We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Killeshin Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Killeshin Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 578: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We booked here as a treat for new years with my parents,husband and two children, we wanted to relax and spend the new year together after a tough year. It was far from relaxing we were asked to leave the bar at 9 even though baby was asleep in buggy and 4 year old was sitting quietly colouring. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geniemadden
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very good restaurant and staff very friendly would recommendation to go! Free parking and good location. Open reception area very relax area. I would like going to Leisure Centre but will going there in the future

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Got a lovely welcome from Dominika on arrival. Room was nice and big although there were brown dried in splashes all over the bathroom sink. It seemed like it was fake tan or something. Went into the bar for some food and a drink. Burger was lovely although bar staff were not great. The two girls who were working seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stepper99
Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a surprise 40th party in the kileshin hotel, a fanstastic venue for the occasion, Martin was the main organiser and was extremelyin professional pand helpful. Had a meal in the restaurant for 30 people, food excellent and the staff 100% Had a private party in the upstairs bar then, Would highly recommend it for a function, thanks to all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deckiehughes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A few of us booked into this hotel with our kidz for 2 nites new years eve thinkin it would be a nice family break well it wasnt the bar manager was very rude to us ignored me when i asked could i order food and walked away while others were ordering off him so that was the first nite.....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank louisemccxx
James G, Só Hotels at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louisemccxx Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the killeshin. It is not often that we receive complaints but when we do we like to learn as much as we can from your experience in order to insure this does not happen again in the future to other guests. I am very eager to contact...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here last October with my partner. I was really looking forward to our stay. I had ordered a bottle of prosecco for the room as a surprise. On entering the hotel the girl behind the desk was very inattentive. She also 'let the cat out of the bag' with regards to the bottle of prosecco. Whilst this isn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Máire C
James G, Só hotels at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Máire C Thank you for writing about your experience of when you stayed in the Killeshin hotel in Portloise in October. Whilst you refer to our receptionist inadvertently letting “the Cat out of the bag” as not being a “very big deal” I can understand the frustration so please let me apologise for this mistake. With regard to your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on New Years Eve with family - although dinner was decent we were over three and a half hours waiting on food and each course was brought out in the incorrect order - wait staff kept telling us there was "confusion in the kitchen" - dinner was a complete mess. We complained the next day but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sean C
Northern Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night en route home from Waterford, as we were intending on visiting Kildare Village. The staff were lovely! We had lunch on Sunday in the bar and dinner on the Sunday night - beautiful food, great service and not overly expensive. Breakfast on Monday morning was also great! Can't praise the hotel and its staff enough!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martonc
Michelle C, Director of Sales at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very positive review, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. yours sincerely, Michelle Campion Sales & Marketing Manager

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this lovely hotel just after Christmas. Good service, very clean, very comfortable. Ate in the Cedar Bar which was the downfall of our stay. I had the battered cod and my boyfriend had the salmon, however we were disappointed by the level of salt used in the food. It made what could have been an excellent stay rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
Michelle C, Director of Sales at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we will circulate your issues regarding the food proposition to the chef and relevant heads of department. Without such feedback as yours we cannot continue to improve upon our offering, thank you again for the constructive review. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Yours...

County Laois, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I have been to this hotel for food a couple of times and the only reason we go there is because of the top class service we receive from Melissa, I have to say she is the best I've ever come across nothing is too much trouble for her, from the time we arrive until we leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 05GGK
Michelle C, Director of Sales at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your high recommendation of our team member. We endeavour to ensure there is a high level of service at all times. We are delighted your enjoyed your time with us. Yours sincerely, Michelle Campion Sales & Marketing Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
953 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
169 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
149 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Price Range: $68 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Killeshin Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
Sheffield, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Killeshin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“friendly staff will accommodate your wishes if at all possible.”
 of 5 bubbles reginadoheny, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“Odd numbers overlook a busy road on the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles O2179SDanthonyh, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“Do NOT eat here.”
 of 5 bubbles sbb960, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
“order the darne of salmon with musgroom”
 of 5 bubbles 518TomR, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Use the car park next to the front entrance , its easier and has enough space”
 of 5 bubbles starkreality121, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay