We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lake Park Campground and Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Lake Park Campground and Cottages
 Click to rate
Minnesota
Reviewed December 31, 2016

Stayed here in August 2016. Our first family trip to South Dakota. Rooms and grounds were very tidy. Staff was friendly and helpful. This is a great location if you want to be central to area attractions and have the conveniences of being in town (pizza delivery, ect.). We saw deer walking through the sites on a few occasions. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MNDadMinnesota
Arizona
Reviewed October 7, 2016

We took a chance and stayed in a 2-bedroom cabin for a week. We're very glad we did! The owners are wonderful, friendly people who go out of their way to be helpful. The cabin was very clean with private bedrooms, comfy beds, a kitchen with full-size appliances, and a quiet environment. Overall, the description on the company's website is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrequentAZTraveler
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We attended a family wedding in the area, and after reviewing our hotel options, chose to stay at Lake Park Campground, where we chose the 'Two Bedroom Deluxe Cabin with Patio'. Honestly, if there were a nice hotel in the region, we'd have chosen it. Unfortunately, our search yielded none. But back to this property. Pro: The owners are responsive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianMTucson
cizumel11, Owner at Lake Park Campground and Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Brian: Thanks for reviewing us on trip advisor. You wrote such a convincing review that I had to go pull up our web site just to make sure that we hadn't missed something. You did stay in one of our Two Bedroom Deluxe Cabins with a deck and fireplace. As our web site states, these units have one full...

Reviewed September 12, 2016

Beautiful RV park nestled in a park-like setting with huge mature trees and even the occasional deer trotting down the driveway! Owners, Scott and Sherry, along with rest of their staff were super friendly and went out of their way to ensure our stay was the best ... and it was! We have a 41' motorhome and it worked out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JOHNNY J
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We were treated like dog dodo when we canceled our stay with them. The lady running the front office threatened to not return our money when our RV couldn't fit in the spot she assigned to us. She did not want to move us into a bigger spot so we were forced to cancel. We had to call the police...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mexifin
cizumel11, Owner at Lake Park Campground and Cottages, responded to this review

An eviction is an unpleasant experience for everyone involved. That being said, it does not benefit anyone when platforms such as trip advisor are used in a retaliatory manner. Fortunately, I can say that this has only happened a couple of times over the course of 27 successful summer seasons.

Morrisonville, Illinois
Reviewed August 27, 2016

The sites were a little tight and we didn't have any grass. However, there was lots of grass nearby, along with a lake. A big plus for this campground was the hiking path across the street that went along a river. We walked this a couple of times, in between raindrops. Bathrooms were good. If you go to Rapid City,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
Estevan
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Our family of 5 rented the 2 bedroom cottage. Was clean and comfy and the area was quiet in the evenings. The nearby lake and walking/biking paths are nice additions fo revening activities. Lots of space for everyone. Scott was helpful pointing out the attractions and supplying directions. Would book it again if we ever went back to the Black...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank renkr
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

We had a family of 9 and had plenty of room in our house, the Lake View Cabin. The house was very clean, well stocked and a great location to see the Black Hills. There was a playground right outside our door, and a great deck with lots of chairs and a grill. Plenty of space for our family to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly V
Pierz, Minnesota
Reviewed August 15, 2016

We stayed with our 4 children 4 nights in August. We were totally impressed with everything about this campground. The cabins were super clean with more than enough bedding, dishes, cookware, towels, etc. to accommodate our 6 person family. Beds were super comfortable and even the futon was nice! The grill was awesome and the entire staff went above and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuStuck
Reviewed August 5, 2016

We rented a two bedroom cottage for our family of 5. Scott and Sherri were very accommodating and knowledgable during our stay. We had a fabulous time and would definitely stay here again. The rate was reasonable and the location allowed us to do all we wanted to do with close proximity to all the sites. It is also close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kami S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
1,332 reviews
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
800 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
303 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 51 in Rapid City
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Lake Park Campground and Cottages

Address: 2850 Chapel Lane, Rapid City, SD 57702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Number of rooms: 30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lake Park Campground and Cottages staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sumner, Iowa
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Park Campground and Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“2 bedroom was enough for family of 5 (one slept on futon)”
 of 5 bubbles renkr, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“We had a camper site which was very small, nice shade, no campfires allowed, close to groceries and essentials.”
 of 5 bubbles bonnief794, Jun 29, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage! More than enough room for us and 4 grown boys!”
 of 5 bubbles reneep825, Jun 18, 2016 | Read review
“Cottage #7 right across from the lake!”
 of 5 bubbles 707charityd, Jun 4, 2016 | Read review
“Drive in your own room and you'll be fine or rent one of their cabins. Not really great for tents.”
 of 5 bubbles BCowner55, Aug 24, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question