We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bickleigh Castle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bickleigh Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 330: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just wanted to post a review for the lovely owners of the castle. They kindly let us take some rocks from their land. We have been to the castle and been shown around as part of a wedding party and the grounds and castle is beautiful. We live in the nearby village and are lucky enough to benefit from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henryruby
Bickleigh C, Guest Relations Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this review

Thanks very much for you review!!! Glad you are still enjoying our fireworks!

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the castle for three nights ( room 4) a lovely clean and cozy room with an ensuite bathroom. John the host was warm and friendly, he even treated the guests to a tour of the castle and grounds- where his knowledge on the estate was very interesting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliedianem
Fuerteventura, Spain
Reviewed November 25, 2016

Thanks to Sarah and John for a fabulous stay at Bickleigh Castle. An idyllic setting and a lovely tranquil environment. The castle is beautiful along with the views, gardens, cottages and dining areas. Our every need was catered for, we felt so welcomed that we almost refused to leave! I was there for a Hen Do party but after such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemgarford
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2016

Idyllic place, ideally located. It's warm, cosy and the owner offers a welcome that makes you feel immediately at home. All of the facilities are to a high standard and the wifi is strong in the main living room - but let's face it, if you need to spend your time on the web then stay at home. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank achk1
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 29, 2016

In 2015 my wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Castle and were so pleased that we returned for our 1st Anniversary. On this occasion we stayed in one of the cottages as opposed to the honeymoon suite in the actual castle. We we pleased that the standards set in the castle were continued through the cottage and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MRK24
Bickleigh C, Guest Relations Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review.

Reviewed September 25, 2016

I want to point out before I continue that my pickiness is due to how much it costs to stay at the castle. My partner and I attended a wedding here at Bickleigh and we were very disappointed. 1. We arrived early to help set up and family members who had travelled a very long distance and arrived early themselves...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank 14Abby09
Bickleigh C, Guest Relations Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this review

I happened to be on hand to attend to one or two issues. Readers may be surprised to learn, given the above comments, that the alleged shortcomings of the room were attended to IMMEDIATELY the problems were flagged up. There was such a tiny mark on a table cover that we had to look really hard to spot it; likewise...

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2016

stayed in a superior room .it was really nice, staff pleasant.away from the hustle & bustle of city life good area if you have a car tiverton a few miles away and a couple of nice pub/resturants within a mile. the fresh fruit for breakfast was great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teejay45
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2016

authentic old world experience.accomadation in thatched cottages with mod cons.setting wonderful for the wedding great food throughout weekend memorable pictures congratulations to bickleigh castle staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernadettetorquay
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2016

My partner and I were so looking forward to staying here for two nights but after a few hours here regretted it. Were shown to a room in a lovely cottage and knew we would hvee a separate bathroom but weren't not expected to have to walk across an open corridor in front of the main entrance glass pained door...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bromsgrove2
Bickleigh C, Guest Relations Manager at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this review

Well, it seems the reviewer was honoured with a passing visit from the spirit of Elizabeth Carew, one of the resident ghosts. Who else, I wonder, would have shut a guests' window from the outside in the middle of night?! Our staff are normally very good about servicing rooms, but perhaps, as the room in question is very rarely used...

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 8, 2016

Whilst this is a nice, quiet location, it would benefit from a bar and restaurant. The facilities they have are only open when they host a wedding. It is necessary to go into the nearby village to eat and drink. The place has an intersting hidtory though and what remains of the castle is worth seeing on the tour, free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

195 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
341 reviews
5.2 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,080 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#2 of 4 in Bickleigh
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Bickleigh Castle Romance and History in Union.Situated on the Devon and Somerset border, in rolling countryside within its 30 acre Estate, it’s hard to believe it is just minutes away from Junction 27 and Tiverton Parkway train station.Bickleigh Castle is not only a gorgeous Devon wedding venue, it also caters for conferences and seminars and offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation throughout the year in its romantic buildings and traditional, thatched cottages.This fabulous wedding Castle also offers exclusive use for a get together with friends and family, birthday parties, private dining, anniversaries, retirement parties or reunions. Bickleigh Castle offers you the unique and magical experience of living with your guests in a 11th Century castle.Enter through the 17th Century, Italian wrought Iron Gates to discover the romantic and fascinating history that abounds in this magnificent 11th Century Castle and it's Estate, through which the River Exe also winds its way.Within the moated grounds, Bickleighs’ 6th Century Chapel stands today as it did all those years ago, probably the oldest building in the County and where, our married couples receive their blessing.This listed Grade One Castle exudes a rich and intimate atmosphere with its history echoed in its wonderful romantic heritage, regal Great Hall and elegant Tudor Bridal Suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bickleigh Castle

Address: Bickleigh, Bickleigh EX16 8RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Price Range: $80 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bickleigh Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bickleigh Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickleigh Castle Hotel Bickleigh
Bickleigh Castle Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bickleigh Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles MRK24, Sep 29, 2016 | Read review
“if you are fit have an upstairs room as you can hear people walking about if you are downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles Teejay45, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
“This is an old castle not a hotel although they hold weddings here.”
 of 5 bubbles annfA7393TY, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms we saw were excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Mishadad, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles elsdon52, Jul 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay