We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 403: English reviews
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Went to stay for a relaxing week after having to cancel a European break due to a road accident. Lovely setting on the front. Superior sea view room with a balcony. Very spacious room with large bathroom but the shower was very slow. Faded glory decor but very clean. Housekeeping staff lovely. Very senior age group guests. Slow pace suited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Polly B
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Polly, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Premier next door but had afternoon Tea which was delicious, homemade cakes etc. They also sold Pimms and cocktails. The service was fabulous with lovely seating, space for children to run about in and a vies. It was very classy and should we go back to Exmouth I'd like to stay there

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte, Thank you for your kind words. I hope next time you stay in Exmouth, even if not with us, you'll come back and visit. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was lovely (premier one) plenty of space, balcony looking out to the sea and comfy bed. Meals could not be faulted. Staff efficient and friendly. Especially Sorin who encouraged our young son to try new foods. Exmouth itself is a lovely place with many beautiful harbours nearby. Well worth... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lizamck
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I am please to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Luke Binks More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I spent a night here for business. The room was in desperate need of refurbishment. There was mould everywhere. Fittings were broken. Cheap loo roll. Even cheaper towels. The breakfast was average. The only positive were the staff. Please, please, please spend some money on the hotel - it could be lovely.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr C
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Sturdy, I have only just received your complaint letter/email on my desk this morning. I am sorry to see that your stay left you no other option but to post a review and as the same time, write a letter/email of complain. I will be investigating with my Housekeeping team on the poor cleanliness as this is not... More 

Berkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a very nice holiday in July. We had a superior room which was very large overlooking the sea - room 206..One problem was it was so difficult to open the patio door onto the balcony. I found it impossible and my husband had great difficulty in opening it so we were not able to enjoy the balcony as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunny078
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I apologise if you experienced some issues with your patio door during your stay. I have checked over the door in question with the maintenance manager and have found no issues with the way it operates. The doors are however quite heavy on the 2nd old floor as they are tough 10mm glass... More 

Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived at the Imperial, we were greeted by a sea view and within a moments walk to the beach. Our rooms were clean and well appointed although the bath was rather small! Dinner was an experience however. My daughter and Mum are both vegetarian so thought they would have a selection of various vegetarian options. They decided to... More 

Helpful?
Thank fudgeBerkshire
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you feel our new style and new way of serving breakfast was not to your standard. This is the same service in all Coast and Country hotels and the same for the industry and the way it is progressing. I am not sure why you found finding something to eat at breakfast difficult as... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The beds are very soft. Fine if you like that kind of thing but they are cheap and should have been replaced with better ones last time they were replaced. The HOT/COLD water problem is terrible. Doesn't matter what time of day you have a shower it will suddenly go from scorching hot to freezing cold, to scorching hot to... More 

Helpful?
Thank James C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Start with the positive, food very good, as is the service. Lounge tastefully decorated, as is the dining area. Room awful, mattresses the most uncomfortable I've slept (fitfully) on! In desperate need of cleaning/ decorating and the furniture sticky and old. The sister hotel across the road much better value all round.

Helpful?
Thank traveljak2016
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am not sure if your title was meant offend or be funny but it is not helpful. I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Best of luck with your future travels. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Middlesex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

Booked a half-board deal which was not cheap but given the location and TripAdvisor ratings, we had high expectations. Reception, lounge and dining areas are fine but the bed in our room was lumpy and the toilet seat was broken - just slid off and landed on the floor as I lifted the lid. - this was not addressed during... More 

Helpful?
Thank Migwin
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us. I will investigate your comments with the relevant Department Heads and action if needed. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

This hotel was once an icon of elegance in Exmouth. Not so now. Stayed for one night and found it to be overpriced for a tired hotel with no leisure facilities. The only thing in the hotel's favour was the location. My heart sank when we were checked in by the painter/handyman !!! This was our last hotel stay in... More 

Helpful?
Thank rose y
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rose, Let me first say that you were not checked in by the painter! As you put it. You and your partner arrived 3 hours earlier than the check in time and my Maintenance Manager kindly registered you and informed you to come back at 3 for your key so you could enjoy the day in Exmouth. I do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (145)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
2.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Address: The Imperial Hotel Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $123 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay