We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 249: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed at the Best Western in Deadwood. Most hotels stated they were booked for the weekend this was untrue not sure what was up with that. Glad it happened though as this was a true gem in Deadwood South Dakota. We were upgraded to a King room non-smoking in the corner very quiet very private and well-kept. The front... More 

Helpful?
Thank mtgrizz69
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for such wonderful comments about our hotel. I am a glad everything was taken card of when you brought your concern to our attention. I would like to apologize for you having an issue at all while you were here. Hank is a very friendly dog, he loves everyone. As our guest, we want to make sure you... More 

Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on a road trip with family and needed to find a place to stay with a reasonable cost. This one fit the bill. The room was clean and the WIFI worked, so it suited our needs for visiting this historic town. We stayed 2 nights and would return again. The restaurant was great for breakfast too!

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are glad you chose to be our guest. We enjoyed having you and your family. Cleaniness is very important in a hotel room and our staff strives to make sure your room is comfortable for you. The restaurant has a fantastic breakfast and the plus is you can sleep in and eat breakfast at anytime. We hope that you... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stayed here several times and never had a problem with the rooms. They are a bit dark even with all the lights on but clean which is what we care about. Most importantly though, these folks are ethical. We did have an issue and Lynda, the manager, did what it took to make things right. We really appreciated it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Muo1176
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad I was able to correct the problems you experienced. I am sorry that you had the problems you did. We are looking forward to having you come back and stay with us again. We do value you as a loyal guest to our hotel. More 

1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2016

This hotel has been a great place to stay the last two times we have been to Deadwood. Our room was in a strange location, but it was very quiet and clean. The staff at check-in was slow, and had problems checking in, and also does not know how to make reservations using Best Western points. This is a problem,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie O
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the staff not being able to make your reservation using your points. I have taken this opportunity to refresh my staff on this procedure. I know this can be very frustrating and we will work to improve this matter. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you... More 

Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2016

On a road trip in the Black Hills in early October and decided to stay here as we had had a good Best Western experience earlier in the week. Not so lucky here, although the price was reasonable (around $70). We were in room 106, which, as a couple of other reviewers have described, was in the corner near the... More 

Helpful?
Thank marleydog
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We certainly hope you will consider staying with us again and allowing us the opportunity to make a much more pleasant impression on you. More 

1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2016

This hotel is very good for the money. Would probably stay in it again. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and clean. We did not eat in the restaurant but when we were leaving it was very busy. Parking spaces could be a little bigger because we had a big pickup and space was a little... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank babbetteh2016
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this survey. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. The next time you are in Deadwood we would love having you as our guest again and maybe you will be able to try the restaurant. I think you will enjoy the food. More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2016

We were quite surprised by this hotel. . .very modest, low ceilings, off the beaten track, but we had the quietest room we have had in a long time - tucked in the corner near the restaurant, but part of a two room hallway (kind of unusual). Quiet room, comfortable bed, friendly staff - including the housekeeping staff!

Helpful?
Thank simpydone
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is truly some of the friendliest group of people. They want everyone to feel welcome. We hope you will come and stay with us again. Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed it. More 

Cheyenne, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2016

The staff is really friendly and helpful. The only problem with this hotel is that it is a bit tired looking. It needs spruced up a bit and it would be the perfect place to stay in Deadwood. The location is excellent if you don't want to be in the heart of the activity and is a nice walk from... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments on our staff. They are truly the most important asset to our property. They are here to make sure our guests enjoy their time in Deadwood and to help them with any request they may have. The trolley is a convenient way to get around town. It makes parking a non-issue for the visitors of... More 

Hope, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Door locking mechanism not working properly was reported to front desk. Later on that day the front desk said that maintenance was sent to repair. However, the problem was not fixed. As long as I stayed in the room, I could use the deadbolt. Once I left the room, the door would not latch, therefor left unlocked in my absence.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John K
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to start by apologizing to you for not following thru with you when you reported the door problem. We dropped the ball with this, we should have called you to make sure it was working properly for you. Please accept our apologies for this. More 

Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2016

This is an older property that TRIED to be updated to BW quality, but failed. No fridge or microwave. There was room for them but poor planning and furnishing choices didn't allow for it. Poor lighting and a shortage of outlets made for an inconvenient stay. We had to take the coffee maker into the bath to make coffee, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank TechyD
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are truly disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations. Our staff strives to make sure our guests have a great stay. At this time we do not offer fridges or microwaves in our rooms and I do urge guests who do require these items to please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
0.6 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: $51 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for room 106 or 107”
 of 5 bubbles simpydone, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the café and casino”
 of 5 bubbles TechyD, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms were available for motorcycle enthusiasts.”
 of 5 bubbles R7459BCkathleenm, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“This is a motor Inn (drive up outside door)”
 of 5 bubbles UtopiaCentral, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was directly above the front lobby where you go into check in and out. We faced the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles Alloha2011, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay