We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Bear Hotel

Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Black Bear Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a room at the front, very noisy up to 1am, the shower/toilet area was grubby, we refused to use the shower; no room in washbasin to wash hands/clean teeth etc, and the cold tap squirted everywhere; the staff had difficulty opening the room door for us, the key was so stiff, even they had to get help. However,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
Charllotte15, Manager at The Black Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. All of the locks are booked in for a service at the end of the summer. We are unable to do this at such a busy period. I was unaware we had a problem with the tap so if you can tell me which room this was, I will get it fixed. We are... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel was booked because it offered breakfast included in the price. How ever as soon as we arrived we were informed that the would not be any breakfast as the breakfast chef was off ill. So we were offered an evening meal instead which we were happy with. The food we had was very good and very large portions... More 

Helpful?
Thank si8940
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely quaint hotel. Friendly and hard working staff. Parking is an issue as there is no car park only local car parks or the street. Rooms are clean and tidy, the food in the restaurant was lovely, loads of choices and hot. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Brendaskerratt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in here last Saturday for a couple Of Drinks in the sun. Where completely put of By the foul mouthed girl belived to be called Charlotte . Waited so long to get served whilst she pranced around flirting that we left and won't be returning till older , mature staff are in .

Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent790
Charllotte15, Manager at The Black Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit and I can only apologise for my behaviour. However, I wasn't on shift that day. Never the less, that should not affect my attitude when in the public eye especially as I am the manager. I can only apologise for my mistake. Thanks, Charllotte More 

Travelers are raving about these Wareham hotels

Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came to this pub with my son for drink after spending the majority of the evening on quay for the Wareham Wednesday event and to my shock horror there was an incident at the pub whiling having my drink which was a lad broke a window at the pub, to which the landlord reacted by chasing this person outside the... More 

Helpful?
Thank annapop0192
Charllotte15, Manager at The Black Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I can assure you this incident has been reported to the police and dealt with accordingly. The incident happened around midnight when the pub was closed. It's all on CCTV. If you need to discuss the matter with me any further, please call me on 01929 553339. Thanks, Charllotte More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For £75 I was expecting a pretty nice hotel room. Unfortunately this was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. Bathroom was grubby with mould in the shower, and unpleasant unknown orange stains above the shower. The corridor to the rooms smelt pretty bad, one of the smells being a strong smell of cigarette smoke. The room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ctjh
nigel r, Manager at The Black Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The room in which you stayed in has since had a complete shower replacement. I was unaware the window was broken but have since fixed it. We would love to put new windows in, to prevent noise but due to being a listed building we are unable to change... More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wasn't sure what to expect.......but wasn't disappointed. I had ham, egg and chips my husband had homemade pie and veg. It was beautifully hot and delicious. We only paid £6.95 per meal - I would have paid more! Would definitely go back when we visit Wareham again.

Helpful?
Thank barnessq
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was really hot the plates were hot when brought out! Great service and very polite staff! Extremely beautifully cooked food drinks are served cold and overall it was a pleasant experience. We were allowed to bring our dog in so he wouldn't be left outside on there own! This is a truly brilliant run pub/restraint

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food only Not a stay Well I.am impressed actually friendly bar,... Local bar atmosphere Friendly.staff Walk in for a table,.... Local pub priced Plus specials Honest food at a honest price Would I go back?? YES

Helpful?
Thank Dave558899
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just stopped by for a drink whilst camping nearby. Loud music was playing and only seemed to be a couple of locals drinking. OK for a drink but probably would not want to stay there as looks abit scruffy.

Helpful?
Thank breeze60
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
1.7 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#8 of 24 in Wareham
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#14 of 24 in Wareham
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Bear Hotel is a family friendly grade 2 listed period coaching inn, with 14 en-suite rooms, bar restaurant, pool table, beer garden and a function room that can be used for any occasion, business or leisure. We have a varied home cooked menu including daily specials and child options, featuring locally sourced produce. We serve local and regional real ales and selection of wines well behaved dogs are welcome. We have live music most weekends. We as a family took over the Bear on the 8th October 2012 and have been busy refurbishing the rooms and generally giving the old place a facelift, but not losing its character in the process. So the new management team, Lyn, Allan, Beccie, Podge and Maz would like you to welcome you if you choose to come and stay with us. There are several beautiful beaches and interesting sights close by. Wareham is an old market town enclosed by the famous walls and hold many historical features. The boat trips from the quayside to Poole are very popular. We are also central to Dorchester, Poole, Weymouth, Swanage and Corfe Castle, to name but a few. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Bear Hotel

Address: 14 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Price Range: $82 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Black Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel
The Black Bear Hotel Wareham, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay