We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Inn

Traveler (18)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set right in the heart of Braunton, The George Inn is an elegant destination that is perfectly placed for a weekend away exploring the North Devon coast. Featuring modern luxury decoration in our boutique style rooms, you can now experience luxury pub accommodation just minutes from Barnstaple, Bideford, Ilfracombe and Exmoor National Park.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Free parking
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
80Somewhat walkable
Grade: 80 out of 100
17Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
10Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
151Reviews
25Photos
2Q+A
19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 63
  • 37
  • 26
  • 11
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We went in to dodge the rain and were attracted by the dog friendly sign. We ordered teas and coffee which were good quality and were then tempted by the food. My panini and salad was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. My son had steak pie which was also good. The
Read more
We stopped for lunch. 2 adults, 4 kids. Menu was ok. We all ordered a meal each (some took advantage of the '2courses for £9.95' deal) Food took ages (up to hour) and was definitely not worth the wait. Lasagne was a half portion at best and burnt. Fries were undercooked. Tuna
Read more
Response from thegeorgeinnbraunton, General Manager at The George Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Rachel, I am really disappointed at reading your review as when we checked back on your starters you gave us great feedback on the food, in particular the nachos. A couple of you were not having starters, and whilst we checked back you requested to have your mains whilst the others finished their starters. Although the restaurant was full we were happy to accommodate this, as quickly as we could. Once we served these we cleared your starters. It was only at this point you suddenly complained that your parking was running out, as you had parked in a pay and display down the road. We brought your 2 sausage and mash, plus your fish and chips within 10 minutes, at which point you sent them back as you needed to go. We believe that you were served in good time, but as you had not eaten them as a goodwill gesture gave you a full refund of those meals. I wish that you had tried our sausages, as we receive great feedback on these, they are a lovely herbed pork sausage purchased from a local butcher, the mash is most certainly not from a packet, and our fish is freshly beer battered from our own batter using the tribute ale we serve on our bar. We believe our homemade lasagne is a good size and we do not reduce any of the portions on our 2 course offer, we offer the same portions as on our main menu for a discounted price during Monday to Friday lunchtimes only. I appreciate that as some of your party had their mains whilst you were still eating your starter, it might have felt like you had been waiting longer as they had finished their meals when your mains arrived. We would never normally serve a table half of a tables mains before the others, however we did so only at your request, as we always try our upmost to accommodate all of our customers needs. Regards Christopher
Read more
Excellent value stay . The pub is very welcoming and had attracted quite a young clientele when we checked in. Our room was clean and spacious. It was very chilly but the owner put on the heating for us and it soon warmed up. The 5’ bed is very comfy and we slept well. There
Read more
Response from thegeorgeinnbraunton, General Manager at The George Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Julia, Thank you for taking time to write us a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found it excellent value for money. It is great to hear that you were well looked after and enjoyed the food, we do have some further improvements planned as well to our existing breakfast buffet Thank you for highlighting the issues of storage, we will look into how this can be improved. The heating is on a timer, as the radiators heat the building very efficiently, we have now adjusted these to come on for longer in the afternoon/early evening. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team, and hope to see you back here again in the future. Kind Regards Christopher
Read more
Utterly disgusting nightmare. Family visit but they do not cater for children. Don’t expect a cot & if you need an extra bed for small child don’t expect it on arrival - when it does arrive you may need to take your own quilt & you will certainly need to take your own quilt
Read more
Response from thegeorgeinnbraunton, chef at The George Inn
Responded Mar 5, 2019
hello Mrs right, i apologise for any upset we may have caused you during your stay with us. The unfortunate key incident was due to other customers swapping rooms and not returning the previous keys to us, you did however get drinks and a bottle of wine on the house for this issue as an apology. The menu side of things, you were checked on several times through out the course of your meal and the staff were met with, yes its brilliant, lovely thank you, and empty plates for the most part. If you had let us know you were unhappy with the choices available or that you were 'disgusted' by the standard we would have corrected it for you immediately. Colouring, paper and activities were lay out on the table for the kids, i am very sorry if the music went to un child friendly taste, it is on a random you tube playlist and we will in future pay more attention to the songs going on. You were given choices of 2 types of cakes, bought especially for your big group as well as any extras from the chefs personal experimental desserts. Again, if we were made aware you were unhappy with this, we would have absolutely gone out of our way to make it right. With all of this in consideration, i hope that the improvements we have made to our checking in and out policies will make for a better stay. Unfortunately the key your party broke in the lock could not have been avoided by our staff as were not present. Id hope that as we managed to resolve the issue as quickly and effectively as we could for you, this will not reflect badly on us as a business. kind regards The george.
Read more
The George Inn accommodated us over Christmas while visiting family in Braunton. The rooms were clean and modern. The only day breakfast wasn’t available was Christmas Day but the fact it was on all the other days was great and very good of them. The location is fantastic,
Read more
Response from thegeorgeinnbraunton, General Manager at The George Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Bianca, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is fantastic to hear you had a great stay with us, and I hope you had a wonderful Christmas with your family. We have just started to make some small refurbishments to the rooms and public areas to freshen up the place. And will be adding some new touches which I hope will make your next stay even more enjoyable. Kind Regards Christopher
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
room 5 - shower head. disgusting.
Beautifully folded towels
Photo provided by managementThe George Inn
PreviousNext
12
do you show live sport if not do you know any where local that does thanks
So sorry for the delay ... No there is no live sport shown. Don't know of anywhere else.
0 votes
Show all answers
Have you space for 6 adults and four children on 10/6/2016 till 12/6/2016 please?
"No room is quiet but room 5 is on the corner so at the busy junction."
"Find a good hotel or a better eating venue."
"Ask for a room as far away from the main pub area"
"Back of the hotel is best away from any traffic noise"
"If you are a light sleeper not 4 or 5"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBraunton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing