We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Mount Edward Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mount Edward Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a lovely stay here for one night in July 2016.Breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice.It is in a lovely location with great views of Benbulben mountain and only a 2 min drive to streedagh beach. Maureen was very accommodating, I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Helpful?
1 Thank joe s
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This B & B is located in a beautiful part of Ireland, close by are some fantastic seaside areas with a farming background. The accommodation itself is good with a very accommodating host. If enough people want it there is a shuttle to a nearby pub which is operated by the licencee of the pub. We had a delightful meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank michaelloretta
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review your stay and your lovely comments we do live in a beautiful area surrounded by nature sea and mountains I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and I look forward to seeing you again some time you are in the area again best wishes Maureen and Gerry More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've never stayed at a B&B and having seen the photos and reviews of Mt Edward Lodge online I thought it would be the perfect choice and I wasn't wrong. The signs to the lodge from the highway were perfect, and our early arrival to drop off bags was accommodated very graciously. We didn't have a car for the first... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShannynDowney
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

hello Shannyn and Sandy thank you so much for your wonderful review it was a pleasure to have you stay it was a pity it was so short but I look forward to welcoming you back again hope all is well with you all best wishes Maureen and Gerry More 

Whitchurch, Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Had a triple room for three nights, try as we might we couldn't find fault. Spotlessly clean, plenty of hot water, fluffy towels. Maureen is the ultimate hostess and runs the B & B with ease. As for the breakfast it was the best we've ever had during our trips to Ireland. If you're short of anything it's your own... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonyneville
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

hello Tony Pat and Amelia thank you so much for your wonderful review for your stay with me ...I was delighted to have you stay with us ...I look forward to welcoming you back again ...I hope you got back home safe ...enjoy the music ....... till the next time best wishes Maureen and gerry More 

toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We recently spent two weeks in Ireland and this was our least favorite accommodations. We were very disappointed after having read its many good reviews. Our room was so tiny (no more than 18 inches on each side of the bed) that only one of us could move around at a time. The bathroom was likewise very small. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucy37toronto
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to read your review and see you were not entirely happy with your stay ....lf you were not happy with the room with sea/mountain views I would have changed you into another room you only had to ask.......you had a choice of breakfast in the morning from a varied and full menu why did you not... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

We were part of a group staying here for a friends wedding nearby and we delighted with everything about, Maureen did everything to make sure that we felt right at home, helping to organise a bus to bring us all to the venue, pushing back the time she normally served breakfast to give tired bodies a chance to recover for... More 

Helpful?
Thank OisinM83
mountedwardlodge, Front Office Manager at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

oisin and Naomi thank you so much for your wonderful review and lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you stay and I am delighted you enjoyed the weekend it is great the wonderful weather is lasting if you are down this way again I would be delighted to welcome you back again I hope you got back home... More 

Middleton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2016

Hard to find, with narrow roads and a poor driveway entrance, but what a view. The lodge is really just a house on a hill, but you can see the water from the front rooms. The bathroom in room #2 put a whole new meaning in water closet. The toilet and shower were squeezed into a bureau sized closet. No... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom I
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with me...you booked a room in the countryside and in the countryside in Ireland all roads are narrow .....I am well signposted on the N15 and if you put mountedwardlodge into Google map it will take you right to my front door....I don't know what you were expecting but I... More 

London UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

Don't come here expecting bars around the corner, shopping malls and bingo halls just up the road. They're not. Come here expecting peace and quiet and a place the to unwind. Come here to watch authentic Irish rain out the window or the cracking Atlantic views with the Donegal mountains in the distance. Behind you also have the stunning flat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with me and for your wonderful comments it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with me i look forward to having you stay with me again for a nice relaxing break when you are back this way again with best wishes maureen More 

Berry, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of the Fleadh Cheoil and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of Maureen. The sea is just a short hop down a lane and we spent a couple of afternoons prowling the shoreline. I'm an early riser and Maureen spoiled me by bringing a cup of coffee to me while I read in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with me and i am delighted you enjoyed your time with me ....it was my pleasure to give you coffee before breakfast in the morning i hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and a safe journey home i hope to see you again some time in the future... More 

Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

Having used Booking.com to make our reservations, we were very happy to have landed this one. The room was cozy and clean but the view of the ocean was worth it's weight in gold. Along with that there were two friendly horses to "Horse" around with.

Helpful?
Thank Ken L
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with me and i am delighted you enjoyed your stays and our wonderful views of the Atlantic ocean and the Donegal mountains if you are back this way again we would be delighted to have you stay best wishes Maureen and Gerry More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange
7.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
4.3 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
6.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel & Leisure Club
5.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
3.1 mi away
Rowanville Lodge
Rowanville Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grange
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mount Edward Lodge is a luxury Fáilte Ireland Approved B&B located on the Northwest coast of Ireland.It lies nestled between Sligo's dramatic Benbulben mountain and the sea, and boasts panoramic views that overlook the Atlantic ocean, Innismurray Island and the Donegal Mountains. It is an ideal base for touring Yeats Country and the surroundings, suitable for both relaxing holidays or a business trip. Situated only 2km from Streedagh Beach, 14km from Sligo town and 5 minutes from the local village Grange, where you will find Traditional Irish pubs and Award winning restaurants.Your hostess Maureen McGowan has been welcoming guests to her award-winning, magnificently situated luxury bungalow near Grange, Sligo, for over twenty five years. You will receive a homely Traditional Irish welcome on your arrival and Maureen holds Fáilte Ireland Irish Welcome Award for her outstanding hospitality. Only the finest local ingredients are used for breakfast at Mount Edward Lodge with fresh meat from the local butcher and Maureen's own free-range eggs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Edward Lodge

Address: Ballinfull, Grange, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Grange
Price Range: $75 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Edward Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edward Lodge Ireland/Grange
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay