We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 145: English reviews
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed for 3nights with my daughter and mother. We had a family room, clean and spacious. Would recommend. Please note the Hog and Hedge restaurant closes at 7 in the evening, this caught us out but subway saved the day. The Post Inn was lovely for a drink, you need to book for meals.

Helpful?
Thank Trina P
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here last night with two kids on way back from Cornwall. Super friendly, helpful staff. Clean room with nice sheets. Clean bright bathroom with an actual bath, which my son was very pleased with after only having a shower on holiday. Good restaurant for breakfast next door.

Helpful?
Thank montaguvilla
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was ok for what we wanted it for but as it is a services it gets really busy in high season and parking was a problem and the noise from the people using the services bathroom wasn't very clean and smelt like a dirty toilet smell wasn't one of the best travel lodges we have stayed in

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank missminty2016
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for submitting your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our Okehampton Whiddon Down hotel. We will make the... More 

Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clean and basic accommodation. Good pub food nearby at the Post Inn. Parking can be difficult because it is shared with the services rest stop. I would stay here again if I was in the area and needed a nights sleep.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Englishfilipino
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

We are committed to providing our guests with the best experience possible whilst staying with us and we are pleased to hear of your positive feedback with regards to your stay at Okehampton Whiddon Down Travelodge. We're thrilled to learn your room was clean and comfortable and you found our hotel to be an ideal location for your needs. We... More 

Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had not noticed about the 3pm check in, although the lady on the reception desk was very helpful and found a cleaned room for me for the £10 early check in fee. The room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom clean. I didn't test the shower. The only thing that was odd was that there was no table or second... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Fay L
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are good standard. Clean, tidy and cosy. Bed was very comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep, even though it's right next to the motorway. Both women I spoke to on the reception desk was very pleasant, as was the lady who phone me on the afternoon of our booking. Will not hesitate to use travel lodge... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 253robynm
colchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect hotel if you are travelling around the south coast. A warm welcome upon arrival and spotlessly clean rooms with plenty of space. Great shower facilities. Do drive a little further for food thou as the Hog next door was expensive and extremely busy at all hours.. We ate a wonderful pub in oakhampton only 15 mins away.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank gardening-diva
redditch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a spur of the moment trip down to Devon and after a nightmare trip down the M5 stop start stop start Mike after mile,, I can't tell you how great it was to finally get to the Travellodge, and made even better with the lovely warm welcoming reception we received from Janet on reception,, in my haste with... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank stevehancox
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just another average travel lodge. Not too bad location close enough to the town but would still need a car to get around. Double bed quite comfortable but single beds not comfortable at all. Downfall is how close it is to main road the traffic is bound to wake you up especially in the morning but otherwise not too bad.

Helpful?
Thank leebo90
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for your invaluable feedback with regards to our Okehampton Whiddon Down Travelodge hotel. We are sorry to learn that external noise has affected the comfort of your stay. We are sincerely sorry that on this occasion you did not receive the best experience possible. Thank you again for writing your review and we hope you stay with us... More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Didn't expect the Ritz, but was way below expectations, car park was crammed full of holiday makers parked all over the car park, some with caravans (what the ****!) at one stage a van was abandoned by the front door after breaking down, so parking almost impossible during the day, nobody seems to be responsible for anything, room hot &... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rod H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
9.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
2.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.8 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
6.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Okehampton
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

Address: A30, Whiddon Down,, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 2QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Price Range: $65 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down Hotel Okehampton
Travel Lodge Okehampton
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down Devon, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay