We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Magloire Guest House

Traveler (42)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (3)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Jersey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Set on Jersey's south coast, in a 17th-century street in the picturesque fishing village of St. Aubin, this guest house boasts spectacular views over the bay. It is a short walk to the harbour and the many restaurants and bars that the village has to offer. We are ideally located for the sandy beaches, where you can try a number of watersports or simply soak up the sun. You can also enjoy charming country and coastal walks or cycle routes nearby, including the beautiful Corbiere track. The hotel has excellent wi-fi internet throughout, Sky TV in all the rooms, including Sky Sports, a terrace with lovely sea views and is being constantly updated. All tariffs include a full English breakfast.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Golf course
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View

Location

Full view
72Somewhat walkable
Grade: 72 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
146Reviews
8Q+A
38Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 85
  • 28
  • 18
  • 11
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A 5 to 10 minute walk to the Harbour and many good restaurants in a relaxed atmosphere. Very picturesque sea front walks all kept very clean. Buses very frequent. A good idea is to get a 3 or 4 day bus pass as you can sea all the Island very easily. St Aubin is is a stunning
Read more
Firstly the good points. The room was comfortable and clean, Andrew (initially) was very informative and pleasant and St Aubin's is a beautiful location. BUT - Car parking is problematic as the Guesthouse doesn't have it's own parking and anywhere remotely close by is, at the
Read more
Response from Andrew R, Owner at St. Magloire Guest House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Further to your unfortunate visit, and your subsequent emails and threats, I am very happy to answer your points and your quite extraordinary exaggerations one by one. I would have answered your emails directly but you chose to impose deadlines along with threats and accused me of several things that simply didn't happen. I was, of course, available on the tepephone at all times had you chosen to discuss the matter. Regarding the PARKING: I am not sure what your definition of "remotely close by" is, but the people who live on our street not only park there every evening, but quite a few come home for lunch each day and use the nearby parking without any problems and I would refer you to the parking advice that we give: "The best parking spaces are on "Mont de la Rocque" on the right hand side of the road, where the sign says "12 hours in 24" (this simply means that you have to move the car once a day). This is approx. 250 metres from the Guesthouse. There is more "12 in 24" parking down on the seafront which is about 350 metres from us. These areas are free and no arrival time needs to be displayed. There is an area immediately outside the Hotel to pull up and drop off your bags." The additional 2 hour parking spaces are for people who are visiting the area for meals etc. and are neither suitable, nor necessary, for our guests. Regarding the SHOWER: Here it is particularly worth pointing out that the guests who followed you in to your room, stayed for a week, seemed to thoroughly enjoy their stay and are planning to return in September. When I asked them about the water pressure and told them of your comments, their answer was as follows: "We have had no problem showering every day. Yes, the pressure isn't great, but it is totally usable and in a 400 year-old building with a lovely room, you cannot expect anything different." Furthermore, we have over 1,000 room nights, this year, booked by guests who are returning after previous visits and this simply wouldn't happen if we did not have working showers. Chronology of events: I met you on arrival and showed you to your room and ran through various things, including the parking and how there were no restrictions between 5pm & 8am, or all day Sunday, explained the breakfast times, showed you the fridge, Sky TV box etc. etc. and left. Around 5.30 I was informed by a colleague that your lady had been downstairs and complained about the shower. I immediately went to your room. Your lady met me at the door and said that you wanted to move to a sea-view room ( I totally believe that this is the entire crux of the problem as it was a very sunny day and you hadn't booked a sea-view but wanted one and as we had none available, you then did everything you could to try and get a refund in order to move to a hotel with one available. Indeed in your subsequent review, where you stayed in a hotel on the other side of the Island, you stress that you thoroughly enjoyed the sea-view.) I asked to have a look at the offending shower to see if the knobs were turned correctly, but she said that the gentleman was in the shower room, so that wasn't possible. I then explained that with the top floor rooms, the water has to be pumped up 4 floors from the boiler in the basement, so they have the weakest pressure and also, that being on a 400 year old cobbled street, on a hill and on an island with limited reservoir capacity, we had to work with less pressure than the mainland. After breakfast, the following morning, you came to the office and said that you wanted to check out. I asked why and you said that you couldn't use the shower and again I said that I would go and have a look at the shower and check it out and that I would be able to upgrade you for the following night (at no extra charge) to a large sea-view room which was on the ground floor and hence had full pressure as the boiler only had to pump up 1 floor. You said that you thought you would accept this and headed back to your room. Some 15 minutes later, you returned and said that you had decided to check-out anyway. I again asked to go and check the shower with you and also to show you the shower in the sea-view room, but you refused both offers and left. I immediately went up to your room and turned on the shower which had a full spray (not a dribble). It is absolute nonsense to suggest that it cannot be used to wash and I would dearly love to put a "rainfall" shower in all the rooms, but that simply isn't possible with the age of the building and the pressure available. In conclusion, if the only merit in a visit to a hotel in Jersey is the strength of the shower in a top floor room, then it would be wise to stay elsewhere and any guest or potential guest who has had the stamina to read this far, is very welcome to contact me to confirm their room. If, however, one wishes to stay in a truly lovely part of the Island in a guesthouse with extremely hard working and friendly staff, I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your visit as enjoyable as possible. My sincerest apologies for such a long answer but I felt a full response was necessary. Andrew
Read more
Friendly staff, nice old house, stunning views over the bay, good location. However, what I don't expect in a quality B&B (well, they certainly charge what a quality B&B charges) is an awful shower in an unheated and badly dated bathroom, and I certainly don't expect an
Read more
Response from Andrew R, Owner at St. Magloire Guest House
Responded Apr 28, 2019
Further to your review I obviously have to respond with the facts to prevent potential future guests thinking that we don't care. Your room has been completely re-furbished and does indeed have great views. The bathroom is a bath with shower over, which has been retained because some guests specifically request a bath, nevertheless it will be completely replaced next winter. I fully accept that the shower fitting is old fashioned ( as indeed am I ! ) but then so is the building (on a cobbled street) and whilst every possible effort is made to bring modern benefits (Sky TV, USB charging sockets, in room refrigerators & ironing systems) the location and the building being listed, both create some limitations on what can be done and how quickly. Regarding the ants - it is categorically not an "infestation" and most certainly never was. If you had allowed us to clean the room after your 1st night we would have found the fizzy drink spillage and food around the bin and cleaned it up, which would have prevented the problem. Needless to say a proper clean and some carefully placed powder when you departed on the 2nd day and they haven't been seen since.
Read more
Very pleasant location on an old cobbled Street. Lovely old quirk property. Fabulous views over the bay. The staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean the bed comfortable. The water pressure is poor so difficult to rinse soap out of hair. The breakfast really lets the
Read more
Andrew and staff makes everyone welcome and is working hard to continue to improve. Our room was recently refurbished. Bed large & comfortable. Shower is average. If anything despite a large room, little space for folded clothes Breakfast freshly cooked and offered a good choice
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st. magloire guest house hotel st. brelade
LOCATION
United KingdomChannel IslandsJerseySt. BreladeSt. Aubin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing