We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay View Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay View Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I read reviews before booking and I wasn't disappointed. When I arrived there was no one about, but after quick call to the number,which was clearly displayed, Carolyn was there to offer me a warm welcome. After completing the checking in formalities, I made my way up to my room. The room was a nice size and had a nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A pleasant guest house only about 15 minutes walk from St Helier town centre and on a bus route to town and along the south coast to Gorey. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Comfortable bed though the room was a bit cluttered and we had to move things off the desk to allow us room to unpack. Housekeeping was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

Bay View is only about two minutes drive from St Helier town centre.The place is not too far from the beach.The host Geoff gave an excellent service especially when I had breakfast delivered to my room as I was catching the early morning ferry to St Malo.The bar is is open with variety of drinks and the lounge with cable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stingray4Real
Geoff M, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Stingray Thanks for your review, always nice to feel appreciated, and when we get a five circle recommendation, all the effort the whole team puts in to give our guests a great experience during their stay at the Bay View is recognised and rewarded. Good on you! More 

Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

The only reason I would not give this place the full 5 is its position. On the map it looks as it it would be easily walkable to the ferry, but this is not the case - no pavements at some places and hilly. You need a taxi. The room was a family room so was quite big, but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
Geoff M, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Ellizabeth You went the wrong way!! Up Mount Bingham and around the old harbour dragging a suitcase is I agree a trial of strength and endurance. Up Green street and through the tunnel is much easier but will still take a good 20-30 minutes with a case, so a taxi for about a fiver would have been my recommendation.... More 

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

My second stay at this venue was as enjoyable as the first,with hosts carolyn and jeff ensuring i had a place to stay after my flight was cancelled ,once again the hospitality was outstanding and will no doubt visit again.

Helpful?
Thank JeffreyLynneT
Geoff M, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Jeff We know you like staying with us, but an extra 4 nights was above and beyond the call of duty! We all look forward to meeting your better half later in the year, I am sure she will have some interesting stories to tell us about you! More 

Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

I think I lucked out with my room as it was large and had a very modern and excellently fitted out bathroom. One other member of the party had a smaller room upstairs with a much smaller shower. The breakfast was excellent and the owners were very accommodating in terms of leaving our luggage on the day of departure. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wyn G
Geoff M, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Wyn Thanks for your positive feedback. My wife and I do live on the premises but we are out and about doing our chores and sometimes guests arriving have to phone my mobile number which is posted on the door to make contact. One of us or a member of staff is usually close at hand to let guests... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

The rooms were ok but the decor was seriously outdated and the shower pressure was terrible. I suppose my main gripe is that we didn't feel particularly welcome by the landlady. Breakfast was fine but it is totally ridiculous that guests have to toast their own bread. Was never offered a second cup of tea and felt rushed out the... More 

Helpful?
Thank clyde1878
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and very surprised to hear that you didn't feel welcome. We do enjoy a good rapour with our guests and are disappointed to see you did feel this to be the case. The décor in our house is not intended to particularly modern, we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights. The host stayed up really late to let us in, since the flight was delayed. Clean place with lots of homey comforts - we stayed in one night to watch DVDs after a long hike!

Helpful?
Thank aberanda
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, pleased to see you enjoyed your visit to Jersey and glad that you felt at home in our guest house :-) More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Have just returned from a break in Jersey. Geoff & Carolyn were excellent hosts. Room was a nice size & was nice & clean. Plenty of options for Breakfast. Location is very good for buses in & out of town. A choice of places nearby for evening meals. Have no reason not to return.

Helpful?
Thank IAW2014
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, pleased to see that we provided a good base for you to enjoy our lovely island. Hope to welcome you back in the future :-) More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Arrived on 31st May.Was greeted with a warm welcome.Shown to our room and was delighted with it.Kingsize leather bed was so comfortable.Breakfast was excellent.Carolyn and Geoff could have not been any more courteous.Great.Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank trudyd3
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, great meeting you and hope to welcome you back in the future :-) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
4.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#7 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 stars 946 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel
BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel
#13 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#10 of 31 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 stars 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Geoff and Carolyn Mayger have been in the hospitality industry for many years and are pleased to welcome you to the relaxed and homely atmosphere they have created at the Bay View. They pride themselves in providing guests with all the modern conveniences and comforts of a four star Guest House. Bay View is situated across the road from the beach at Havre des Pas with its Lido & beach café, and still only a ten minute walk into St Helier, the main business and commercial centre of Jersey. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay View Guest House

Address: 12 Havre des Pas, St Helier, JERSEY, St. Helier JE2 4UQ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bay View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Guest House Hotel St. Helier
Bay View Guest House Jersey/St. Helier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay