We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chattanoogan

Save
Share
1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
The Chattanoogan
$169
View Deal
Hotels.com
$148
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/20
Expedia.com
$148
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/20
Agoda.com$130
Booking.com$169
lovevacations$185
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (283)
Room & Suite (304)
Dining (44)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Chattanoogan
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 102 hotels in Chattanooga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
1,675Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn more badges
Traveler rating
  • 942
  • 401
  • 180
  • 85
  • 67
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Itsinthegame wrote a review Jun 2020
16 contributions8 helpful votes
Dealt with him on phone in regards to booking a room and he was very arrogant and rude We booked at another location due to his behavior Just because the room block was for a political party he seemed annoyed Sorry but your hotel lost out on us spending good money at your hotel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from AUgirl98, Director of Sales at The Chattanoogan
Responded Jun 29, 2020
Good Afternoon, I am sorry to hear about your experience with one of our sales team members. Please call me direct at 423.424.3749 to discuss further. Thank you, Ellen Peavy
Read more
LJR wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
My husband and I always stay here when we visit family in Chattanooga. They were open/honest before our stay about what to expect. Restaurant was closed due to COVID. Construction noise was minimal and did not affect sleep at all. Valet was not available but they accommodated handicap parking in the valet area which was helpful. Richardson’s
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from AUgirl98, Director of Sales at The Chattanoogan
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
MermaidTeacher7 wrote a review Mar 2020
Sparta, Tennessee79 contributions33 helpful votes
From the outside and lobby, one would believe that you had booked and were staying at a luxe hotel. The lobby is well appointed. The fire pit outside is cozy. The two way indoor fireplace is nice. Then, we proceed to our guest room. Two of the three bathroom lights were burned out. The refrigerator was unplugged—easy fix, but not what is expected. The TV was not working correctly with the satellite system remote. We were not there to watch TV in our room, so not a major deal. But again, not what is expected. We did not contact guest services about the bathroom lights because we could see and simply did not want to be bothered by maintenance in our room. The hot water supply was insufficient. We were forced to take cold showers at 9am because there was no hot water. Again, not what is expected. Overall, we were very disappointed and will not stay here again, nor will we recommend this hotel to others. Too many problems!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AUgirl98, Director of Sales at The Chattanoogan
Responded 4 weeks ago
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of renovating the rooms and meeting space now. Will be completed very soon! We look forward to welcoming you back to give us another try.
Read more
momoftwo wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
When you run out of hot water around 8 am, you can't call your hotel a "luxury" hotel. Also, the air conditioner wasn't very cool; we set it on 60, but we were still warm. The valet was great and so was the maintenance man, who had to come fix our tv.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlos M, Guest Relations Manager at The Chattanoogan
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Thank you for staying at our hotel,momoftwo111. We hope you will accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations. We always strive to deliver a superb experience for every guest. It is our hope that you will consider giving us a future chance to provide you with the superior hospitality and experience you should always expect from us.
Read more
appleapm wrote a review Mar 2020
Rockford, Illinois114 contributions18 helpful votes
Supposedly they are becoming a Hilton, HOWEVER, they have a long way to go. They no longer have a pool or hot tub and the “pseudo” workout room is a joke. The carpet is coming up at the seams throughout the hotel, housekeeping was horrible for my entire conference (no soap, alarm clocks set at midnight to go off in both my room and multiple co-workers rooms, toilets running and loudly, forgot to leave hand towels, etc.). They have direct tv and many of us had to have our tv’s reset because the channels weren’t working, the light up mirror didn’t light up and their water is extremely chlorinated and tastes awful. One of my coworkers car was broken into while under the care of their valet service and they claimed no responsibility. Go elsewhere. This place really was a let down.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlos M, Guest Relations Manager at The Chattanoogan
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. We apologize for failing to provide you with an outstanding experience, and we are sorry we were not at our best. Please be assured we are sharing your comments with the rest of the team to enhance the areas you mentioned above. We hope you will give us a future opportunity to demonstrate improvements and provide you with exceptional experience.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the chattanoogan hotel chattanooga, chattanoogan hotel chattanooga, chattanoogan chattanooga
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeChattanooga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
198
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Chattanoogan
Which popular attractions are close to The Chattanoogan?
Nearby attractions include Pints and Pedals (0.2 miles), Coker Museum (0.2 miles), and Warehouse Row (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Chattanoogan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Chattanoogan?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Chattanoogan?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Chattanoogan?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Chattanoogan?
Conveniently located restaurants include St. John's Restaurant, Public House, and The Hot Chocolatier.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Chattanoogan?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Chattanoogan located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Chattanooga.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Chattanoogan?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Chattanoogan offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Chattanoogan?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cravens House (2.6 miles).