We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ness

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Ness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 220: English reviews
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for one night in November with our dog. The Ness was amazing we stayed in one of the standard dog friendly rooms which was beautiful and massive with views of the sea. The bed was beautiful and by far the best I've ever slept on I'd love to know where I can get that mattress from! We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Broabs
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon.

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

"wow!" barely does this justice... Recommended by friends, it didn't disappoint. Great hotel, luxurious rooms, friendly and attentive staff throughout, wonderful location. Roaring open fire after a cold day walking, and good food in the restaurant. And the views across the estuary - from our table and bedroom (and the bath...) If you ever get the chance - do!!! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kennewick, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Ness was recommended to me from several business colleagues. A long awaited get away. We arrived late morning on Saturday 5th November (wish we had booked Monday from work, we WOULD have spent another night). Driving through the village towards the Ness sent the excitement through the roof. We don't live near the ocean or beaches. On reaching The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank radarmountain2006
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Wow - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have stayed at The Ness a few times and last year had a week there for our honeymoon - this year we returned for our 1st Anniversary - The Ness is a stunning place to stay with gorgeous views everywhere. We have stayed in quite a few of the rooms - all clean and tidy and beds are made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2016

This restaurant has a great view and on we went there on the basis of other reviews. My partner had the Sunday Roast (£10.99) and I had the Lamb Shank (£16.00) The order was taken quickly and the food was arrived promptly. There was a good selection of vegetables but my roast potatoes were very hard (almost impossible to cut)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

My first visit to The Ness was with my daughter and her partner. We had a very good lunch of a variety of sandwiches, mine was egg and cress with fries.Excellent with a good red wine. There was a very good choice of dessert. We were so impressed we booked for Christmas Eve and Sunday lunch next week. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverley Thomad H
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Could only stay one night,great place with fantastic views.food is good quality and cooked well.the bedroom was very good and comfy with lots of nice touches like different types of tea,coffee and hot chocolate and shortbread.would not hesitate to stay and eat again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blackgreyhound
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

Been here a few times, the location is great, brilliant for drinks. The food can be hit and miss depending on what you order but overall it's fairly good. It gets pretty busy in the summer so be prepared to wait.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandralooloo
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

Went to The Ness for a meal . We were very impressed with the location . From the moment we went till we left the staff were very attentive &cheerful & the meal we ordered was delicious can't fault The Ness in any way . Definitely go there again !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

Eight of us went to the pub on recommendation tonight. A lovely pub with beautiful views but the food was very disappointing. Camembert to start,two portions had to go back as was barely warmed and thick. It can back, obviously microwaved wasn't much better. All main courses were mediocre. One of the meals were not paid for due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne K
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the House name and date of visit and email us at: anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.4 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 89 in Torquay
410 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms

Additional Information about The Ness

Address: Ness Drive | Nr Teignmouth, Shaldon TQ14 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Price Range: $94 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ness Shaldon, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Ness staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cotswolds

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Ness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles radarmountain2006, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Seaview is a must”
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
  • View from room
 of 5 bubbles Snoopydoopydoo, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“Sea view with a balcony would be our preference next time.”
 of 5 bubbles KatieDerby, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“The main building has superior rooms and splendid views from the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles michalew2015, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the annexe are more spacious and room number 8 is on the ground floor so would be better for people that cannot manage steps”
 of 5 bubbles Gloria082, Sep 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay