We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Beacon Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Beacon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 241: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice little hotel Only one thing is its now looking very tired, I stayed in this hotel back in 2001 and i was very surprised that when i stayed in 2015 and in the same room that nothing had changed, and i mean nothing, it all looked very tired and out dated. But the staff are still very freindly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carl H
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Plus Points: Great location - beach & exploring. Requested sea view room & were not disappointed. Lift & ramp access from rear car park for mobility issues & moving cases was good. Breakfast - excellent [beautifully cooked full English plus delicious other choices & wide variety for buffet]. Wide spirit choice in Bar & chatty, bright delightful barmaid. Wedding perfect... More 

Helpful?
Thank morgano12
UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An easy to find hotel near the sea front which has been a bit ravaged by time. It felt like going back thirty years staying in the place. The carpets are all threadbare and the rooms look very old. No even quaint just old. The hot and cold water are put on back to front. There has clearly been no... More 

Helpful?
Thank HastingsBanda
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HastingsBanda Thank you for providing some valuable feedback after your recent stay at our wonderful sea facing hotel. It was pleasing to read the bed was satisfactory and WiFi was fine too. We do offer a range of excellent value rates and your enjoyment was in our of our recently decorated rooms that has impressive views over the River... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 day's visiting family stayed in courtroom was very clean and comfortable good position for beach and town would stay again small car park was the only problem you can park in the surrounding area if you can find a space

Helpful?
Thank christygee
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chrisygee We're delighted to read you have enjoyed staying at our hotel and chose on of our excellent value courtyard rooms. These are very popular and are enjoyed by many guests. We always share the comments we receive with our team members as it assists in ensuring we maintain our standards. Thank you again, happy travelling and we hope... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fabulous wedding lunch last Saturday - 9th July. Food was amazing, everyone was delighted with their choice and the portions were huge - and that goes for every course. All the staff were very attentive and helpful. You couldn't make a better choice in Exmouth - was brilliant. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heather It's lovely to read you & your guests have enjoyed your recent wedding celebration lunch with us. Thank you for providing this valuable feedback as it only with these remarks, we are able to monitor and maintain our standards. As you have mentioned our hotel hosts many celebrations both larger and smaller, so thank you for choosing our... More 

Stockport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok it's not the most modern of hotels but that's the appeal. Loads of character and It's in a great spot, lovely views, and very friendly and helpful staff. My room was a small double but worth the money paid and a good breakfast First time in Exmouth and if I'm back again I'll be check in again! Thanks

Helpful?
Thank PJM123
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PJM123 It's lovely to read your positive comments, after your recent stay with us. We always pass on these remarks to our staff and we all enjoy looking after our guests, as you have experienced. The hotel dates back over 200 years and is steeped in history. Happy travelling and we look forward to when you call to check... More 

Derby
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is in a splendid situation, being but a few minutes' walk from the town centre, and our room on the first floor had the most wonderful view over the sea towards Torquay and Brixham. Reception was pleasant, but carpets on the stairs were badly worn, the base fabric showing through. Lift was out of order. Bedroom carpet had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank JeremyC485
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy Our hotel will eventually enjoy areas of refurbishment & redecoration, so I am sorry to read of your non-entrancement. As one of our very high numbering guests, who enjoy lovely service, excellent meals and the most exquisite views over the River Exe estuary towards Dawlish Warren, it is not surprising our carpets have become a little worn. We're... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just stayed at the Royal Beacon a great hotel clean beautiful see view Only bad luck for my room the lift had broken down but the staff went out of there way to help us We had a total of 7 rooms We had dinner on the Friday night great food pipping hot Breakfast was wonderful plenty of... More 

Helpful?
Thank P60ppd
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear P60ppd Thanks for your lovely comments and we're delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. You are very correct about the lovely sea views from the front of our hotel. Our staff are always pleased to read when guests have given feedback, so thank you. You will be delighted to learn our lift has be repaired and... More 

Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel looks good on the outside and has an amazing view. The room was spacious and had a big, nice bathroom. The bed was very small and hard, and was way too small for two people. There also was a double duvet... Sharing a small bed and duvet plus lying in a warm room with no aircondition gave no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marte M
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marte Many thanks for your feedback after your recent stay in one of our budget, courtyard rooms. As one of our enchanted guests, we are always delighted to receive comments, as without these, we are unable to monitor and maintain our standards. We receive many favourable comments about our full English breakfast, so please accept my apologies for your... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Room was off the courtyard, paid £118 for two nights, not as advertised, no phone, dirty curtain, stained carpet, beds reasonable, window needs replacing, shower reasonable but shower not fixed to wall properly, shower rusty head, each time someone used a shower or sink or flushed a loo sounded like trapped air in pipes, could hear it from all occupied... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank _ccocks
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ccocks We are grateful for your feedback after your recent stay in one of our extremely popular courtyard rooms. I'm sorry that you did not appreciate that all our budget £59 rooms are located in the courtyard section of the hotel. As one of our enchanted guests we are always pleased to receive comments as it is only with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $76 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay