We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Crown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
Portsmouth England
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been staying at a nearby cottage and have visited The Crown for two dinners and a lunch during our 3 night stay. We have found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. Pprtion sizes are generous but there is an option for a smaller serving on many meals. I highly revommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank casdix
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been there before and had a pleasant experience previously. Went on Saturday and ordered the fish, unfortunately it tasted slightly off. In my opinion this isn't really a big deal. It happens sometimes with fish. When the waitress was approached quietly to try and get it resolved, she was rude and categorically stated there nothing wrong with the fish....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cweco
Gemma H, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review that we have both been expecting after your visit with us on Saturday. I find it particularly frustrating as we did everything we could on the day to please you, to include a full refund of your faultless meal and quite clearly our efforts went unappreciated. You ordered our salmon dish, pan fried with lemon...

Dorset
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We had an evening meal at the crow. The starters were tasty, but portions very large and only one of us cleared his plate. We ordered two Sirloin Steak main courses. They were huge steaks, but rather chewy, and the plain steak was peppery. The Crown burger was very nice, but again too much for me. Service was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROKALO
Reviewed October 21, 2016

I stayed here on my own for one night as I was working in the area, the staff were really friendly, food lovely and the room I stayed in was large, comfortable and had all I needed. I needed to leave before breakfast so staff offered to make a packed lunch for me to take away with me. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle W
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We have just got back from a lovely week end staying in this very pretty and picturesque pub. The rooms were very clean and tidy with all the little extras you would expect to find ie tea coffee biscuits and water We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was superb. Lots of choice and variety with large...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank saundersa32
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

We tried the food here for the first time today and we were very very impressed! Such Lovely and friendly staff, a beautiful restaurant with fantastic decor , we highly recommend this as a place to eat

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cerinruth
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

We called in to the Crown Inn, after walking Luna our dog, the pub is dog friendly. Ordered drinks and a meal each, I had the Turkey and Ham pie, with mash veg and gravy, my wife had the Rump steak. Both meals were amazing, my wife said the steak was the best she had ever had. Will visit again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin T
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

Ate here last week, the food was very well cooked and the portions were excellent. Service was good, the atmosphere is warm and inviting, I would definitely come back here to eat again. My two nieces who are vegetarian had battered halloumi and chips, and enjoyed theirs, my sister had fish and chips , and couldn't eat all hers, there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jill190872
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2016

Went with my mum and sister for week day lunch. Staff were really friendly, gorgeous pub with lots of history. Our food was first class, and the puddings really nicely presented. So good we have booked for christmas day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane N
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We are lucky to live within a mile of this lovely old pub, and are regular visitors. We recently took some French friends there for dinner, and they were very impressed. As they have recently retired from their Chateau hotel in Normandy, it was gratifying that they enjoyed themselves so much!! They all chose fish and chips, which were excellent,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jojonagle1943
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
10.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
347 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
362 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
168 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A thatched 16th century traditional country inn located in the picturesque village of Marnhull & right in the heart of Thomas Hardy country! Steeped in history, with beautiful Dorset scenery, a warm welcoming atmosphere, luxury accommodation, award winning Dorset brewed Hall & Woodhouse Badger ales & great home cooked food served all day! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Crown Road | Marnhull, Sturminster Newton DT10 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Price Range: $91 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Sturminster Newton, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Crown Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
somerset
over a year ago
Ross on Wye
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms face onto a fairly quiet country road but our room was double glazed so the noise was minimum,”
 of 5 bubbles saundersa32, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a fan on hot nights.”
 of 5 bubbles edsjab, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem good - but beware of road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles RedCompliance11, May 29, 2016 | Read review
“Not applicable in my case”
 of 5 bubbles thomasw408, Mar 15, 2016 | Read review
“Can't comment, but eat there on a Sunday lunch”
 of 5 bubbles Pancho897, Jan 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay