We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Hotel

34 East Street, Bridport DT6 3LF England
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
SAVE $12
Free cancellation until 12/12/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
View Deal
SAVE $12
Free cancellation until 12/12/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (128)
Room & Suite (95)
Dining (19)


#6 of 9 hotels in Bridport
Travelers' Choice

See why so many travelers make The Bull Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Bridport. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a quaint setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Rooms at The Bull Hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Room service, baggage storage, and newspaper are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. Breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Bull Hotel, free parking is available.

While in Bridport be sure to experience local surf and turf favorites at The West Bay Hotel.

If you are interested in exploring Bridport, check out a history museum, such as Bridport Museum.

At The Bull Hotel, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Bridport.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Room service
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French
1,158Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 681
  • 293
  • 105
  • 52
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SB01 wrote a review Oct 2020
Krakow, Poland579 contributions298 helpful votes
The Bull is a former coaching house, refurbished a number of years ago and recently added to the Fuller's chain. The interior is slightly shabby chic/quirky, with fireplaces in bathrooms, striking artwork, stripped floors, etc. I suspect the owners have one eye on the travelling London set, as smashed avocado and London porter smoked salmon not being found on all local menus! The bedroom was quite nicely appointed, with a Nespresso machine, a small writing table, good toileteries and an outsize TV. The bed, towels and linens were good quality. Very nice breakfast with good quality ingredients. The servers were very friendly and efficient. Even with the current restrictions on socialising, it was quite noisy, possibly due to my sash window not closing perfectly, so I had a slightly disturbed nights sleep. In the current Covid times, I was surprised not to be temperature checked, as I have been at other hotels. There were also quite a lot of people, guests, not wearing masks, including one large group in the hotels reception area. This could be tightened up a bit, IMO.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Tony B wrote a review Oct 2020
Wokingham, United Kingdom1,824 contributions266 helpful votes
We phoned on the Sunday night and managed to get rooms for the Monday and Tuesday which was fortunate in these times of staycation. It was a nice place, very covid aware and lots of pleasant staff. The rooms were clean, we had room 106 which has the 2 bunk beds in an adjacent room as I believe it was the last room available. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choices (apart from the only yoghurt they had was coconut yoghurt which was a bit strange). And it was bang in the middle of town in the high street.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from The Bull Hotel Bridport, Owner at The Bull Hotel
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Read more
Leslane75 wrote a review Oct 2020
Harrogate, United Kingdom80 contributions48 helpful votes
My wife and I booked a night here this week. On the website the rooms look fantastic. So I booked a classic kings room. Price on the websites is £145 but because I was booking direct they gave me a discount quoting £123.50. Our room was fairly small, nothing like the snazzy rooms shown on their website. Not particularly clean. Good shower room and towels. But certainly not worth £145. We went down to dinner and they would only let us sit in the bar. We saw Plaice on a specials board, but were told that was not available. So from another specials board we ordered Pheasant Stew, only to be told again that wasn’t available. The remaining choices were not very interesting but we ordered something. It was OK but not what we expected. The staff were very good and I felt sorry for the waitress who was embarrassed at having to keep coming back and telling me they hadn’t got any. The day after we came home I emailed them and complained. The reception emailed back and said she would pass it on to the manager. That was Wednesday and it’s now Friday night and no response. Not very good. We won’t be back and can’t recommend that you do either.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from The Bull Hotel Bridport, Owner at The Bull Hotel
Responded Oct 16, 2020
Dear LesL330, I'm very disappointed to read your comments and very sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us. A lot of effort does go in to producing the services we offer here so it's always disheartening to read such comments. The pictures on our website are a sample of our rooms taken by a professional photographer so they are by no means meant to deceive our guests. I believe our manager has been in touch now and hope you are happy with the resolution put forward and hopefully in light of this we may just see you again sometime soon. Kind regards, Mike Gates Deputy Manager
Read more
Shangri-lada wrote a review Oct 2020
solihull514 contributions104 helpful votes
I booked a Deluxe room as we wanted to stay with our dog. Each room has a different decor and while most rooms in the photos looked interesting in their design, some even with roll top baths in the bedroom and original fireplaces, the dog friendly room looked a bit dark and bland. Luckily I was pleasantly surprised on check in. The room was spacious with a huge bed and a big bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower. Lovely toiletries, a handy Dyson fan and fluffy towels. The bath could have done with a shower head though as I had to rinse my hair under the tap but it wasn’t a major issue. The room led onto a pretty courtyard and we enjoyed a few drinks out here as there were heaters. We ate in the bar area and it was atmospheric and the food was lovely. The townhouse feel of the hotel and the candles/dim lighting was exactly what I’d hoped for. Really enjoyed our meal in here. Breakfast was great and service was brilliant for both meals. All in all the stay was great, but a few things have stopped this from being the perfect stay: The room was expensive. I’m more than prepared to pay for a nice room but the price was close to, if not more than, a great hotel room in London. We also paid £30 extra to take the dog and he didn’t even get so much as a dog treat left for him. Most hotels these days look after their furry guests too, especially when paying that price per night so I did expect something. I was also disappointed that on check in I asked to pay cash for the room. I was told that this would be fine but a credit card was still required to go against the room-perfectly fine, so we could charge drinks and dinner to the room etc. On check out, I learned they’d charged my card with the room rate. It was the same receptionist that had checked us in and that I’d spoken to originally about paying cash but she really wasn’t taking any responsibility for the error and wouldn’t refund the room so I could pay cash despite it being their mistake. Not a great end to the stay which was a shame. We enjoyed our night here but I’m not sure I’d stay again as I feel it is overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from The Bull Hotel Bridport, Owner at The Bull Hotel
Responded Oct 16, 2020
Dear Shangri-lada, Thank you for your kind comments and honest review of our establishment. I'm glad that we hit the mark for the most part from site level. Your feedback about the pooch not getting any treats will certainly be looked at! We're sorry about the mess up on reception. This will all be fed back to the team and further training given and i can assure you all feedback is regularly reviewed at site level and by head office and your comments about the price of the stay will be taken in to consideration. After all especially in todays financial climate it's all about striking that balance. We do hope you would reconsider staying with us again next time your in the area as we would love to welcome you back! Kind regards, Mike Gates Deputy Manager
Read more
Louise J wrote a review Oct 2020
Derbyshire31 contributions11 helpful votes
Having read the reviews and looked at the website we were really looking forward to staying her. Staff a bit officious but more to do with relating the Covid rules , otherwise all pleasant and helpful BUT the room ( meant to be one of the best ) was dire. On the front so really noisy all night, rattling windows added to the cacophony. Lighting so bad that could not even spend the waking hours reading. The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows like concrete. Very tired bedding. Tatty room. Food incredibly mass produced and unpleasant. Even the biscuits in our room were stale . Checked out after one night..... staff very pleasant but unsurprised and refunded my second night
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from The Bull Hotel Bridport, Owner at The Bull Hotel
Responded Oct 8, 2020
We are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We will of course investigate the issues you mention as this is certainly not our usual standard. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. Kind regards
Read more
$110 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
bull hotel bridport
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBridport
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bull Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bull Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bridport Museum (0.09 miles), Bridport Market (0.06 miles), and Electric Palace (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bull Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Bull Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bull Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bull Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Green Yard Cafe, Olive Tree, and Aroma Cafe.
Is The Bull Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the center of Bridport.
Does The Bull Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Bull Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bull Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mapperton House & Gardens (4.8 miles), OLD HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, Bothenhampton (0.8 miles), and Chardsmead Baptist Church (0.3 miles).