We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 238: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I got sick elsewhere and this is where we relocated to. Mold free (had allergic reaction at last place). Non smoking room but didn't smell that way. Slight burns in curtains only vise able when light came through just right. Garbage not emptied completely from last people, had a stinky chewing tobacco pouch in the garbage can liner. I get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandi S
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My room was dusty, old, small, poorly decorated, and overpriced. Seems like tourist season is over after labor day, but the prices stay inflated. Nothing good to say, heard all the street noises and loud guests from my first floor room. No frig or micro in room. No continental breakfast. Not too close to town, especially when it is cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kaisereds
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had a bad experience with us. We want our guests to leave here happy and feeling great about their stay. We clearly failed you. Deadwood is a busy destination year around. We are located just 3/4 of a miles from Main Street. There is trolley service you can use. It does cost $1.00 per... More 

Parkville, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Front desk was nice enough but room was not very clean (bathroom toilet seat was disgusting), parking was tight & the attached restaurant was only fair. Wish we had gone elsewhere, there are probably better places closer to town.

Helpful?
Thank Cyndy S
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to start by apologizing for not meeting and exceeding your expectations. We are truly embarrassed that your room was not cleaned properly. I can assure you this is being addressed so that it does not happen again in the future. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

BLUF: Local, Professional, Delicious Stopped in at the local dinner this morning with my family for breakfast. You can tell that it's a local's joint and for good reason. The breakfast was outstanding! The pancake was nearly an inch thick and 12" around; thick cut bacon; crispy hash brown... You get the point. If that's not enough to peak your... More 

Helpful?
Thank bbrooks4316
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a warm and wonderful review. It is truly a great feeling when we hear that our guests have the best possible experience with us. We are fortunate to have the staff we do. They all take pride in their jobs and want to make sure our customers leave here happy, full and well rested. More 

lead, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here to visit family. The staff was very attentive. Room was clean and comfortable. We were able to park in front of our room which was great. We played a bit in the casino and visited with Tammy. She is a sweetie. I will be back the next time I need a place to stay in Deadwood.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
Scott R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. We appreciate the wonderful review! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff at this hotel have been there forever, and are fantastic at what they do. I would highly recommend for that reason. The facilities are well maintained and it is near a trolley stop. The patios are nice and the cost is much less than staying downtown.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 483traciec
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Wow! thank you for such an awesome review. We are glad that you enjoy your stays with us. We surely enjoy having you here. I will relay you wonderful words onto the staff. Thank you again for such a nice review, We look forward to seeing you all again. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The motel room was exceptionally clean, large, with very comfortable beds. All of the personnel were friendly and concerned with making our stay pleasant. The attached restaurant serving breakfast and lunch offered good comfort food with excellent service.

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are glad you found your stay with us to be a great experience. We do care that our guests have a pleasant stay. We also want you to feel comfortable while you are here. If there is anything we can do, we are here to help. Our restaurant has fantastic staff and we are happy you were pleased with... More 

Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

Deadwood, S.D., has lots of places to stay in the medium price range. We chose the Best Western over one of the newer places strictly because of the summer $50 gift card offer. The place has been there since before gambling ever arrived and it shows it. It is located away from the Down Town casinos and has put in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Monte H
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I am very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Our hotel does offer coffee makers in every room. We also offer free coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day. Our restaurant comes highly recommended by the local people. I would like to talk to you personally so that I can get more information from you about your... More 

Madison, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

We have stayed here six times since 1994. We keep coming back due to the friendly staff, nice setting in the Black Hills, and close to downtown Deadwood. We can walk to most places in town. This motel also has a small casino that's fun to spend time in and just a few steps to your room. It is also... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are so glad that you stay with us when you are in Deadwood. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your visit and we look forward to seeing you again! More 

Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

This hotel is always clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. It may not be right on Main Street but is worth going a little out of your way. With the hotel is a small casino and the restaurant has good food reasonably priced.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rex G
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for a nice review. We appreciate you being our guest. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. When traveling we understand that comfort and cleanliness are two of the most important things. Our staff wants every guest to feel at home with us and are here to make sure you have a great stay. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.5 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1304
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: $62 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hickok House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay