We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2002 Temple Hill Rd, Erwin, TN 37650-7980
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (29)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (3)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Erwin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
159Reviews1Q+A38Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 76
  • 40
  • 19
  • 14
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MikeinMaryland wrote a review Oct 2020
California, Maryland36 contributions12 helpful votes
I reserved a room about a month in advance to join friends during a 3-day hike of the A/T where Erwin was our "base camp". I was quoted a rate at that time of $94/night. When I showed up I was billed $200/night. I was told the rate was because it was "race weekend" at Bristol Motor Speedway (a 35 mile drive from the hotel) and that the person who quoted the $94/night price was incorrect. Ironically, the hotel was nearly empty for the entire weekend. There was no complimentary breakfast due to COVID (however, the Fairfield Inn that I stayed at near the Asheville airport where I flew in to and out from provided breakfast, albeit, it was pre-wrapped and you had to take it back to your room...and they only charged $74/night). The Mountain Inn & Suites is run-down and not worth $94/night (and definitely not $200/night!!!). After complaining about the rate, the manager reduced it to $150/night, so at least I didn't get totally ripped off. Next time I come to Erwin to hike the A/T, I'll just stay at the Uncle Johnny's, or camp on the trail, or stay at a hotel closer to Asheville and "suck up" the 30 minute drive to the trail-head. Mountain Inn & Suites is "Motel 6" quality that wants to charge Paris, France, rates. Save your money and find someplace else to stay if you are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from mis erwin, Owner at Mountain Inn & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank You for staying with us at Mountain Inn & Suites. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your room price . The price is always little higher at Bristol race weekend then the the regular days.We did gave you $ 150.00 total off during your 3 night stay with us, also due to Covid-19 we don't offer the full hot breakfast for the safety, but we did have a few prepacked items.
Read more
Mary E wrote a review Jun 2020
Tampa, Florida10 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here for a few nights to visit family on our honeymoon. It was decently quiet with very few other people here. Was disappointed that all amenities were closed and no breakfast was given. I wish the hotel would have noted that when I booked. Bed was decent. Small tv and lots of stains on the floor and chair. Needs a lot of updating. Window air conditioner unit was not the best. Overall not bad for the money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Sandy W wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
This hotel needs TLC, you can tell it was once a great place. Little to no maintenance, halls are dark and smell bad, landscaping is over grown, not mowed, windows are dirty. Lights in the rooms and bath are dim, carpets need cleaned and the furniture has seen better days. The lobby the best looking place in the building! In my opinion NOT worth what I paid thru Priceline $95 for 1 person!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Miserwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites
Responded Oct 23, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay, and we are sorry to hear that it did not exceed your expectations. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. once again thanks for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you in the future travels.
Read more
A F wrote a review Aug 2019
Greer, South Carolina11 contributions2 helpful votes
I was so disappointed. The lady at the front desk was incredibly rude and unaccomodating. I would not recommend this shack at all. We frankly just got the room to have a place to shower. We didn’t even sleep there. We had our group come to the pool and she pretty much kicked us out (even though NO ONE was using the pool but us! I know we didn’t have our group stay there, but considering we didn’t even sleep there and we paid for a two night stay, I don’t think it’s much to ask to let us use the freaking pool.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Miserwin, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites
Responded Aug 11, 2019
Solo Traveler, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. You rented a room for 2 nights for 1 person. We have no reason to know you only rented the room to use the shower. Our pool is clearly posted for Registered Guest only. Your 'group' of 20+ individuals were in the pool without asking. This was considered an unauthorized pool party. We do not allow unauthorized use of the pool and this is why they were asked to leave.
Read more
travel920 wrote a review Jul 2019
Michigan117 contributions54 helpful votes
This hotel is located in Erwin, a beautiful town surrounded by gorgeous mountains. With a little care this hotel could be amazing, but it’s not. I’m going to guess that the owner does not live in the town. It’s is apparent they put little to no money into this property. The rooms are outdated, the halls smell like smoke, the beds are hard. Towels and sheets are thin and worn. The TV was small and sat crooked on an old metal plate. It would take 2min to remove the 2 screws and allow the TV to sit flat and even, but again they don’t seem to care. If you book on their website you are actually booking with a third party. The website does not mention this. If you need to make changes the front desk can not help you, we decided to shorten our stay, we booked via the website. To modify our reservation we had to call a number the front desk person handed us! Of course they don’t answer (it’s 3:30 pm on a Friday). The front desk person said “I don’t know maybe they left early because it’s Friday)! After a few more times of questioning how we should get the changes made she finally called someone to make the changes! The good: The air conditioning was nice and cool. The room was quiet, we were by the elevator and had no interruptions:
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Miserwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites
Responded Oct 23, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay, and we are sorry to hear that it did not exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn erwin, erwin holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeErwin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Rock Creek Park (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hibachi House, Pal's Erwin, and Dari-Ace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mountain Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mountain Inn & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Does Mountain Inn & Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Mountain Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.