We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Millbrook Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Millbrook Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 190: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent food Great location Nice atmosphere Lovely setting Price very affordable Waiter/Waitress friendly and helpful Good menu selection Great drinks menu also Nice place to go with friends / couple Close to castlewellan

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan443666
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Called in today Sun 15 Jan 17 for Sunday Lunch in the main bar. It was nice, quiet and comfortable seating to enjoy lunch. We had a couple of drinks to start then ordered. I was here with two friends and we had the, Glenarm shorthorn Steak Burger 8oz with Smoked Cheese and Cacon & Chips, Gilmores Pan fried Chicken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkBFS
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went to my dads wedding in millbrook lodge hotel in november, Staff were friendly, Food was lovely. The only downfall would be is the price of the room for something quite basic, It was nice, clean, comfortable, but over priced. Enjoyed it overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustineRoberts1
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Millbrook lodge hotel called in for a bite to eat meet by friendly staff food amazing wiil return service was very good hotel very clean and welcoming we are in food business ourselves and are fussy so was very pleased well done

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradster001
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was very disappointed by the quality of food and service received. There was no presentation whatsoever, the food looked as if it was flung on the plate. I ordered salmon which was cooked adequately, thank goodness I asked for the sauce on the side as it was gloopy and awful! The potatoes were ok but leathered in butter and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 12, 2016

Have attended this hotel twice over the last two months and I have to say the food and service on both occasions was fantastic. First evening was a 7 Course Gourmet Event with Wine tasting. All of the courses were delicious and the host was very entertaining and gave a great insight into the wines on offer and how they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EddieMcDowell
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

57 pre booked Xmas meals £38pp. Food Luke warm. Lady at our table pre ordered gluten free mains,15 mins into dining and she still hadn't been served. The other 8 ppl at our table were 75% through mains before she was served. In conclusion our table = (£38 x8=£305 warm-ish food 1x£38 served late) overall = poor service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T13avy
Lomdon
Reviewed November 27, 2016

I had the unfortunate luck of over booking this hotel to stay the night before my sisters wedding. What a disaster, they had a rock music band playing live at the venue with an unruly and rowdy crowd screaming and shouting until 3:30-4:00am. I could not sleep. I left the hotel at 6:30 am. Really unhappy with this hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to forward your review. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us but do find your review slightly harsh. We are unsure what you mean by overbooking as this was not the case. All of the bedrooms on this occasion were made by one individual ie your...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Went for carvery with friends. 2 course meal for £14.50 which is much better than 3 courses. I had cold starter which was beautiful and a lot of choice. As I am vegan there was nothing and I mean nothing on the main for a vegetarian never mind a vegan which I found very disappointing so I had just to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileenm M
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to submit your review to tripadvisor. We note that you have reviewed our carvery earlier in the year so we would surmise that since we have reduced the courses to 2 rather than the previous 5 courses you have found this more agreeable for you. This is the only alteration we have...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2016

While the carvery itself is very good, lots of variety and looks fantastic, the room they host this in is massive and a bit soulless. It is a beautiful room, I would imagine they use it for weddings etc. We were one of only three couples dining, so it felt very odd. Like everybody else ( they were serving food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donegal_addicts
MillbrookLodge, General Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to forward your review. As carvery is a very popular dining experience for our guests with very large numbers attending we do host it in our Garden and Courtyard suite. As you will understand like any dining establishment there may be busy and quiet periods during service. We are very sorry that...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballynahinch
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
140 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
#9 of 50 in Belfast
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a short distance from the scenic Mourne Mountains, The Millbrook Lodge is a family-owned hotel, where the charm of a beautiful Georgian building has been carefully integrated with modern comfort and amenities. The hotel has sixteen bedrooms all en-suite, offering comfort, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Exquisitely landscaped gardens provide six acres of tranquility and a perfect setting for photographs. The Head Chef provides a wide range of mouth-watering food options from breakfast through to dinner and Sunday lunch with Pensioner's lunches and Early Bird Menu also available. Afternoon Tea, with a sumptuous selection of scones, traybakes and sandwiches has become one of the hotel's most popular eating experiences. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millbrook Lodge Hotel

Address: 5 Drumaness Road, Ballynahinch BT24 8LS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Ballynahinch
Price Range: $108 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Millbrook Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Ballynahinch
Millbrook Lodge Hotel Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Millbrook Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Most standard rooms but also 3-4 suites available.”
 of 5 bubbles N6870AJdavew, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Complimentary bottle of champagne would have been nice in the bridal suit as a small gesture. We had taken the highest wedding package. But apart from that everything was fab. :) ”
 of 5 bubbles KerryLav, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“even numbers have a view of fields with horses grazing.”
 of 5 bubbles Cyderman64, Jul 4, 2016 | Read review
“I think even numbered rooms have views of the beautiful gardens! I was in 9 - no view but still lovely & comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles KathyCMcG, Apr 13, 2016 | Read review
“Use the restaurant. Its fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles MylesJ699, Feb 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay