We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chattanooga Choo Choo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chattanooga Choo Choo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,592: English reviews
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days/2 nights as a little get away. We found a deal for $89/night, which made the hotel worth it. The room was clean and bigger than I expected. We stayed in building 3, which other people have said is the best of the three. Just know that it is also the farthest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cpholdefer
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your great comments. Glad you enjoyed your room, the indoor pool, and other venues around our complex. I am so glad to hear that our property was ideal for your needs. Thanks for choosing the Choo Choo for your stay. We look forward to another visit real soon. Regards Jill Ellis Coker Quality Assurance

Greenwood, South Carolina
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Chattanooga Choo Choo is a very pleasant place to stay. We stayed in one of the train cars. It was a little expensive, but we had never had that kind of experience. Very nice car. They could do some upgrading with room amenities at that price. A little extra something something for $250 a night. Like a nicer coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your story with us and you 4 STAR review. We love to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. in a great location. Come back again soon. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

bbq4u
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I have no interest in staying here again. I usually stay at the Holiday Inn Express while in town, but my wife traveled with me this time and wanted to stay here. No Mr. General Manager, not all hotels in the area charge for parking. Obviously, there is plenty of surface cleaning going on here. The corners of the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbq4u
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. No excuse that your room was not properly prepared. Did you notify management about your issues? If management knows of an issue they will act on it. We sometimes make mistakes, but we also make great recoveries. We did do a survey of the downtown hotels and 11 out of 14...

White, Georgia
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is our second time staying and it has went down hill since we last stayed. You have to rent a fridge at $15 a night and the place has water stains on the ceilingsthe wall paper in the hall way was tacked up by a tack pin. The beds are only full size in most rooms and they should...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tabitha M
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Let us know if you are ever unhappy about anything and let us find a solution to exceed your needs. We just need the chance to prove it, let us know, please. If we do not know you are unhappy it is much harder to fix the problem. Give me a...

Ohio
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in a train car, loved the experience. This was my Grandson's Christmas Gift, he had a great time. Very historical. Staff was very friendly and helpful in all instances. LOVED the Singing Waiter Restaurant. All food experiences were good, we tried Pizza, Garden Restaurant and Singing Waiter Restaurant, loved them all. A Quiet peaceful experience with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 01oldlady
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review and I am pleased you had a really good experience with your grandson.. Also, I am glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our signature rooms, the train cars. We get many similar comments from other guests. All the Best Jim Bambrey GM

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have such fond memories of this place! The property itself is pretty big with a variety of room options which vary from motel type rooms to actual accomodations in actual train cars. I recommend you look at your options before booking. While the most basic rooms are a tad outdated, it is still a comfortable clean stay. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. We love to hear such comments and I will make sure they are shared with the departments. We take great pride in our property. Thanks for recommending us! Come back again soon! All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

New York City, New York
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here in late Sept of 2013 And the hotel is really a motel. Horrible horrible run down rooms with smelly carpets and hallways. The property is a national historic place and it just makes me sad that a company would allow such a historic place fall apart like the management has done here. Charge 6$ for parking for no...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Fengshuihellnyc
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Believe me; we don’t like to see negative reviews. In the month of September, we sold over 7,868 rooms with approximately 8 reviews 2 and below, that’s 1 per 983 rooms sold! And remember, some of the reviews are guest opinions. Our CSI index with Tripadvisor for the last quarter is in the 84 percentile. I regret that you were...

Clonmel, Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were travelling from Atlanta, Georgia to Nashville and decided to break the journey by spending a night in Chattanooga. This hotel was lovely. The room was big and very nicely furnished, very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a great breakfast at a good price in the Garden Restaurant. There was a free shuttle bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your 4 Star review! Our property does offer many unique and different venues. Thanks for the comments about staff and the Gardens. Thanks for your recommendation. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A night was spent in Chattanooga' s Choo Choo Hotel along with my son, his wife and daughter. Upon leaving, we discovered, after a couple of hours on the road, that a $600 IPad was left in the room. A call was made to the hotel asking that they retrieve the iPad. My son was told that the ipad could...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank canada36
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Unreal, this is the second review on the same issue. I repeat, we feel violated having a staff member being accused of stealing! I would like to clarify a couple of things. As soon as we got your call, we immediately went and checked the room and 2 additional times upon your request. We removed the beds from the frames...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The first room we were placed in was in building 3 and within 5 minutes of arrival my daughter noticed a giant (I honestly mean HUGE) roach crawling up the wall. I was in the bathroom when this happened and I was running out of the door and noticed what appeared to be throw up all over the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brentandchristy
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. There is no excuse that your room was not prepared properly. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service. I don’t know who you emailed,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1045)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (300)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (153)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (450)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (17)
Viewed
Executive King Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Pullman Train Car Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,194 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range: $138 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chattanooga Choo Choo staff and other travelers.
31 questions
Ask a question

I've been coming here 1-2x a year for about 7 years now-always in winter. This year I finally attended a convention there in summertime and I was STOKED to finally use that pool that had been vexing me.

All day long it was full of feral children and at night, when the con activities slowed the pool gates were locked. (9pm!) that was the only time I saw any security off their golf cart-to lock us out of the pool! Earlier in the day, we noticed a car POURING GAS from it tank in the parking lot. We flagged the centaurs (security/golf cart hybrids) and one said point blank that he didn't care because it "wasn't his car". I called the front desk 2x about it. No one really seemed to care.

I am SORELY disappointed, Choo Choo.

Also the renovations are terrible, did you have to tear out the station house and sandwich shop at the same time? The gardens breakfast we used to look forward to was awful, and the short male waiter was TERRIBLE. Overheard him telling a table of three ladies that unless they gave him another dollar he would have to pay a dollar to take care of them (not sure what he meant, but they coughed up an extra dollar, which he pocketed and left them without saying ty) ladies told us they'd never be back. When we paid him, he didn't even offer to bring our change, just took our cash and left.

He should be fired.

  We had silver car pizza 1x and it was burnt. We called out to papa johns and then city cafe after that.

We have always stayed here at the choo choo, and looked forward to it, but after this past weekend at the con, we're considering branching out and trying another hotel nearby...

over a year ago
Decatur, Alabama
9 months ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Chattanooga Choo Choo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ear-plugs, as usual!”
 of 5 bubbles Christy_Luv2, yesterday | Read review
“some rooms had a view of other rooms. 223 looked out into a parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles 841jscott, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Can't give an opinion of the hotel, because I didn't stay there.”
 of 5 bubbles H4094IMjanetb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Have a carriage if you can do the steps it so different”
 of 5 bubbles avrilwiltravel, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“1) don't pick a room that faces the street. 2) train cars might sound like a good idea but”
 of 5 bubbles gonzaloc711, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question