We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 396: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Start with the positive, food very good, as is the service. Lounge tastefully decorated, as is the dining area. Room awful, mattresses the most uncomfortable I've slept (fitfully) on! In desperate need of cleaning/ decorating and the furniture sticky and old. The sister hotel across the road much better value all round.

Helpful?
Thank traveljak2016
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am not sure if your title was meant offend or be funny but it is not helpful. I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Best of luck with your future travels. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Middlesex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked a half-board deal which was not cheap but given the location and TripAdvisor ratings, we had high expectations. Reception, lounge and dining areas are fine but the bed in our room was lumpy and the toilet seat was broken - just slid off and landed on the floor as I lifted the lid. - this was not addressed during... More 

Helpful?
Thank Migwin
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us. I will investigate your comments with the relevant Department Heads and action if needed. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was once an icon of elegance in Exmouth. Not so now. Stayed for one night and found it to be overpriced for a tired hotel with no leisure facilities. The only thing in the hotel's favour was the location. My heart sank when we were checked in by the painter/handyman !!! This was our last hotel stay in... More 

Helpful?
Thank rose y
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rose, Let me first say that you were not checked in by the painter! As you put it. You and your partner arrived 3 hours earlier than the check in time and my Maintenance Manager kindly registered you and informed you to come back at 3 for your key so you could enjoy the day in Exmouth. I do... More 

Coulsdon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A lovely comfortable hotel surrounded by huge gardens. Right across the road from the beach and next to Manor Gardens this is in the ideal sunny spot to enjoy the best of Exmouth. We had a sea view room with a balcony which is def worth booking for the panoramic outlook. The staff were really friendly, rooms clean and breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuzieParsons
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suzie, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 night weekend. Lovely sea view room with a balcony (Room 122). Weather was fab which made weekend more enjoyable. Hotel was better than expected. Food was good, room was very nice but bed was a bit uncomfortable as sagged in places. Went for a lovely walk yesterday - found Lympstone village having their Ferry Dance event.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank HilaryAM
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hilary, Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you felt the mattress was not up to standard. It was brand new 4 months ago but I will certainly check it with Housekeeping. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled with shearings hols and this hotel is the best out of the many we have visited. Rooms excellent. Staff friendly. Food very good and a beautiful dining room. Only fault was the lack of entertainment . Fabulous location on seafront with gardens and decking to sit in and enjoy the view.

Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Pauline, Thank you for the review. I hope you come to see us again soon. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in an ideal central location right on the sea front. Our seview room was very nice. The restaurant overall was poor. We did not like having to book a time slot every evening for our meal. No flexibility and if you wanted to eat between 6.30 and 7.00 then you needed to book 24 hours in advance.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lindaoctober7
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for your feedback. There are time slots every 15 minutes from 6pm to 8pm Monday to Friday and 6.30pm to 8.30pm Friday to Monday for seating which include 6.45pm so I am not sure why you thought we didn't offer good enough flexibility. While I appreciate the food was not to your taste, it is hard... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for a three night break and found the staff,food and especially the location excellent. We would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and would consider a return but it is a long drive from home.

Helpful?
Thank hartland190735
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hartland, Thank you for the brilliant review. If you do make the journey again, please feel free to pop and see us. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our previous stay at the Imperial hotel so much we decided to return for a second visit, Most of the good points still remain. great location, big grounds, a nice room with a sea view and an exemplay bathroom. Also mid range value for money. Our issue this time was a meals. The evening meal:. We had no... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaH1953
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma, While it is usual to display Menu's at breakfast, we were currently in the transition of changing from plated service to buffet. We will be using Menu's do are waiting from them to be printed and returned to us. All other comments I will look into. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Second visit to this hotel, stopped last year. Still nice hotel, food was actually better than last year, Staff very good. Room good, housekeeping could use a duster on the lampshades and should inspect quilt covers for rips, mine had a rip in one corner. Made no difference to my comfort or sleep but just a first impression . Hotel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank keithrob07
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith, I am please that you have taken your time to write a review on us. I will investigate with Housekeeping with comment you have raised. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
2.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Address: The Imperial Hotel Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $128 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay