We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Saunton Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Saunton Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,526: English reviews
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Came here for lunch today - it's fabulous to sit in the window of the restaurant and gaze over the beautiful Saunton Sands beach. Chose from the sandwich menu - really fresh bread and the sweet potato fries were delicious 😀 Can highly recommend the espresso parfait for dessert. Rebecca was our host and she was great - thanks Saunton... More 

Helpful?
Thank jcbing
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely hotel with lots of charm and fabulous views over Saunton and Braunton burrows. Excellent well presented meals on the terrace while enjoying the views and the sunshine. Staff very helpful and approachable too.

Helpful?
Thank Helenrh2014
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

We are very spoiled with our views here, I am pleased to know you enjoyed looking out while eating your meal - Anthony Kingdon More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I haven't been to Saunton Sands (due to it being a fair distance from where I live) in a while, but it has always been a memorable destination to go. I love the fact that it is on the doorstep to the beach, which has some lovely sand dunes. I have been going now and then for the past twenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danthewriter
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

How lovely to hear from a regular guest - and one who has been coming back for twenty years no less! It is our pleasure to welcome you back so please don't wait too long before you come back again - Anthony Kingdon More 

Bannalec, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were a little disappointed for two reasons. The standard of the food was not that good. We had several issues with the standard of cuisine and on one occasion had to send the meal back twice. Given this is supposed to be a rated restaurant the cuisine was poor. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly but this... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John L
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not feel the service or food lived up to your expectations of the hotel, I hope that you shared your thoughts with the staff while you were here as feedback is always useful and appreciated. I will make sure your review is shared with the team - Anthony Kingdon More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having arrived around 7.00pm we headed for the lounge restaurant and asked if we could look at the menu. The answer came back "No"! Getting over the shock, the lady explained that they were full for the night. We were surprised that we weren't offered the menu, but advised to book for the following night. We did eat the 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia I
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and made good use of the facilities, thank you for your feedback on the softness of your bed I will ensure it is shared with the team - Anthony Kingdon More 

Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel for one night to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is set in a lovely location and our first impressions were very good. Our room was a deluxe sea facing and did not disappoint when we saw it. The thing that let it down was the shower. The thermostat was not working and barely warmed the water.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susie J
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and taking the time to write a review - Anthony Kingdon More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I think that a fundamental requirement of any hotel, let alone one charging £300 per night, is to provide a comfortable bed. Alas, the mattress is so worn out the central section is a convex shape. Shoddy, shabby, unacceptable, it's a management issue.

Helpful?
3 Thank londontraveller655
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

I hope that reception was able to help with your issue during your stay? If not I would be glad to chat with you about this, please do give me a call at the hotel - Anthony Kingdon More 

Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is stunning, not only boasting wonderful sea and bay views but beautiful furnishings with extremely high standards throughout. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff who were all very friendly and polite. I cannot wait to return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank antony_clarke
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

And we cannot wait for your return, don't leave it too long to enjoy some more of our wonderful sea views again! - Anthony Kingdon More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival we were greeted by commissionaire , who promptly arranged for our luggage to be taken to,our room. The room was spacious, very clean . The bathroom was also immaculate. The view of the beach from the terrace was stunning. The staff very friendly and helpful. This is an ideal venue for a wedding. Again the food and service... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank heatherpendery
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

How lovely to know that you enjoyed your time here while attending a wedding, thank you - Anthony Kingdon More 

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a time , the building site from hell , right next to our room . 7.45 start pile driving great start to the day , no warning or chose to book elsewhere ! .Every night no fish unless there by 6.30PM .wasted my money most expensive.rip-off , every day and night you restricted to use different parts of the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank vonsinton
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, if you would like to contact me at the hotel to discuss this I would be glad to talk to you - Anthony Kingdon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (335)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (760)
Viewed
Amenities (161)
Viewed
Convertible Inland (44)
Viewed
Double Deluxe (64)
Viewed
Double Inland (48)
Viewed
Double Sea Facing (51)
Viewed
Family Suite With Single (65)
Viewed
Indoor Heated Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Sea Facing With Twin (64)
Viewed
Single Sea Facing (45)
Viewed
Terrace Pool (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
4.2 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
6.8 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Price Range: $220 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay