We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Duke of Richmond Hotel

TripAdvisor$185*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$234*
$185*
Great Deal
$221*
$234*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

805 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Duke of Richmond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 767: English reviews
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed for three nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Can honestly say that this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, and we definitely had better service here than anywhere else we have stayed, ever! Orlando took the trouble to book a meal for us at another restaurant for our second night, and we ate at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jewels1964
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jewels1964, I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us. I was thrilled to hear that you had a memorable weekend celebrating your wedding anniversary with us. It was very motivating for all our team to learn that you found your room comfortable and that you enjoyed the meals you had in...

Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed for one night as part of our Honeymoon trip to the Channel Islands. We mentioned our recent wedding at check-in and within ten minutes of being shown our room, the concierge was knocking on our door with complimentary glasses of champagne 'in honour of our marriage'. The room was well appointed, with quality toiletries, fluffy and well-fitting robes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine K, Thank you for the kind comments you posted on TripAdvisor and for recommending us to other travellers. We were thrilled to read that you had a fabulous time on your honeymoon stay with us. My team and I were very pleased that you found your room well-appointed and comfortable and that you loved our fluffy robes! It...

Lubeck, Germany
Reviewed August 25, 2014

After having returned to Germany safe and sound it is essential for me to say thank you again for a wonderful holiday. This time I got a "blue room" and I really loved it. The view was nice and enough space for all the stuff which I always need for a three weeks stay. The food was excellent and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gabriela S
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gabriela, I would like to thank you once again for finding the time to post your kind comments following your recent stay with us. We are always delighted to hear that you had a relaxing, enjoyable time at what I believe has become your real home-away- from home in Guernsey and I am pleased that you liked your ‘blue’...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2014

From arrival at the hotel to departure, we could not fault the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff. We had booked the wine tasting package which was hosted by Orlando and he introduced us to some wonderful red wines. He made the experience fun and we would recommend it to anyone. We were asked beforehand what type of wines...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary W, What a wonderful review! Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel with other travellers. I was delighted to read that you had a great time with us, enjoying our delicious food and wine-tasting experience with Orlando. It will be my pleasure to pass your comments about professional and friendly service to...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Just returned from an all too brief stay whilst on business locally. It’s been over a year since I last stayed but was a very welcome return. The hotel is high quality in every respect but what sets it aside from other establishments is the staff. Nothing is ever too much trouble, they are always attentive but never intrusive. Olga...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon R
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon R, I would like to thank you for finding the time to post your kind comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you received a warm welcome from all our team. It is wonderful that our comfortable, spotlessly clean room and delicious, beautifully presented food made your stay perfect. Most of...

Isle of Man
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights on business. Room was small but adequate and the decor was...colorful. Bed was excellent, and with a bad back, I tend to remember bad ones! Breakfast lovely, with very attentive but unobtrusive staff. Probably only reason I wouldn't award 5, is the lack of space to work in the room. Small desk and just a stool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManxMountaineers
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ManxMountaineers , Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you found our service attentive and that you enjoyed our breakfasts and fish from daily specials in our Leopard Restaurant. I am sorry you found your room not spacious enough to work in,...

Cheshire, UK
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this great hotel. Excellent room, spotless with good facilities. We had a large sea view room which overlooked the terrace although admittedly the "sea view" was a bit of an exaggeration! We could see the sea- just a long way in the distance and view largely blocked by a tree. Great room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeithCheshire_UK
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KeithCheshire_UK, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel with other travellers. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying in our Superior Sea-view room, which you found spotlessly clean, with good facilities. We have noted your comments about the sea-view and will make a note about your...

High Wycombe
Reviewed August 19, 2014

It is not often that you find a hotel that ticks ALL the boxes for you, but I do believe we have just found 'The One'! My husband and I wanted a short break to celebrate our 28th Wedding Anniversary and, never having been to Guernsey before, we thought we'd give it a try. What a revelation this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silverstriders
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Silverstriders, I would like to thank for all your kind comments following your recent stay with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Our team were delighted to read that you have found your new home-away-from- home at The Duke of Richmond Hotel and that your short break left you with such unforgettable memories, which you would like to repeat...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 18, 2014

My partner and I recently returned from a 2 night stay in the Penthouse Suite at this fabulous hotel. It was spotlessly clean and tidy with excellent decor and a very comfortable bed. The manager and staff quite clearly work well together as a very effective team whose priority is exceptional customer service. We were there as a competition prize....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaTottem
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LindaTottem, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments following your recent stay with us. It is fabulous that our warm welcome, attention to detail along with the elegant and comfortable settings of the hotel have given you an excellent first impression not only of The Duke of Richmond Hotel, but also...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, and were given a very small room. One side of the bed was so close to the wall I could hardly get in / out! The air con unit was noisy,we had to use it as the weather was very warm. The bed linen was lovely, but all in all it was cramped for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suzi197
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suzi197, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I was naturally so sorry to read that you were disappointed with the size of your room and that you felt that the service at breakfast mean that your experience was not what you or I...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

218 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (194)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
694 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Price Range: $156 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Duke of Richmond Hotel staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Duke of Richmond Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The 2 rooms we have stayed in have been fine.”
M3292WYpauld, 5 days ago | Read review
“The suites are best as the standard rooms are small.”
771tracy, 1 week ago | Read review
“All rooms are great, but try a junior suite. Fabulous decorations and some even have a balcony”
guernseygal2013, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Chose a room with a seaview.”
CherilynN_11, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Junior suites are spacious and comfortable!”
sarkanglican, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
TripAdvisor
$185* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$221
Expedia.com$234
Travelocity$232
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates