We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crow Peak Lodge

346 W. Kansas Street, Spearfish, SD 57783 (Formerly Travelodge of Spearfish)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Crow Peak Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Curtis, Nebraska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

I stayed in June, prior to the Rally Rush. The rates were great and the service of the staff was wonderful. My room was clean, no frills and had a nice window air. My only problem is even though the room was non smoking, a chain smoker was living (long term resident) next to my room so my air conditioner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

We booked this place because it was a good price, & for what we paid we were perfectly happy. Yes it's fairly basic, but the rooms were clean & a decent size, & we got a good night's sleep. Saw info in the room that coffee machines were available on request, so we asked & one turned up within minutes.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gaz_n_Gill
CrowPeakLodge, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. If you find yourself passing though Spearfish again, we hope you will come back to visit us. More 

Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

This small motel has basic, but comfortable and clean rooms. The windows open, so we had fresh air. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very reasonable for the price. Conveniently located near several good restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank BL727
CrowPeakLodge, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Crow Peak Lodge. We look forward to seeing you if you find yourself in Spearfish, SD again. More 

Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

There were signs that this lodge was under new ownership. The prior reviews were not great but I gave this a try. I stayed in a small, clean and adequate room. There is plenty of parking and this motel is walking distance to dining, bars and shopping on the main street in Spearfish. It is quiet since it is two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Edwinhill01
CrowPeakLodge, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us here at the Crow Peak Lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

First of all- the name/pictures are a little misleading. This not a "lodge". It is a motel in the middle of the city. Rooms are OK. The "breakfast" is literally the second-worst I have ever seen- I certainly didn't eat it! (The worst had actual mold on the food) The least you hope for is a cup of coffee and... More 

Helpful?
Thank FitWhiz
CrowPeakLodge, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The Crow Peak Lodge is a small property located just off the main roads in Spearfish in a quiet neighborhood. We offer a simple breakfast of cereal, oatmeal, bread/toast (both white and wheat), waffles, milk, orange juice, tea, and coffee. It is simple, but more than is available at other places with... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night with my boyfriend while we are traveling through SD. Staff was friendly & helpful. Rooms were clean (yes they are standard w/o a lot of extras but we had micro & fridge), bed was comfy & big, breakfast in the morning was modest but if you're expecting a full out buffet then go to a restaurant! Plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mallory P
CrowPeakLodge, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us here at the Crow Peak Lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you if you find yourself in town again. More 

Alton, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Booked & paid for our room a year in advance for this years rally. Specifically booked a ground floor room because of a disability. All year, the indications were that everything was OK. Upon arrival we were told there was a problem, our contracted room was not available... It was all blamed on previous owners. How convenient. We were forced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clyde F
CrowPeakLodge, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay here at the Crow Peak Lodge lessened your Sturgis Rally experience. We purchased the motel July 2 and were booked completely through the Rally. All rates were agreed to with the prior owner, we simply honored the reservations as we had them. We would have happily moved you to a ground floor to try... More 

Travelers are raving about these Spearfish hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

This place is a disaster. The place is worse than a motel 6. Breakfast consists of a waffle or dry cereal. Coffee is the only other thing offered. And the coffee was like tea. Everyone I spoke with thought the same. The housekeeping is the worst I w Have ever seen in my 60 years. I threw my sheets on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnnybazooka
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Some things are expected when you pay over $100 a night. Good bed... Means the sheets, pillows & blankets shouldn't be the cheep ones from Wal-Mart. Bathrooms should be stocked with nice towels, TP & supplies. Breakfast should be more than waffles, donuts and cold cereal. Note to Crow Peak Lodge, the little things count... Value is for the customer!

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

I don't know why this place is so underrated. The staff was friendly, the room large, comfortable and clean. Wi-Fi worked ok (fast, but signal was not stable). The only small disappointment is breakfast: I know its supposed to be a sugar fest, but selection at this place was really 'spartan'. Otherwise, it's a nice place to have a comfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank I16
CrowPeakLodge, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We got the Wi-Fi fixed to ensure a fast, stable signal in all of our rooms. If you pass through Spearfish again, we would love to have you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spearfish
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
2.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#2 of 15 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 15 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Spearfish
Fairfield Inn Spearfish
#10 of 15 in Spearfish
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay