We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mountain Inn & Suites

Show Prices
#1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mountain Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

$249 a night for special event and they ran out of breakfast and coffee. Rooms are very "worn" and as our daughter called them "ratchet". Any more than $60 dollars it's over priced! Watch the police arrest on of the guest and take him away in handcuffs.

Helpful?
Thank J M
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

We stayed one night at the Mountain Inn & Suites. We needed several last-minute changes and the staff accommodated without a hitch. We got to interact with three shifts of front desk folks and they were all kind and helpful. The rooms were reasonably clean, there was plenty of space, the pool was clean. There was plenty of parking. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank hdfranz
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

II'm on a motorcycle trip, and had to stop short of my destination (Asheville) due to bad weather. I'm kind of glad I did...the place was quite nice. The rooms are large (I had a single king, I'm sure the suites are larger), there is plenty of parking, I was able to park my bike right under the overhang by... More 

Helpful?
Thank John F
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us at Mountain Inn and Suites. You are correct, we were a Holiday Inn Express until two years ago when we became an independent hotel. We are glad that you found your stay to be comfortable, as we take pride in taking care of our guests. We will certainly take into consideration your request for accessible... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

First the promised handicapped room with walk in shower was not available when we arrived.The room we had was on the 3rd floor and when electricity went off due to storm we could not call out on phone or leave 3rd floor due to non-working elevator. The room became hot and stifling in a matter of a few minutes. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We strive to make sure that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable experience during their visit to our hotel. Unfortunately, problems due arise and the effects of the weather is often out of our control. Luckily, the storm did pass rather quickly and power was restored within a half hour or so. Due to the storm affecting... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Stayed 5 days, and 4 nights, had a great time. Staff was extremely helpful and polite. Kids had a blast in the pool, and hot tub. Very clean place, at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was much better than I had expected, waffles, sausage, biscuits and gravy, milk, juice, coffee, bagels, toast, and more. We will definitely come back to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tonyandlauraburnett
Shannon B, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting our hotel and we are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in providing wonderful customer service, clean rooms, and hospitality to our guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future when your family visits our lovely town. More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

I'm sure this was a nice place several years ago...not so much now...ownership and staff have stopped caring for the facility and is degrading quickly...numerous issues with the key card doors...TVs inoperable..bare bones breakfast..weeds outside of the hotel...pool was closed due to leaks...better options in nearby Johnson City or Asheville

Helpful?
Thank jdhbigdog
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

My dad and I stayed here the night before we left for the Appalachian Trail. The hotel is definitely showing its age, but we had a clean room and the staff were pleasant. The breakfast was ok - about what you would expect for a free breakfast. If you're looking for a decent place to stay for a night or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Summer G
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Mountain Inn and Suites. We are glad that you came to visit while your father was hiking the AT. We are always open to suggestions for our breakfast bar and would be happy to provide a different selection for our guests. Please come back and visit us when you are passing through Erwin, TN. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

We were in Erwin to attend a funeral and are repeat customers at Mountain Inn & Suites. Each time we have stayed there the staff has been very cheerful and helpful to us. The free breakfast has a wide variety of choices and plenty of it. The room we had was clean and neat. We choose the non-smoking rooms and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Delores R
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued visits to Mountain Inn and Suites. We take pride in caring for our guests. We hope you stay with us again very soon! More 

Unicoi, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Stayed on 5/28. There were ants in my room and on linen. I saw ants near the breakfast area too. The lobby, breakfast area and hallways were blisteringly hot. The towels looked dirty and were very thin. The last time I stayed was probably 2 years ago and it has gone way downhill. The only positive thing is the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank lilredsammy
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Mountain Inn and Suites. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests. We would have been happy to have adjusted the A/C settings in the lobby/breakfast area and given you fresh towels if we had known you were uncomfortable during your stay. Unfortunately, ants are always a problem at the beginning of... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Need an economical stay, this little hotel with mountain views does fill the bill. Very dated but friendly little place, the casual atmosphere does help you relax. Just off I-26, this made visiting Asheville a breeze (45minute drive) and nearby Johns town. We were able to visit nearby flea markets and Biltmore for a fraction of the cost. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank ASunflower46
Patelsc8, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Mountain Inn and Suites. We truly enjoy our little town and all it has to offer. It is surrounded with many outdoor attractions to include: the Appalachian Trail, fly fishing in the Nolichucky River, many place to raft or kayak, breathtaking waterfalls, and locally owned restaurants and antique stores to visit. We pride ourselves in accommodating... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erwin
21.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
13.4 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#3 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
15.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#5 of 20 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
14.1 mi away
Quality Inn Johnson City
Quality Inn Johnson City
#10 of 20 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Inn & Suites

Address: 2002 Temple Hill Rd, Erwin, TN 37650-7980 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Erwin
Price Range: $97 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Erwin
Erwin Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay