We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Budget Host Sundowner

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Budget Host Sundowner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Get there early or you will get to climb stairs! The room was good though, we were satisfied with the cleanliness and amenities. The Wi-fi worked well, and though it was near the highway, we never heard the traffic. Would stay there again and recommend it to others for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Mary K
robin r, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for letting our staff serve you, it was a pleasure having you as our guest! More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Because this is a pet friendly hotel, I told them I was traveling with my cat. "Pet Friendly" appears to mean they put you in their dirtiest room. The room and bathroom were clean, but the smell of old smoke and disinfectant made it difficult to breathe. The location is perfect for an early morning take-off to go through the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
robin r, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and apologize if you weren't 100% happy with your room. We are pet friendly and do have non-smoking pet rooms available as well as smoking. We hope you stay with us again, safe travels. More 

Independence, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Upon arriving at this location, we thought the outside looked sketchy. The pool was not in service and the grounds looked a little off. The young lady at the front desk was not personable at all and seemed to not like her job. When we got in our room, we were surprised because it looked much better than the exterior... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Schoons42
robin r, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and are thank you for your business. I apologize for the pool not being open when you arrived, but the issues have been addressed and it is up and running. We hope you stay with us again in the future, safe travels. More 

Des Moines, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

We made the reservation on the road and as we drove up to the motel, I was leery about the quality of the place. But to our surprise the room was very nice, very clean. The owners must have just remodeled the rooms. The outside could use some updating. The bed was very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was nice.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Carole M
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

HI And Thank you for posting a review about The Budget Host Sundowner Motor Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we are always working on updating the property. That is an ongoing project every year when you operate a business. We hope you do make a return trip and stay with us again. Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

Due to rain and lack of choices, we had to stop in Kadoka for the night. Ok, so this is an older roadside type motel and it lacks the modern conveniences. The biggest problem were flies. They have fly traps all along the outside doorways, but they were still a problem. I did get a good night sleep and that's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dottie1224
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the flies, this year has been terrible for them. We are very happy you had a good nights rest. Thank you! Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth Manager More 

Marissa, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

The building is a little dated. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. Standard continental breakfast but area was clean an well stocked which was an accomplishment since the place was full. Great place to stop over for the night.

Helpful?
Thank Eddi511
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again. Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth Manager More 

Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

Room was typical of older motel on the Freeway - decor had seen better days but it was clean, breakfast was cereal and packaged stuff. Attitude of desk clerk was a bit unpleasant. He knew other hotels in town were either full or closed and he made it clear that if we passed up the room he had available we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I just let you know the motels close and many miles were full. Sorry, but I just spoke the truth. Best Regards. Eric Wilmarth MGR More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

It was late and we needed a room. We turned off the freeway and the rate was lower on this than the one next door but still think they over charge. Standard two queen room, ok clean but an old carped that had seen better days. Two outlets on the wall above the nightstand for charging cell phones. Bathroom clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pillerilla
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

HI Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the price, but you did stay at the peak of the summer season. Also, I am sorry about the flies, but we deal with that issue this time of year and it is an ongoing problem. We hope you stay with us again. Kind Regards. Eric... More 

Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

In short, what I can say is this hotel definitely hikes its prices from being one of the only motel/hotels in the area. Unfortunately, due to Sturgis Bike Rally, we were left with little options since everything was booked up for miles. This was the only place that had rooms available with in 50 miles. We ended up paying $200... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlasaG
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and the staff does care for the guests staying here, I am sorry you were not pleased at the property. We take great pride in offering clean, comfortable rooms and outstanding customer service. Again, I apologize on behalf of all of us at the Budget Host Sundowner that you were not happy with the stay.... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

We stayed here on the 2nd night of a 12 day motorcycle trip. This is an older hotel and the rooms are small (we had 4 adults in our room and it was tight). However, the room was very clean. My husband and I got in late due to some mechanical issues - the 2 nearby restaurants were closed by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank C4M2
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review and if you do stay with more than two in a room, you might ask for a room upgrade and try our large family units that have three beds. We hope you stay with us again! Best Regards, Eric Wilmarth, Mgr More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadoka
3.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#13 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
20.7 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Budget Host Sundowner in beautiful Kadoka, South Dakota. Our Inn features 40 well-appointed guest rooms located just minutes from top South Dakota attractions. Come and experience hometown pride and hospitality at its best. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Host Sundowner

Address: 510 SD Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543
Location: United States > South Dakota > Kadoka
Price Range: $88 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Sundowner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Host Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Sundowner Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay