We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Millbrook Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Millbrook Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 183: English reviews
Lomdon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the unfortunate luck of over booking this hotel to stay the night before my sisters wedding. What a disaster, they had a rock music band playing live at the venue with an unruly and rowdy crowd screaming and shouting until 3:30-4:00am. I could not sleep. I left the hotel at 6:30 am. Really unhappy with this hotel and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to forward your review. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us but do find your review slightly harsh. We are unsure what you mean by overbooking as this was not the case. All of the bedrooms on this occasion were made by one individual ie your... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for carvery with friends. 2 course meal for £14.50 which is much better than 3 courses. I had cold starter which was beautiful and a lot of choice. As I am vegan there was nothing and I mean nothing on the main for a vegetarian never mind a vegan which I found very disappointing so I had just to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eileenm M
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to submit your review to tripadvisor. We note that you have reviewed our carvery earlier in the year so we would surmise that since we have reduced the courses to 2 rather than the previous 5 courses you have found this more agreeable for you. This is the only alteration we have... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While the carvery itself is very good, lots of variety and looks fantastic, the room they host this in is massive and a bit soulless. It is a beautiful room, I would imagine they use it for weddings etc. We were one of only three couples dining, so it felt very odd. Like everybody else ( they were serving food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donegal_addicts
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to forward your review. As carvery is a very popular dining experience for our guests with very large numbers attending we do host it in our Garden and Courtyard suite. As you will understand like any dining establishment there may be busy and quiet periods during service. We are very sorry that... More 

Ibiza
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We called in here last night on our way back from Newcastle. Unfortunately it was dark so we couldn't see the grounds but what we did see looked lovely. We ate in the bar and the food was very good. We ordered Bacon & chorizo carbonara and the surf & turf. Both very tasty dishes, piping hot And freshly cooked.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to forward your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed dining with us. We do hope that we will have an opportunity very soon to welcome you back to Millbrook. More 

Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

Just wanted to say another big thank you to yourself and your staff for making our day amazing and so special! All our guests havent stopped raving about how lovely it was and that the food was beautiful! Also the photographer loved it as well as so many places to take lovely pictures

Helpful?
Thank Lauren00758
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bride and Groom Thank you so very much for taking the time to forward your review and we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your special day. We always like that our Bride and Grooms and their families leave Millbrook with very happy memories of their wedding day. Again our thanks and we hope that we have an opportunity... More 

Dromore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful venue staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Rooms are very good and breakfast excellent couldn't have been better. Really would recommend for an overnight stay or wedding venue.

Helpful?
Thank Frances S
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will have an opportunity some time soon to return and visit with us. More 

Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Sunday 9/10/16 called in to the Millbrook for a meal on arrival very pleasant efficient and courteous young lady showed me and my wife right away to our table ordered our meal and was served very promptly The food when arrived was steaming hot and absolutely delicious all in a very nice refurbished dining area spacious and exquisitely decorated A... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGE M
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to forward your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We do hope that we will see you again very soon perhaps in our Gilmore restaurant or very popular Sunday carvery. Again our thanks and good wishes. More 

County Down
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2016

Called in here last Sunday around 4pm for a bite to eat. This hotel has been beautifully refurbished with nice modern decor. Upon arrival we were quickly seated by the nice lady in the restaurant, and give our menus and drinks order was taken. Soon after we placed our food order, Everything is cooked fresh so you do have to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nic D
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you so very much for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you and your party have occasion very soon to revisit with us. Again our thanks for your kind review. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

Nice pleasant hotel, good food, nice rooms. Had a tasty steak dinner and the bedroom was big but without a view. They would benefit from creating a roof garden or something to clean up the view from the bedroom window. The breakfast crockery could do with a wipe of a tea towel before being put out. Overall a nice place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorcán O
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your review. Unfortunately on this occasion you have been placed in a rear bedroom which as you point out doesn't the best views but we do have other rooms that look over the gardens and our front paddock where our horses graze. Due to oncoming works and renovations taking place it is not possible for... More 

Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

If you haven't been to the Millbrook for a few years, be prepared for a surprise. Whilst the layout is generally the same, the entire place has had a substantial makeover, inside and out. We went to the Sunday carvery, where people vote with their feet, packing the place out. Great selection of food - if you leave hungry it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isaac B
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your review and we are truly delighted that you enjoyed dining with us. Our Sunday Carvery proves to be very popular as it gives the variety and choice that a lot of our guests look forward. We do hope that you have occasion very soon to visit with us if not at carvery maybe perhaps... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballynahinch
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a short distance from the scenic Mourne Mountains, The Millbrook Lodge is a family-owned hotel, where the charm of a beautiful Georgian building has been carefully integrated with modern comfort and amenities. The hotel has sixteen bedrooms all en-suite, offering comfort, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Exquisitely landscaped gardens provide six acres of tranquility and a perfect setting for photographs. The Head Chef provides a wide range of mouth-watering food options from breakfast through to dinner and Sunday lunch with Pensioner's lunches and Early Bird Menu also available. Afternoon Tea, with a sumptuous selection of scones, traybakes and sandwiches has become one of the hotel's most popular eating experiences. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millbrook Lodge Hotel

Address: 5 Drumaness Road, Ballynahinch BT24 8LS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Ballynahinch
Price Range: $106 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Millbrook Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Ballynahinch
Millbrook Lodge Hotel Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Millbrook Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Most standard rooms but also 3-4 suites available.”
 of 5 bubbles N6870AJdavew, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Complimentary bottle of champagne would have been nice in the bridal suit as a small gesture. We had taken the highest wedding package. But apart from that everything was fab. :) ”
 of 5 bubbles KerryLav, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“even numbers have a view of fields with horses grazing.”
 of 5 bubbles Cyderman64, Jul 4, 2016 | Read review
“I think even numbered rooms have views of the beautiful gardens! I was in 9 - no view but still lovely & comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles KathyCMcG, Apr 13, 2016 | Read review
“Use the restaurant. Its fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles MylesJ699, Feb 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay