We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The 17th Century Hotel & Function Venue

About

#17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Tiverton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to The 17th Century Hotel & Function Venue. Overlooking the Blackdown Hills, The 17th Century Hotel & Function Venue is a hotel and restaurant reputed to have been built in 1644. Previously known as “The Poachers Pocket”, it is located in Tiverton, Devon, on the A38 South-West of Wellington, and is within easy reach of the M5 junctions 26 and 27, the A361 North Devon link road, and Tiverton Parkway Railway Station. We have 8 beautiful bedrooms including single, twin, double and family rooms. All rooms come with free Wi-Fi access, tea and coffee making facilities, and a private bathroom. Our hotel offers two lovely function and event spaces, the larger of the two has its own bar making it the perfect choice for your special celebration. We offer free Wi-Fi and can cater for up to 50 seated and up to 100 for buffets. Our cosy hotel is the perfect base tourists. Close to popular landmarks such as Knighthayes Court and Tiverton Castle and ideal for exploring Exmoor, Dartmoor a
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Internet
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
79Reviews
3Q+A
23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 41
  • 19
  • 7
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed one night on the 4th May 2019, it is clean but rather basic, which we expected, although with such a name as "17th century hotel" it could benefit with a little more effort to add some character. The hotel is advertised as having a restaurant, however when we came for dinner were told by the owner that is wife wasn't well so no food, ( another client was seen a little later complaining about the same issue). The following morning we went for breakfast at 9.40 only to be told by the same gentleman that it had finished at 9.30 ( no previous information was given nor was it displayed anywhere) and that they were not aware that we wanted some, this despite the fact that we made the reservation the evening before directly with him for B/B and were quoted the rate of £75. There was no apology or even an offer to make something considering that the place is in the middle of nowhere and you can't just go around the corner and find a coffe shop. That is not the way to treat nor attract clients, so will not return nor can we recommend it, would however suggest that the owners try to improve their service.
Read more
Response from Leonora G, Owner at The 17th Century Hotel & Function Venue
Responded May 17, 2019
Thank you for the review. I think there may have been a misunderstanding with what was booked; I advised the person who made the booking on your behalf of the room-only rate and breakfast charges but we didn't know for certain whether or not you would want breakfast. There is a notice in your room advising meal times with breakfast served from 8am to 9am although we serve until 9.30am on weekends. As you didn't turn up until 9.47 we naturally assumed you didn't want breakfast and subsequently cleared-up. You were charged the room-only rate of £55. The majority of our hotel bookings are room-only! I'm sorry my wife was ill and we weren't serving food that evening. There are numerous restaurants and service-stations within 5-10 minutes' drive so this isn't a major issue. We do not put our business interests before health, particularly where food is concerned. Due to personal (health-related) circumstances we have recently closed the restaurant and will be catering for larger pre-booked functions only for the next few months. These changes are starting to appear on the internet. Regards, Graham
Read more
I stayed over the Easter weekend as 2 cousins and myself were doing a skydive local to the hotel with our families, all 13 of us!! It’s a lovely hotel, the owners are very friendly and very accommodating. The rooms were comfortable, not all en-suite but all have their own bathrooms, even if they are down the corridor. Decor was ok to me and the beds were comfortable. We only had breakfast there on one morning, which was a full English and is was as we expected it. Because the owners were so friendly and approachable we’d probably stay there again
Read more
We enjoyed a very pleasant Sunday roast here today – I'm veggie and therefore pleased to have a choice on the menu (there are several veggie and vegan options – I had the nut roast) while my husband and kids had a meat roast. Good portions of food. It's not fine cuisine but it is good home-cooked fodder delivered with a smile.
Read more
Good sized room with hot shower and comfy bed. great evening meal- i had Ham, egg and chips- huge portion of ham, my collegue had home made lasagne also a generous portion- both meals very well presented and cooked. We needed an early start and the hosts where happy to accomodate us. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it.
Read more
We have never been treated the way this place treated us we came here for a relaxing break , on arrival there was no one to greet us after after 5 mins a women turned up look stressed and showed us to our room which was up 2 flights of stairs room was very basic bathroom was tiny shower water had no pressure and clearly not clean, didn’t want to say anything as we were booked in for the night but by now regretting it. We were told the owners hadn’t long taken over so we let the condition of the place slide , we ordered drinks no conversation from the member of staff or asked if our room was ok, we tried to order food to be told we would after wait and the menu was poor we struggled to order, we settled on the steak asked for medium rare sat in what can only be described as the bar not a restaurant, meal arrived steak was tough meals were cold women didn’t even speak to us just put plates down and went. We ended up driving to Exeter to eat just went back to sleep next morning breakfast was cereal yogurt toast 1 choice of fruit again no one around to ask for a real cooked breakfast I warn anyone to avoid this place unprofessional people just making money out of us by not providing what was advertised. Place needs closing down and complete refurbishedment and new owners to take over, it’s also on the the busy A38
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTiverton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing