We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Arundell Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hotel website
Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Special Rate
Dine and Stay Offer
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arundell Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 393: English reviews
Stevenage
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this hotel with my 2 dogs. The hotel is wonderful, very pretty, clean and the staff are fantastic. We arrived quiet late and they were kind enough to keep the restaurant open for a meal. What was great, the dogs were provided with beds, bowls and a treat pack, which I thought was such a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank ewakbbc1
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that you enjoyed what we do so much. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Adam More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I located this hotel when searching for a fly fishing teaching weekend. So dealing with the good bits first, the course was excellent, entirely as a result of the two teachers whose enthusiasm and knowledge made me want to come back. They are the stars of the show here. The food at the hotel was also excellent. The down side... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhod J
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife, son and I stayed at the Arundell for 2 nights. We cannot fault the Arundell - every aspect of our stay was good. Our bedrooms were well appointed; breakfasts were excellent; and dinner was one of the best we've had in the UK. Our fly-fishing mad son loved his day on the Rivers Thrushell and Wolf. We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gregspray5
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gregspray5, Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you and your son enjoyed your fishing break with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Adam More 

Beverley
Level Contributor
206 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Had a one night stay here on business. Must admit I was worried when given room on main road as I am not used to road noise but when I enquirer advised hotel full and road quiet on an evening. This proved to be correct. Room spacious and bed comfortable. Breakfast good choice. Nice walks around the village for which... More 

Helpful?
Thank RandGP
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this pleasant inn but were allocated a terrible room, hence only one star. They have a cottage, separate from the hotel, across the road, with a few rooms. Our room C2 was a ridicule matchbox size, we had to put our belongings on the floor (including on the bathroom floor) The nightly charge was a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pia D
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pia D, I am glad that your husband enjoyed his fishing tuition with us and that you found our hotel to be "pleasant". Obviously I am sorry that your felt your room was too small. We were busy at the weekend as you probably realised and this was one of the last twin rooms that we had available. All... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Excellent Sunday lunch. A hot day but the restaurant was cool and airy. The service was excellent and the fish dish on the menu beautifully cooked with a good range of accompanying sauces. Desert was sublime and the cheeseboard fulsome. Coffee was served with tasty chocolates. A good choice for those driving an electric car as we do. They have... More 

Helpful?
Thank UpcottHse
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear UpcottHse Thank for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your lunch. Being a warm sunny day, your electric car was recharged by our PV panels and so your power came with no carbon footprint at all - how green is that? Adam More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

If you are looking for a quiet weekend retreat with outstanding service and superb food look no further. The prices reflect the quality here the food was just exquisite and the rooms well equipped with fluffy towels,bathrobes,toiletries,hairdryer and a lovely comfy bed. The staff were outstanding .

Helpful?
Thank karenrhoades
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear karenrhoades, Thank you for your kind review. It is great to have feedback like this. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Adam More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

We visited for lunch one Saturday at the beginning of May, we were a party of six and were given a good table in the window but felt the place lacked atmosphere, mainly because we were the only ones eating in the dining room. We've eaten here several times over the years and whilst at one time we would have... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Maudie43
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Spend a week in the selfcatering cottage of this wonderful hotel. The staff of the hotel and both fishing guides/fly fishing teachers are most helpfull and friendly. The Chef and his team prepare delicious meals and the entourage of the whole complex breathes fly fishing history alhough this is not just a fishermans hotel. We had a great stay and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hanselaar
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hanselaar It was a pleasure meeting you. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Adam More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Roaring fires, snuggly sofas, delicious food, hard working friendly staff, hunting, shooting, fishing and an owner who mucks in with everyone else. Hopefully one day I will visit gain. A fine hotel indeed!

Helpful?
Thank _sheryl_runacres
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you enjoyed all that we do. Come back and see us again soon Adam (The owner who mucks in with everyone!) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
4.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
18.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
8.1 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Address: Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Price Range: $181 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay