of 20, was this okay? and were shown to a table on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very confortable, nice location superb staff and food. The island is gorgeous and the staff halped us in finding nice locations and walks. The food is superb, breakfast and dinner. Rooms are cosy, clean and very conforable.

Helpful?
Thank matteo t
Glenisle_Lamlash, Owner at Glenisle Hotel, responded to this review

Matteo, thank you for your lovely review. We're all glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Glenisle and also your visit to the island. There is still a lot more to discover on Arran so I do hope that we'll see you again. Geoffrey More 

Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We picked this hotel because of the many good reviews on TripAdvisor but this time, we felt there were too many issues to warrant a high rating. The welcome we received was excellent, perhaps the warmest welcome ever. The chap concerned was very polite, showed us to our room and explained everything to us. The room was above the kitchen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel Harry
Keston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Ate here early on a Friday evening and the meal I chose was recommended by the waiter as the choices were all so tempting. I had vegetarian haggis lasagne with local cheese and I thought "vegetarian haggis?" But it was very tasty and the cheese was amazing. The children's portion of chicken nuggets in batter with twister chips was excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank M6Mel
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location,with really friendly staff. Nice bar with sheltered outside sitting area. This is a very nice hotel and would return again and recommend it Would have given this 5 stars, but our room number 5 was very warm and the fan in the bathroom did not work. There was a long delay in serving our starter, but once pointed... More 

Helpful?
Thank 18putts
Glenisle_Lamlash, Owner at Glenisle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. But, i am disappointed that you thought that the extractor fan in the bathroom wasn't working. As we upgrade the bathroom equipement we have gone for top-of-the-range, extra quiet extractor fans since noisy fans can be annoying. So, you can imagine our frustration when... More 

Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely dinner here yesterday evening. Food and service were excellent. Prices reasonable. Lovely surroundings in the bistro. Surprisingly busy for a Monday evening. Glad that we booked in advance.

Helpful?
Thank Alank S
Glenisle_Lamlash, Owner at Glenisle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I'm sure it's clear that everyone at the Glenisle works very hard to give the guests and enjoyable experience and it is very rewarding to have such great feedback. Thank you, again. Geoffrey More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on holiday on Arran last week and Glen Isle Hotel was on our list of recommended places to eat. We ate there on our last evening on the island and it was a perfect end to a great week. From the telephone booking through to our welcome drinks and the attentive, yet never intrusive staff, we were made... More 

Helpful?
Thank AliBaliBee77
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff - high standard of decor - wonderful views - food great - I had scallops with leek and a dash of cullen skink - veg haggis lasagne - kippers for breakfast - my room had a sea view - striking paintings for sale on display in public rooms

Helpful?
Thank Venuesrated
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone working at the Glenisle Hotel was absolutely first class. We stayed there 3 nights with friends. We wanted an easy dinner, so we reserved at the hotel the first night. After looking at the menu and tasting the first meal, we said that we would be nuts to eat anywhere else. So we had all 3 dinners (and breakfasts)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from fantastic weekend at the Glenisle. This place is superb and we can't fault it in any way. From the stunning views, super friendly staff and excellent food everything surpassed our expectations. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Ian K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.1 mi away
Auchrannie House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Auchrannie Spa Resort
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming, ancient island inn is now an award-winning boutique hotel. Nestled in the charming village of Lamlash the hotel boasts one of the most beautiful locations on the Isle of Arran; looking across Lamlash Bay toward the Holy Isle which rises 1,000 feet out of the sea. The Glenisle was honoured at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards, scooping up a Gold Medal for hospitality as well as the prestigious Rising Star Small Hotel award. Once you have experienced Arran from the comfort of the Glenisle Hotel you might find yourself, like so many others, coming back year after year for a regular break which both relaxes and revitalises. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenisle Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Price Range: $164 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenisle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenisle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenisle Hotel Lamlash, Isle Of Arran
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay