We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chattanooga Choo Choo

AMOMA$106*
View Deal
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$136*
$106*
Great Deal
$132*
$125*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,639 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chattanooga Choo Choo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,605: English reviews
Johnson City, TN
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked 22 rooms for 7th & 8th grade students & chaperones 7 months before visit. Asked for rooms with only doors opening to inside hallways (for safety of children). Got there & had every room with sliding glass doors that open to outside (1st floor rooms)! 2 rooms were filthy. Provided proof we asked for and were supposed to have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Seth W
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

You know situations have two sides to every story, this one of them. While there were some issues regarding room assignments after check-in, your comments regarding service and housekeeping are troubling and not exactly correct. The rooms originally assigned to your group were on the ground floor and each room in Hotel 2 has a sliding glass door with a...

MIDDLESBORO
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel lobby is a marvelous example of architechtual detailing we just don't see anymore. The grandeur of the building sends me back to a time of prosperity and elegant travel. The infamous RR stationed here awaits visitors to capture in photos or even sleep and dine in. We had dinner at the Station House Restaurant on the premises and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cumberlandmanorb
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am happy to hear that you stay was wonderful. Thank you for sharing your comments and appreciating the historic beauty of the station. We look forward to your return. Regards, Jill Ellis Coker QA

Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We are having many of the same experiences I have read. And yes, we are still here! The lobby is beautiful but the rooms are in much need of repair. There is peeling wallpaper, dirt in every corner, stained carpet and it was obvious that everything in the room as well as bldg 2 needed a very deep cleaning. Front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brittney22
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. I feel assured that if you had known of your concerns with your room we could have rectified the situation. It is unacceptable that the room wasn’t clean and ready for you and the rude service that you received in the restaurant. We will use your comments to continue to improve...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had been to Chattanooga on business and stayed at the Sheraton Reed House. A bunch of us went to the Station Restaurant at the Chattanooga Choo Choo and had a great time. We loved the looks of the old train depot, and we all thought it would be fun to stay in one of the train cars when not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cindy P
Union City, Tennessee
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Being from Tennessee, I've always heard of the Chattanooga Choo Choo. We live on the other side of the state and just returned from a 2 night stay. We were pleasantly surprised from the moment we checked-in. The front desk gave us directions to the aquarium, which is a must see. Our room was spacious and felt clean. My family...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mitzi H
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

We are glad you were pleasantly surprised. Thank you for sharing your story with us. We love to know that we exceeded your expectations. Come back again soon. Regards, Jill Ellis Coker Quality Assurance

Columbus Indiana
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our family of 3, DH, myself and our DD6 went down for a long weekend during our spring break. I had purchased a Groupon, which ended up being a great deal!. Our first 2 nights we stayed in a train car. We loved it and wished we would have stayed in it the whole time. The 3rd and 4th nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingdiva78
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Glad you loved our train themed complex. Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your spring break. It is nice to hear that you were able to enjoy staying in a railcar room and hotel room. Also, we are glad you were able to visit our restaurants and retail areas. I do apologize for the service that you received...

Newland, North Carolina
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in a train car anticipating a "beautifully restored" experience as the website says. What we encountered was a sad little tube with dust encrusted corners and cabinets in the bathroom held together with paper-tape.The toilet seat was peeling and the cover of the back of the toilet was from a different unit so we were left with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AuntBeem
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Yes it was very busy. I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. It is unacceptable the service that you received from the front desk and housekeeping departments. Your comments will be used to continue to improve our product and service. However, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay in a suite in Building 3....

Dickson, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is wonderful. It has all your modern amenities with that old historic feel. I loved it. It was romantic, yet fun. It has pools, trains, history, luxury and that feel that sets it apart from any other place. My husband and I stayed for 1 night as a quick weekend getaway and we will definately be back this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candy T
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your 5 STAR REVIEW! I am glad that you had a great experience at the Choo Choo.. We get many similar comments from other guests. Thank you for appreciating the the concept! We hope that you will come back again while visiting Chattanooga. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Gordonsville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I realize that this is a busy hotel and that it is very old. However, I think that it is time that they update the decor. Although our room was clean, the old decor made it feel a little dirty. I do love staying the train car, BUT I wish I had been warned about prom. I found out that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winteriris
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am pleased that the you had a good experience . The weekend was very busy and security normally does a good job with the parking, sorry for the inconvenience. I hope you come back again. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Arkansas
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from a two-night stay in building 3 of the hotel. I had high hopes for the stay, but I was sadly disappointed when we arrived. The hotel itself is beautiful. The staff, however, seems to have an aversion to people. We ate at the hotel buffet twice while we were there (once for supper, and once for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arkie_2008
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments about our beautiful hotel. I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. It is disappointing to hear of your comments. I am surprised about the staff comments; we normally get great comments about the staff. Yes we were full for the weekend, but, I have never heard that comment about our pool since...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,195 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1071)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (306)
Viewed
Room/Suite (155)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (468)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (17)
Viewed
Executive King Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Pullman Train Car Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range: $136 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chattanooga Choo Choo staff and other travelers.
31 questions
Ask a question

I've been coming here 1-2x a year for about 7 years now-always in winter. This year I finally attended a convention there in summertime and I was STOKED to finally use that pool that had been vexing me.

All day long it was full of feral children and at night, when the con activities slowed the pool gates were locked. (9pm!) that was the only time I saw any security off their golf cart-to lock us out of the pool! Earlier in the day, we noticed a car POURING GAS from it tank in the parking lot. We flagged the centaurs (security/golf cart hybrids) and one said point blank that he didn't care because it "wasn't his car". I called the front desk 2x about it. No one really seemed to care.

I am SORELY disappointed, Choo Choo.

Also the renovations are terrible, did you have to tear out the station house and sandwich shop at the same time? The gardens breakfast we used to look forward to was awful, and the short male waiter was TERRIBLE. Overheard him telling a table of three ladies that unless they gave him another dollar he would have to pay a dollar to take care of them (not sure what he meant, but they coughed up an extra dollar, which he pocketed and left them without saying ty) ladies told us they'd never be back. When we paid him, he didn't even offer to bring our change, just took our cash and left.

He should be fired.

  We had silver car pizza 1x and it was burnt. We called out to papa johns and then city cafe after that.

We have always stayed here at the choo choo, and looked forward to it, but after this past weekend at the con, we're considering branching out and trying another hotel nearby...

over a year ago
Decatur, Alabama
10 months ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Chattanooga Choo Choo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ear-plugs, as usual!”
Christy_Luv2, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“some rooms had a view of other rooms. 223 looked out into a parking lot”
841jscott, Mar 13, 2017 | Read review
“Can't give an opinion of the hotel, because I didn't stay there.”
H4094IMjanetb, Mar 9, 2017 | Read review
“Have a carriage if you can do the steps it so different”
avrilwiltravel, Mar 2, 2017 | Read review
“1) don't pick a room that faces the street. 2) train cars might sound like a good idea but”
gonzaloc711, Feb 27, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
AMOMA
$106* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$132
Booking.com$125
getaroom.com$136
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates