We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Highwayman Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sourton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 194: English reviews
Hayle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Parking was easy (time of year). Friendliest and most welcoming greeting from Bruce and Sally both of whom made every effort to make our stay a pleasant one. Couldn't do enough for us. The room was warm, comfortable and well decorated with well appointed en-suite with a bath. Personally The four poster bed took some getting used to. Tea coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Hayle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 2 night as a surprise for our anniversary. Bruce & Sally are both very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the Angel room which has just been refurbished , it has en -suite with a lovely free standing bath. This was the first time I've slept in a four poster which was fun. we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Found this pub by chance whilst down here working. What a fantastic place and Bruce and Sally are very welcoming. I wish I'd have had more time but I will certainly be back soon. A fascinating place!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaunw61
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Shaun. Look forward to seeing you and your wife in the not too distant future. You were a joy ro meet and a pleasure to talk to. Keep flying the musical flag.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed once in the Victorian Room the second time in The Angel room. We got spooked in the Victorian room it was great. My clothing was moved. So exciting. The food was excellent. THe hosts were brilliant. Wacky place and had a very enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette S
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Oooh clothes moved! Yes the Victorian is known for that sort of odd occurance. Shoes have been moved and we even have a picture of a possible sighting. Check out Jason Karl's book 21st Century Ghosts (9781845375379). There you will see a picture of the figure of a lady in that room taken by chance by a guest. Pity I...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have driven past so many times - on route to visit family- and alwats said 'we'll have t go there one day - it looks very unusual!'. Well we weren't disappointed - the inside is very different and you see something unusual in every part of the pub. Its incredible as you are constantly distracted by something else you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire71
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Yes you are right the pie would be better in a dish and I have told Bruce. He will look into doing it differently. Thanks for liking the place and being kindly critical. We hope to see you again and hopefully chatting in person.

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just want to say what a lovely night away for a Christmas and birthday present. Such a facinating place, lots to see. Stayed in the Angel room, perfect for a romanic night away. After a few phone calls Bruce was amazing in making our night special, cooked a perfect meal for the two of us in the amazing dining area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leannemcphail39
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Hi you two. Thanks for your lovely words of appreciation. You were a great couple and really mingled in well with our Saturday night locals. It is nice when that happens. Look forward to seeing you both again and us all drinking that funny drink that Bruce loves!

England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As so many have said, this is a really interesting place, in particular the galleon bar is really quite amazing. Sadly, we weren't able to sit in the galleon bar as it is reserved for residents. We ate there on a whim on a Sunday, and were disappointed that the menu is limited to old fashioned (ie 1980s) pub fare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wentworth1
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

I accept your criticisms of the inn and have taken on board your suggestions. I would like to say though that we were actually quite busy on Sunday the 8th and with a lot of food. The reason why we dont do Sunday lunches is twofold really. Firstly, everybody does them and some for little profit just to simply get...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time we have spent an evening here, this time with family. Do not pass without a visit. The owners are very friendly and there is not an inch of the pub that doesn't merit a peek. Love it !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for enjoying the inn and indeed coming back. We love you two too!

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

What an amazing and interesting pub. It has so many interesting rooms and nooks and crannies. Ladies must use the ladies loo, it's an experience in itself! We had lunch which was perfectly edible standard pub grub, the puddings were typical but lovely. The landlord and Landlady were friendly and their little dog, Monty, was a real cutie. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hippychick1958
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you hippychick 1958. Glad you had a good time. You were a pleasure to have here. Best Wishes and hope to see you again.xxx SallyT

Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

Recommended as somewhere to park up in our motorhome when we were visiting the area. And enjoys the accolade of the most interesting pub in Britain. It is! Visit when you can. You won't be disappointed. We're already working out when we can come back. It's unique and fascinating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baggyanddebs
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Glad you werent disappointed. You are always welcome to park up. I am wondering if you are the couple that went to the zoo! Best Wishes if yeah or neah on that one. Hope to see you again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sourton
4.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
7.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
362 reviews
13.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bearslake Inn
Bearslake Inn
#2 of 26 in Okehampton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The highwayman is considered England's most unusual inn. It is filled with eclectic curiosities and artefacts housed in a tasteful surreal and atmospheric setting. Nestling on the edge of Dartmoor it provides. A romantic and interesting environment to enjoy simple lunchtime fare or a more sophisticalted evening menu for residents that encompasses lobster and steak dishes. Three four poster rooms with ensuites and more practical cabin boat rooms suitable for cyclists and walkers exploring the area on foot or bike are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Highwayman Inn

Address: Okehampton | Devon, Sourton EX20 4HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sourton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Highwayman Inn Sourton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Highwayman Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Highwayman Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“all appear good”
 of 5 bubbles markrF4220FL, 1 week ago | Read review
“Go for the Victorian Room if you want something unusual to happen.”
 of 5 bubbles 262bernadettes, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles FREDBENTON, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“Minimal rooms, but all feel as if you're stepping back into time. Wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyElinca, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are furnished with antiques. The Angel room has a slipper bath”
 of 5 bubbles RogerB85, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question