We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Watertown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Boone, Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have grandchildren who just moved to Watertown, so plan to visit regularly. There are the other chains that probably are well-kept and have pools, but this place has a big waterslide in the pool area, so we chose this place over the others. The problem is that they have the water so cold that the kids can't stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IowaBilly
h20town2, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service.

United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a reservation but arrived late on the night of 10/20. This is definitely a kid friendly hotel with big indoor pool and slide, and there were kids everywhere! When I checked in, I asked the manager Diane if I could get a top floor room away from all the activity. She seemed a little frazzled and told me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
h20town2, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you were able to be accommodated with your request. W e will make sure that Diane sees this review. We hope to see you again soon!

Holloway Minnesota
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice modern hotel. Room was very clean. The only downfall was our room darkening drape didn't close, so the light from the parking lot was shining in. Nice water slide and pool. Great breakfast. Friendly and accommodating staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesajot
h20town2, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience with your drape, we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We came to town for a special event and this is our go-to hotel. We are always comfortable there. If you plan to arrive for an early check-in, the hotel will make a special effort to have your room ready. The big attraction here is the huge indoor water park, with pool, a kiddie pool, a spa, and a huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Violette54
h20town2, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way through town when our usual hotel was booked. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Lifeguard was on his way out by stayed for our kids to use the waterslide which they thoroughly enjoyed! Great, large, clean pool/hot tub area. Room were okay - fairly clean, but a little grungy in the corners likely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dovely7
h20town2, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Canada
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Beds weren't comfy. Mini fridges didn't seem to be available. My shower curtain had spots of mold all over the bottom. Bagels were dried out at breakfast and fruit was getting old and barely any fruit choice. Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tropical_blue~
h20town2, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Auburn, Washington
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Beautiful swimming area and water park. Not many kids here (probably were in school). Nice, clean suite. Laundry facilities. I would have given this 5 stars, but here's why it got 4. Holiday Inn Expresses are currently running a promotion where they have breakfast until noon and a late check-out on weekends. It's called Snoozapalooza....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katehammer
h20town2, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

The water park was awesome for the kids, but we stayed in a 2 room suite that needed repairs. Looked rundown and smelled. Bed was horrible and pillows were lumpy. I am a platinum member in IHG rewards I stay in Express ' once a week and not impressed with this one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hvac z
h20town2, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. As an IHG Platinum Elite Rewards Club...

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed September 9, 2016

We arrived at 11pm after a mix-up with another hotel. Amy at the front desk was so helpful. The breakfast was wonderful....love the pancake machine! The room was clean and we appreciated the Bath and Body Works toiletries...although we could have used a bit more. Overall, the hotel was clean and comfortable and the food was good. We would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmyinKC
h20town2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your recent review.We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

South Dakota
Reviewed August 26, 2016

I'm sad and disappointed to say we'll never stay here again. This hotel is in my hometown and we've stayed there several times over the years when we come back to visit family. There was an ugly incident with the front desk clerk. She was extremely rude and condescending. I have never been spoken to like that from a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine81
Jamie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watertown
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Watertown
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
#5 of 11 in Watertown
115 reviews
20.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Watertown
Days Inn Watertown
#3 of 11 in Watertown
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Watertown is home of the Terry Redlin Art Center, Mellette House, and the Bramble Park Zoo.Conveniently located near shopping.Gaming just minutes north of I-29.Watertown municipal golf course just west on hwy 212. Features include 140 ft. water slide with splash pool, sports pool, children's enchanted pool, large whirlpool and arcade. Winter Hours:September 1st thru May 31st Sunday 8 am to 11 am, Monday through Thursday closed, Friday 5 pm to 10 pm, Saturday 8 am to 10 pm. Summer Hours: June 1st thru August 30th Sunday 8 am to 11 am and 5 pm to 10 pm, Monday through Friday 5 pm to 10 pm, Saturday 8 am to 10 pm. Free deluxe breakfast, free local & 800 calls, free high-speed wireless and hardwired Internet access. Well equipped exercise room, meeting room, guest laundry, and business center. Located at exit 177 on I-29. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers 66 rooms with 24 suites and an elevator. Visit Watertown, SD and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Watertown

Address: 3901 9th Ave SE, Watertown, SD 57201-9104
Location: United States > South Dakota > Watertown
Price Range: $114 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Watertown Hotel Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Watertown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you're traveling without kids, ask for room 243. If you're with kids, have mercy on the rest of us and don't ask for this room haha!”
 of 5 bubbles E8555FRmichaele, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Upstairs and away from the lobby/water park area for quieter rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Violette54, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Stay away it is not acceptable”
 of 5 bubbles donnam334, Apr 23, 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay on the main floor when lots of children present..your better off on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 899MichaelP, Jan 1, 2016 | Read review
“Loud only on the weekends when the pool is full.”
 of 5 bubbles lovelife40, Aug 13, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay