We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 231: English reviews
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Deadwood, S.D., has lots of places to stay in the medium price range. We chose the Best Western over one of the newer places strictly because of the summer $50 gift card offer. The place has been there since before gambling ever arrived and it shows it. It is located away from the Down Town casinos and has put in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Monte H
Madison, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed here six times since 1994. We keep coming back due to the friendly staff, nice setting in the Black Hills, and close to downtown Deadwood. We can walk to most places in town. This motel also has a small casino that's fun to spend time in and just a few steps to your room. It is also... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is always clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. It may not be right on Main Street but is worth going a little out of your way. With the hotel is a small casino and the restaurant has good food reasonably priced.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rex G
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an older typical hotel from the 60s/70s with outside entrances. The rooms are large and clean. My only real complaint is that there was no way to regulate the temperature in the room. You can adjust the fan speed but not the temperature. We needed to warm up the room and there was no way to do this.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John L
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is hard to hear that we did not meet your expectations and you left disappointed with some areas of your stay. I Wish you you would have let us know that you had heating issues as we do have a maintenance person who would have gladly helped you with the heating. Our restaurant is... More 

Baker, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We love it here, the people are amazing and the place is great. It's not far from the main part of town and there is a trolley that stops right in front. The restaurant is fabulous, both the food and the service!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank U6024GCcindya
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a fantastic review, we are glad you enjoy staying with us. We enjoy having you as our guest. We are glad to have your loyalty to our hotel. Our guests are what make our jobs pleasant. We also know good service to you will make your stay in Deadwood memorable. We hope to see you soon! More 

Central
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came to Deadwood for 2 nights. Was not looking for fancy just clean and less expensive. This was less expensive but not the cleanest. A bit dated and could use some work. It is fairly quiet and sits just outside of the main downtown.

Helpful?
Thank UtopiaCentral
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your stay. I am glad that you found our rates to be reasonable. I am disappointed that you did not find our rooms to be exceptionally clean. Our housekeeping staff work very diligently to keep our rooms very clean. Please call me so that I may get some more... More 

Salt Lake City, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room we were assigned was a minimalist study. Small room very small bathroom, only a television for amenities. There was no refrigerator or microwave. Not a big deal for a one night stay. We think we got sick from the attached restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Craig W
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are so very sorry you were unhappy with your stay with us. We do not offer fridges or microwaves at this time. It is unfortunate that you got sick while you were here. Our restaurant practices safe and healthy food handling. I would like to apologize again for not meeting your expectations but we do value your feedback. More 

Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an older dated property that is not located within walking distance to town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was reasonably clean. I did not go into restaurant or "casino??" I think you could do better for the money

Helpful?
Thank mjhbldr2016
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are located 3/4 of a mile from Main Street of Deadwood. There is also a trolley you can ride for $1.00 each time you get on it. I am glad the staff was accommodating and helped you with your needs. We appreciate your feedback and your time for this... More 

Crete, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first time at this Best Western and will definitely stay there again. We enjoyed the short walk to the historic downtown area but there are regular trolley services if you need a ride. The breakfast at the restaurant was excellent!! We also enjoyed the nice roof-top patio drinking our morning coffee.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeannine F
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our patio areas are wonderful to sit back and enjoy the view. We think breakfast is the most important meal of the day and our staff in the restaurant do their best to provide our guests with a great start to their day. We love hearing what our guests feedback and... More 

Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First off I have to say that the staff at the front desk were GREAT! Very friendly and accommodating. However, having stayed in many a Best Western (& other hotels) across the States, this one did not hold up to what I expected from that chain. Most noticeable was there was not refrigerator in the rooms. I haven't been in... More 

Helpful?
Thank lvnlifgrl
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. You are correct we do not have fridges or microwaves in our rooms. I do strongly recommend that if these items are important to you to always ask the hotel directly if they offer them. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#15 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1304
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: $73 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hickok House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay