We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Iron Horse Inn

Show Prices
#14 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Iron Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Iron Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 122: English reviews
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

What a cool hotel! Great checkin with friendly staffer Jen! Old time ambience with great value. The rooms are very small especially if two of you have big bags as we did. The location is perfect to be in the heart and feel of Deadwood. First time here and looking forward to exploring all the great places in this area!

Helpful?
1 Thank Meesha56
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest, and for your kind words. While we offer clean, comfortable rooms in our downtown location for a reasonable price, our greatest asset is our friendly staff. We work hard to try to make our guests feel at home. With but 19 rooms we can get to personally know many of our guests. I will... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

This place is horrible the heater was broken we reserved a room with two beds ended up with one bed and a cot the heater never got fixed after repeated requests. The parking was horrible there were seven parking spaces for a hotel of 19 rooms. This is an historic building and some of it is charming but most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shana M
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. You booked on-line the least expensive room in our 19 room hotel, a room with one double (full size) bed. This room type is smaller in our historic hotel, designed for a small party or young people on a tight budget. With our liberal discounts, you paid $59/night for the room. When it became... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Stayed here a few weeks after Rally this year. Chose this again based on staying here a few years ago. It's a great property with great character which is why we choose it. Small casino on the first floor, and free coffee located in two spots available throughout the day. We had a queen room, which by modern standards, was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon O
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property, and for your kind words. Because of our historic nature, our rooms do vary in size. I am glad that you found yours, while contained, comfortable! Built in 1896 the walls are very thick, and, combined with our location one block removed from Main Street, a peaceful sleep is the norm. We try to... More 

Neenah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 via mobile

We love going to this hotel. We feel like we're coming home every time we visit. The staff and owners are always friendly. We like the fact that it's not a Holiday inn and that you feel like you're surrounded by history. Kudos to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Dave K
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our repeat guest. With but 19 rooms we often get to meet our guests on a personal level. That is the best thing about this business. Like you, most guests enjoy on our central location and historic nature. I am glad you had another nice stay, and hope to see you... More 

Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

We were very disappointed by the hotel, the room and the ambience. The whole of the ground floor is a casino with poor lighting and rows of slot machines. A more depressing welcome is hard to imagine. The room was small and tired with the bed shoved into an alcove. Although billed as a non smoking room it smelt as... More 

Helpful?
Thank gundee
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest, I am saddened that you were disappointed. Wow, where to begin. We do provide freshly ground free coffee in the lobby each day, and I am sorry that you missed it. We have not allowed smoking in guest rooms in over 4 years. You are the first to say something about being bothered by... More 

Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

This hotel is has the most wonderful husband and wife team that makes your visit very pleasant. You are family to them. I have stayed at this hotel at 4 different times throughout the year. I mainly stay during the Sturgis Rally because of the location of the hotel. It is almost in the middle of all the action and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia R
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. The very best part about owning our historic hotel is the people that you meet and friends that you make. We always "pickup where we left off" with our repeat guests like you. A family reunion of sorts! Our hotel was constructed in 1896, and adapted to its present... More 

San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

So happy with our stay at the Iron Horse Inn! Very friendly desk staff. Our room was amazing. I felt like we were stepping back in time when we walked through the door. It was a huge corner room with a terrific bed and a corner table. Within a block of main street as well, so we could walk everywhere... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney K
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our historic boutique hotel. The corner room that you stayed is also one of my favorites because of the great views to the west and south. Our location is central so that our guests can easily walk to most... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

No, I'm not talking about the gaming entertainment, I'm referring to the Iron Horse Inn and their constant attention to detail and customer service. The hotel is in the heart of Deadwood and walkable to everywhere a visitor would want. Special thanks to the incredible staff, including Loopie, Bonita, Jenn, Rodney and others - and especially Mike who leads the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan I
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our repeat guest, and your kind words. I will pass along your compliments to our staff. I am very proud of them, and how they interact with our guests. At the end of the day it is not the beds or pillows or decorations that "make the place," but rather the people inside. It is always... More 

Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

Staff was very helpful & friendly. Our room, while the carpet is showing some wear & tear, was GREAT. The place has CHARM. The kids & I joked that we kept expecting to run into gunslingers and saloon girls in the hallways. We loved our stay here. Oh, and if you don't have a coffee pot in your room, there's... More 

Helpful?
Thank LCross65
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. I am glad that you decided to stay in our historic property while visiting historic Deadwood! I often feel the "charm" that you describe during the daily operation of the Iron Horse Inn. While saloon girls and gunslingers probably once roamed these halls, modern day guests often prefer a... More 

Hayden Lake, Idaho
Level Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights and totally loved the location, right in the middle of downtown, walked to most everything. That being said, parking is an issue and with the amount of bikes riding around(we rode our bike too but its a Goldwing,not a Harley or other V-Twin) the noise all day and night was really bad. There were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank theperry5
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest! As you pointed out, many customers like our downtown location, an easy walk to nearly all shops and attractions in Deadwood. Parking is at a premium in our town, and while sometimes "tight," we always accommodate our guest parking requirements in our free adjacent parking lot. I hope that you consider visiting us again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:40
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#16 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
#17 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Freshly restored and affordable historic rooms located one block from the center of downtown Main Street in Deadwood South Dakota. Free parking in adjacent lot. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Iron Horse Inn

Address: 27 Deadwood St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: $84 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iron Horse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Iron Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Hotel Deadwood
Hickoks Iron Horse Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay