We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buffalo Chip Campground

20622 131st Avenue, Sturgis, SD 57785
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgis
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Buffalo Chip Campground
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Savannah, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Its all good, pretty sure they all get rain and mud about every year. I saw plenty of places to set up that don't get the mud if it rains, now hail is a different story. With 3 to 5 bands a night and about 20 dollars a day its really the best deal in Sturgis for top entertainment. For... More 

Helpful?
Thank delb793
SturgisBuffaloChip, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Buffalo Chip! We are also very excited to see Kid Rock and Miranda Lambert rock the Best Party Anywhere in 2016. We're sure you are going to love the rest of the lineup for the Chip's 35th Anniversary too. You are correct, it will most likely rain at least once during the... More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Great campground with more than enough to do. Stayed here for the 2015 rally to see the Five Finger Death Punch concert. Zip lines, tattoos, women, fun, frolic and many more. Probably the best overall place to stay during the Sturgis Rally.

Helpful?
Thank Nubbin86
SturgisBuffaloChip, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review

We agree, it is awesome! We're very glad you could join us last summer for the Five Finger Death Punch concert (they really rocked the house!) and enjoy a few of the other cool things there are to do at the Buffalo Chip. We hope you will be able to join us again soon, the party wouldn't be the same... More 

Palisade, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

Restrooms are disgusting, no hand soap, no toilet paper, VERY dirty!!!! The BBQ PIG eatery a joke. Paid in advance, waited 2.3 hrs. to get meal, then it was not good. No apologizing.... just excuses... no discount on meal! Showers are extreme, poverty like conditions. It rains a lot there, therefore the camp ground should prepare for the worst... hence,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis c
SturgisBuffaloChip, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Buffalo Chip. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience. We work very hard all year long to make sure every one of our guests has a great time so to hear of a bad experience is disheartening. The restrooms are a big challenge and we hire the largest, and most experienced,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sturgis hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

Well the 2015 Sturgis trip is over and the memories remain. Another great time at the Chip. This year we brought the necessities which include camper, shower and toilet. Granted the complete package was hauled in a motorcycle trailer behind a harley and small as it was it provided all the comforts of home. The Chip has transformed into a... More 

Helpful?
Thank skooter84
SturgisBuffaloChip, Family Member at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for coming. Thanks for taking the time to tell us and others about the good time you had. Thank you for having a good time, we're glad you did, and adding to the great experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Daymon More 

Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
797 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 617 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

We were 5 weeks too late to see the Chip in full swing, but it was still impressive. Imagine a medium sized town that only exists a little over a week each year, and then effectively becomes a ghost town for about 350 days! It is big, and it's hard to visualize the rowdy party, self-contained campground, etc. that comes... More 

Helpful?
Thank HowlnBubba
SturgisBuffaloChip, Family Member at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping in to check us out. You're always welcome, but you'll really have to make it out for the full experience sometime. See you soon ;) Daymon More 

Forest, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

A letter to Woody and Wife ( Exspensive Headache 2015 ) to testimonials I have been to the Chip 4 times now since 2000. The friend that I went with in 2000 has never missed one since that date and that makes 16 times a customer. Both he and I agree that this past year 2015 was the worst of... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn H
SturgisBuffaloChip, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review

Hey, Bernie, thank you for being a loyal Chipster all these years. We really do appreciate your business and we all work very hard to give you the best experience possible. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the entertainment that was booked for 2015, while many of them have played the Chip before the 40+ bands, including Def Leppard,... More 

Cohutta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

Please read this and don't be board about my review of the buffalo chip Rod woodruff does only what he needs to make this thing work first the roads are awful if you have a nice bike stay out if you camp there beware the power is awful what I mean is the voltage is very low and will burn... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank powerlineman1
SturgisBuffaloChip, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Buffalo Chip for the 75th anniversary of the rally last summer. We're very sorry that you had some problems with the electricity. We know that a transformer went out during the week and while the crews proudly replaced it in just a few hours we know it caused some problems for campers, especially those... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

Come prepared to have FUN!! Full amenities on camp, Excellent WiFi, flushing toilets, free showers, laundry on site, plus any more like Bikini Beach, Crossroads Free Access Bar, ZipLine, Biggest line up of concerts for the Sturgis Rally, Legends Ride, Motorcycle Museum, Burnout Pits, Tattoo Cafe, And Many More Contests to Participate in!

Helpful?
Thank LeighAnn D
SturgisBuffaloChip, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, LeighAnn! We are very happy that you had such a great time in 2016. There are a lot of crazy fun things to do at the Buffalo Chip and it sound like you found a few of them. We look forward to seeing your smiling face again real soon! More 

Vancleave
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015 via mobile

We had a blast while staying at the Buffalo Chip. It is what it is and that is a campground, a concert venue, a party spot and a biker hangout. If you are expecting anything more then don't book here. I have read the reviews about this dirty or that dirty or to loud well guess what you are camping... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith F
SturgisBuffaloChip, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments and a special thank you for staying at the Buffalo Chip, Keith! We're so glad you had a great time here enjoying the best party anywhere. We love to hear about people who have had a good time. The Chip staff does work very hard every year and we appreciate that you noticed. Thank... More 

Conway, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

For those of you who expect a 5-star stay and a staff waiting on your every need, you might consider another place---but, if you like friendly people, great music, good food, and the experience of camping outdoors with like-minded people--THIS IS THE PLACE! I was a little concerned about the prices, but entertainment was free, a large slice of Dominoes... More 

Helpful?
Thank RonBusbea
SturgisBuffaloChip, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and partying with us at the Sturgis Buffalo Chip! We are very happy that you had a great time and found the prices to be reasonable. There are many food vendors who come to set up at the Chip every year and while we don't have control over their pricing they are in competition with each... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sturgis Inn
15.7 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
15.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
4.5 mi away
No Name City Luxury Cabins & RV, LLC.
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Sturgis
Super 8 Sturgis
#1 of 4 in Sturgis
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities