We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doonmore Hotel

Save
Share
Fawnmore, Inishbofin H91NV06 Ireland
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (145)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (8)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Inishbofin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel in Ireland, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our friendly staff are superbly trained and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a hot chocolate to a group of adults staying for a week, deserves only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its freshly caught seafood and its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Andrew Murray
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
939Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 792
  • 137
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Fio976 wrote a review Sep 2020
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions3 helpful votes
Lovely short stay on Inishbofin, the staff at Doonmore Hotel made the most of the difficult situation due to the covid regulations. I felt safe at all times. The food was excellent, my daughter who is vegan (but not a fussy one) had more choice and was better looked after than in much bigger hotels. I have been to Inishbofin for many decades and this was the first time I stayed in the Doonmore, I hope to be back soon. I missed the music which was lost due to the new regulations. Wonderful staff and hotel in one of the most beautiful places in the world.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Murray, General Manager at Doonmore Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2020
Dear Fio976, Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you both staying with us for the first time, although I know you have eaten here many times over the years. In these difficult times, our guests' and our staff's safety is extremely important to us and so we prioritised safety and comfort this year in particular. Of course we did this in a way that didn't impinge on the enjoyment of a typical Doonmore experience, great food, great service and great craic, even without the music. The island is beautiful and enchanting, with the music of the ocean in the air always. Regards, Andrew
Read more
leon-mac wrote a review Sep 2020
Ireland37 contributions46 helpful votes
Visited Inishbofin in late August for 3 nights and stayed in Doonmore Hotel. The Hotel is a family run hotel and all staff were friendly, professional and could not be more helpful. The food for breakfast and dinner was excellent and good value. When we arrived on the ferry from Cleggan, our bags were collected and dropped to the hotel and that excellent service continued for the time we spent there. The hotel is located approx. 10 minutes walk from the pier. The hotel is not a 5 star based on plush furniture or extravagant bedrooms etc. but is 5 star for service, friendliness, location and the people. Andrew and his colleagues just know how to make you feel at home and enjoy yourself while on the island.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Murray, General Manager at Doonmore Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2020
Dear leon-mac, Thank you so much for your great review. We put great emphasis on great service and great food to match the fantastic location we are lucky to occupy. Our guests value this above any star rating and know all too well that e.g. 4 stars is based on certain room sizes and room facilities but has little to do with quality of service. We aim for the highest levels of service in a relaxed professional setting without the pretence of grandeur. You seem to understand this very well and highlight it perfectly in your review, thank you. Regards, Andrew
Read more
Morsiemike wrote a review Sep 2020
Derry, United Kingdom111 contributions66 helpful votes
We stayed in the hotel in September and emailed ahead advising that we are vegan. We arrived off the ferry on a gorgeous day and our bags were taken to the hotel for us and we happily strolled to the hotel at our leisure (transfer was offered). We were ready for lunch and ate at the outside tables with a local chicken who recognised that we were vegan and felt safe. We were checked in at 3 after a lovely walk around the west of the island which was just stunning. We had booked dinner and had the two vegan options which were excellent. On the following day the chef, Marius, made us two new vegan meals which were first class. We had four to choose from but went with the specially prepared cauliflower steaks with pesto and butternut risotto. Fabulous food and the staff made us feel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Murray, General Manager at Doonmore Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2020
Dear Morsiemike, Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We always aim to have dishes on our menu that cater for a broad range of dietary choices. I'm delighted that you enjoyed what our chef prepared for you. I expect that you will be back for more tasty dishes in 2021 and I look forward to meeting you both again. Regards, Andrew
Read more
Maeve K wrote a review Aug 2020
Co. Clare3 contributions3 helpful votes
This was our 4th time to stay at Doonmore. Andrew and Donna, along with all of their staff, just couldn't do enough for us, especially in these difficult times. We were lucky to have had a sea-view room, which was fantastic. The food is excellent. Location is perfect for the great walks the island has to offer. Will definitely be returning in 2021
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Murray, General Manager at Doonmore Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2020
Dear Maeve K, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I look forward to welcoming you both back for visit number 5 next year. Regards, Andrew
Read more
Martha E wrote a review Aug 2020
12 contributions5 helpful votes
Fabulous island / weather /food /location and people, cannot find fault with anything. beautiful walk along the sea to the hotel and there’s a lovely beach just past the hotel. the food was beautiful in the hotel restaurant, we requested the sun porch so had amazing views of the sea and the setting sun. All staff were friendly and everyone compliant with Covid regulations. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Murray, General Manager at Doonmore Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2020
Dear Martha E, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly and I look forward to seeing you back with us in 2021. Regards, Andrew
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$120 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doonmore hotel inishbofin
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayInishbofin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing