We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel it is very quiet well located to the A30 the staff are very friendly and helpful. It has a restaurant next door called the Hog and Hedge and also has a petrol station with a Costa on the go and a sit down subway well located for Castle Drogo lovely place but the road... More 

Helpful?
Thank bend509
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide a positive experience and this why we're happy to hear your found our hotel well located and encountered very friendly, helpful staff members. We’ll be happy to provide your comments to the hotel as this is the best way to help give the best service possible to our guests and we... More 

cornwall
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

three friends visiting for 2 nights so we had a 'triple room' The double bed was ok but the two other beds were absolutely awful!! They were almost like camp beds, the mattress was lumpy and covered with a kind of 'flannelette' sheet. I guess they are aimed for children and not adults. The tv remote control didn't work, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank casCornwall
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had multiple issues during your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us as it is the starting point we use to act on improvements. We have passed on your comments to the hotel and we thank you again for... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for only one night, friendly and helpfull staff at the checkin. Rooms are clean and tidy. Bathroom with shower and bath also clean and tidy. Only thing missing is a second chair to sit in. Now one of us has to sit on the bed. The room is big enough for a third bed, so plenty of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased to hear you found our staff members friendly and helpful along with your accommodation clean and tidy. Please rest assured your feedback enables us to continue with improvements. May we thank you for your helpful comments and we hope to welcome you back to us soon. More 

cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Other than a strange smell of wee in the room, it was spotless, very quiet, huge bed ( though it had been made with the duvet opening on the side? Not a good nights sleep as kept getting tangled through the night, turned it round the next night and slept like a log. Brilliant location, didnt hear a sound inside... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank shirleyjones_14
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very comfortable, clean and tidy Tavelodge. This is the second time we have stayed at Whiddon Down and will go back again. My only gripe is that Wifi should be free to all as it is in most places these days.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank normanm679
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly it's a Travelodge so don't expect too much. Yes it was clean and yes the staff were polite and friendly. And that's it. Nothing else at this Travelodge to comment about. Very basic. The restaurant next door we didn't use because the prices were ridiculously expensive. Nearly a fiver for a bacon sandwich! For evening food and drinks take... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We understand your stay did not strike you with the highest of standards we hope for and we do apologise for this. Feedback is really important to us and detailed comments like yours will help us with improvements. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you as our guest and restore... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's ideally located for touring if going to Dartmoor or N Devon. I found the car park 'busy' and did wander if I or the next guest would find room to park, although I did. Check-in was fine, and as usual had to give my old address as their system doesn't update your address. Everything was in my room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JackRussell1964
TravelodgeUK, Adele from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Many thanks for providing your detailed feedback with us at our Okehampton Whiddon Down Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn the hotel was an ideal location to suit your needs and your room was clean and fresh. We're sorry to learn of the issues that impacted your stay, please rest assured your comments have been passed to the hotel.... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Handy location 2 minutes from the a 30 with a esso garrage on site with a sub way if ykur into that kind of thing.the travelodge pleasant staff restaurant next door very handy., the room clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed.oh and a pub a little walk into the village.

Helpful?
Thank Tdodders
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience and are happy to see this was the case. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we do hope you will choose to stay with... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travel lodge is very tired and could benefit from an update. Bathroom smelt of damp which made the whole room smell. Everything else was ok for what we wanted. Disappointment was the building not the staff

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 797edwardv
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We wish for our customers to enjoy their hotel experience, so we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our Okehampton Whiddon Down hotel. Please rest assured your feedback enables us to improve the service we offer. May we thank you for... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

Found body hairs in corner of the bath in the sink and on the tiles above bathroom taps😥. Had to wash the hair away before we could use bath . Also not all the channels work on TV and can not get the TV guide . Needs updating.

Helpful?
Thank john l
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review. Detailed feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as cleanliness is one of the basics of our promise to our customers and this is far from the high standards we strive to provide. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
2.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
3.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,910 reviews
17.1 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#21 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

Address: A30, Whiddon Down,, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 2QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Price Range: $55 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down Hotel Okehampton
Travel Lodge Okehampton
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down Devon, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay