We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thurlestone Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

511 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 511: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Thurlestone is expensive, however the price matches the faultless personal service. It really was excellent! As it was so expensive I felt the rooms could have been better appointed, although to be fair it seems churlish to be too critical, the service really was that good. The spa was very good and enjoyably quiet the week before Christmas. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter W I am very pleased to hear how well our staff looked after you during your stay and our Spa staff will be delighted with your wife's comments about the treatments. We hope to see you both again soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed as an (adult) family during "Twixmas" - in between Christmas and New Year - taking advantage of the lower rates. This isn't our first visit. We used to come to Thurlestone every year when I was a child - along with my grandmother, aunt, uncle and cousins - and we're starting up the tradition again as I came...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johanna E
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johanna E Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your Twixmas break. We look forward to seeing you again at the end of 2017, if not before! Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the sun, was shining and we had been given a table by the window. The view was amazing. The presentation of the food was excellent - as they say you 'eat with your eyes' and we were not disappointed. The 3 -course meal was delicious. Coffee and petite fours in the lounge afterwards was a bonus. On the downside -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet C I am sorry your first impression of the Thurlestone coincided with the return of our guests from the annual Boxing Day walk, but I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed an 'excellent' lunch in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent restaurant with a French quisine feel. Beautiful presentation and really tasty. Staff were very attentive. Ask for a table by the window if possible.local friends eat there more often and recommended it to us. We were not disappointed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary G
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hilary G Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your Christmas Lunch at the Thurlestone. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

beautiful hotel loved it there we stayed 16 and 17th of december the staff were very attentive , on saturday they had a christmas party for the golfers, so our evening meal was very rushed , we just finished eating our starters when the main meal came out somebody on a differant table ask what the meal was and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda G I am pleased you enjoyed your stay but was very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal one evening, thank you for taking the time to let us know. I do hope you will visit us again and please contact me directly so that I can ensure your dining experience is more pleasurable next...

Bristol, UK
Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

A group of us visited for a birthday celebration with a wide range of ages. Our bedroom was facing the back of the hotel, and was very comfortable and a reasonable size. Bathroom was large for a hotel room, slightly dated but ok, and everything was spotlessly clean. Loved the little Christmas decoration touches in the room and on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanBristol
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JanBristol Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

As a group of 12 friends we get together every year for a Xmas meal. This year as a change we decided to travel a bit further and add an overnight stay, what a great decision. On arrival we had lunch in the pub attached which was very tasty and well presented, the device was very good and friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark B
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B I am delighted you and your friends ‘discovered’ the Thurlestone and enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2016

We were treated to afternoon tea at this stunning hotel. We were shown into a large airy lounge which had recently been completely refurbished and had amazing views. The service was second to none. The tea presented on a 3-tier stand consisted of a variety of finger sandwiches; freshly made scones with home-made jam and clotted cream and a selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deputy2014
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear deputy2014 I am delighted you enjoyed your afternoon tea and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

Dated clientele but a nice room. Had afternoon tea. Service fab. Tea slightly disappointing in a sense that the cakes were not very nice. Someone in the kitchen tried to be too clever and would have been happy with some French fancies! Would rather have had more sandwiches and scones which were very good. This place does so many things...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AH1969
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AH1969 I am delighted that you found the service to be good and overall enjoyed your afternoon tea. Sorry that you found our clientele to be dated, however given time we shall all become so! Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 17, 2016

20 plus of us went for a dear friends 70th birthday bash over three days and what a fabulous time we had. The hotel is spacious and airy with glorious unspoilt views. The food is star worthy, wonderful breakfasts and gourmet dinners. The spar is superb and there are some cabinets of jewellery etc for us shopaholics. But best of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandy R Thank you for such a ‘glowing’ review, especially regarding your waitress Ruth, who will be delighted with your remarks! I am very pleased to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

432 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (146)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (275)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Double Room (Changeable to Twin or Family) (37)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Seaview Balcony Double or Family Room (40)
Viewed
Seaview Balcony Double Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurlestone
4.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
703 reviews
4.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Thurlestone Hotel

Address: Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Thurlestone
Price Range: $199 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thurlestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurlestone Hotel Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Thurlestone Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Thurlestone Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Sea view a must!”
 of 5 bubbles peterwO2241CB, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“we were not staying at the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 171JanetC, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“sea view with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles G3278ETlindag, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Front rooms have lovely views across the bay but back rooms are still good but less expensive”
 of 5 bubbles P3766FFeric, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“The sea view rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles 627jonnys, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay