Historic Iron Horse Inn Deadwood

Historic Iron Horse Inn Deadwood

Bedroom
Traveler (106)
Full Bed Room
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#13 of 26 hotels in Deadwood
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
The Historic Iron Horse Inn is now 130 years old! Our 19 guest rooms are clean and comfortable with the historic feel. Our guests enjoy FREE parking on the property, and a convenient downtown location just one block to Historic Main Street. Great food, beverage, and entertainment on-site with Three Cousins Pizza on the main floor, and Stan & Ollies Pub in the basement. Great for families and groups, the Parlor provides a place for gathering, family style dining or hanging out shooting pool, darts, foosball, table shuffleboard, or maybe something quieter like playing board games, cards, watching TV or reading.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Game room
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Aerobics offsite
Billiards
Darts
Evening entertainment
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Umbrella
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

27 Deadwood St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
240Reviews4Q+A55Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 126
  • 64
  • 26
  • 15
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andy H wrote a review Aug 2021
Pueblo, Colorado24 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff is supper nice and extremely helpful!! That was a plus!!! We just happen to be staying when two other events were going on in the Black Hills, so room cost everywhere was expensive. But all you get is a room, nothing more. No small fridge, heck, it only had one night stand and the smallest flat screen in a hotel room I've seen. However, it was nice to leave the car parked in the reserved parking at the hotel and walk to Main Street. Also, as small as the casino was, we made more money there than the other three larger casino's in Deadwood.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay away from room 205 until the fix the ceiling fan. It clicks all night, keeping you up, and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol C wrote a review Jul 2021
Crown Point, Indiana3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot say enough good about this hotel and the staff. We booked a room for two nights and ended up staying an extra night because we loved it so much. The staff is incredible and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Ken, Tracy, Cheri and Cathy were some of the best staff we have ever encountered. The rooms were gorgeous and we felt like we had stepped back into the old West. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone to Deadwood. You will not regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pioneer60115872696 wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Troy and Cheri are SO friendly and helpful! They made our stay so comfortable and welcoming. They also went above and beyond by printing out coupons to access area sites and giving us recommendations on places to visit and eat. This hotel has so much historical charm and yet all the important modern upgrades.
We are Iron Horse Inn fans for life!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OtterPop wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel for a weekend. Over priced for what the rooms really are. I understand its a older historic hotel but some updates and accommodations need to be upgraded for this day in age. Rooms were very small and outdated. The outlets didn't work in the room. linens need to be updated towels were like sandpaper. We were told there would be a fridge and microwave but there were none of these to be found in the room. I was involved in an elevator incident where me and three other passengers were stuck between the 1st and 2nd floor. The owner of the hotel accused my boyfriend of jumping and causing the elevator to stop. The elevator had several noticeable glitches including the door and emergency button malfunction among several obvious mechanical problems causing it to be faulty. My card was charged for the elevator repair without my knowledge for damages that were already pr-existing to the elevator the owner didn't have the decency to contact me about the incorrect charge to my account. The owner also told us that he only has problems with the elevator when larger people are on it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't stay here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael T, Owner at Historic Iron Horse Inn Deadwood
Responded Mar 13, 2020
I don't know that I can say anything more than my response to your friend's review below. I could post the video of your party in the elevator that caused it to malfunction, but I will refrain from doing so. I wish you well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
406junkie wrote a review Mar 2020
Ashland, Montana2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Be aware prior to staying at this hotel !!! They will charge your credit card without asking if they believe you broke the elevator. $421.47 to be exact not including the over priced room. This hotel rarely sees upgrades from the looks of it. When the opportunity arises to charge its guest for unexpected elevator failures ... expect to be charged. Also , we had to climb through an escape hatch on top of the elevator into the elevator shaft of the building. Don’t expect the call for help button to work because it didn’t. Thank god someone had a cell phone on them otherwise who knows how long we would have been trapped in the elevator.The owner even explained that it happens when “bigger people” ride it. I absolutely recommend people to steer clear of this establishment and to look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael T, Owner at Historic Iron Horse Inn Deadwood
Responded Mar 10, 2020
In the years that I have owned the hotel, I have never fired a customer. Brenden, congratulations, you have an achieved a first! Booze is a wonderful product. While it may lead one to believe they are much more intelligent than their IQ score might indicate, trust me, it is a mirage. Yes you were charged for breaking the elevator when you jumped up and down when it was operating. (Keep your "day job." The video of your gymnastic attempt verifies the Olympics are not in your future.) In this case the elevator stops as a safety feature, and it's governor must be reset by the elevator repair man. I immediately called the repair man who had to travel from Rapid City to fix the problem you created not only for you and I, but the other 30+ guests staying with us that night. In an effort to not make you wait in the elevator car for his arrival, I carried the ladder up 2 flights of stairs and rescued you and your party. You are welcome. When it came time to pay the piper, you didn't believe that the amount to be fair. In my view, calling the 74 year old elevator repair man at 7pm on a Saturday night to travel 50+ miles one way to address the problem was a bargain. I charged your card exactly what I paid. I provided you with a copy of his invoice. I charged you nothing for my efforts, or for leaving my wife at the restaurant where we were dining. I wish you well on your travels, and should you consider returning to our town, please, DO NOT STAY HERE!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ljhn wrote a review Mar 2021
Rapid City, South Dakota27 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Paid for a suite, this is what the hotel web page and staff called it. Suite was a king size bed in a regular size room with an oversized bathtub with jets. Had a tv with cable in a tv cabinet and a wardrobe with an ironing board. Had no clock, radio, microwave, or small refrigerator, did have a very small rickety table trying to support a coffee maker in a corner of the room. Bathroom fan and heat lamp did not work. The A/C worked when temperature outside at night dropped low enough, otherwise room stayed warm. The staff were great, courteous, friendly and willing to help any way they could. I could go on but bottom line disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask hotel staff what is in the room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken Owens, General Manager at Historic Iron Horse Inn Deadwood
Responded Mar 26, 2021
We're very sorry to see that you were disappointed. As you probably noticed we are in the process of upgrading our hotel. We hope to have Three Cousins Pizza open by mid to late April. We also are in the middle of upgrading the lobby rest rooms to re-open by mid April as the restaurant opens. We have begun upgrading 5 of the hotel units and hope to have them completed and ready for occupancy by June 1. We didn't hear, but we hope you were happy with the work the staff did using their own money to provide you with champagne and balloons to celebrate your anniversary. We can only apologize for the challenges of the thermostat but our weather changes that week ranged from lows of 15 degrees to highs of mid 60s the weekend you stayed with us. Your suite gets the full sun during times like that and the air conditioner/heating has been working overtime to try and keep the temperature as close to 72 degrees as possible but obviously failed for you during your stay and we apologize for that. While your Suite is currently one of the most requested and used, it will be upgraded as well soon. Again, I can only apologize that you were not impressed. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you visit Deadwood and perhaps we can impress you the next time you stay with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad R wrote a review Nov 2023
Casper, Wyoming1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The service was impressive. We travel often and don’t get the value and service these folks offer very often. Cheri took great care of us and the rooming as well as location was great! I would highly recommend staying here. Booked another trip already
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanna W wrote a review Sep 2020
Middlebury, Indiana174 contributions40 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this hotel is great. Lots of good restaurants, a bit of shopping and casinos everywhere. After being out every day sightseeing it was nice to walk to have happy hour and a nice dinner. The hotel is very old, felt a bit tired. Our room on the third floor was spacious except for the bathroom. Lighting wasn’t good, street noise kept us awake. Even the loud music in the lobby seemed over the top. Didn’t see much staff as we always took the stairs. There is an elevator but was a bit too creaky for me. There was no service because of COVID so that only made it seem worse than it might have been. There was coffee available in the lobby which was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken Owens, General Manager at Historic Iron Horse Inn Deadwood
Responded Sep 15, 2020
We do want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Happy to see your comments about our location but I won't lie that I was disappointed to see that you felt the hotel (originally built in 1892) felt a bit tired. We will be renovating the rooms to bring them up to our new Club at Iron Horse level and have begun that renovation now that the shortened summer season has past. The elevator's rollers are also being replaced now that the summer season is over. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you visit Deadwood and see the changes which will be completed this fall and winter. Your comments will be taken into consideration as we make our room renovations and upgrades so thank you again for taking the time to let us know where you felt we could improve!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda L Finn wrote a review May 12
Denver, Colorado14 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at the Iron Horse can’t be beat, they are a small but mighty team! Cheri is full of wonderful recommendations and will treat you as if you’re a guest in her very home. The owner Troy cares deeply about how the place is run and guests are treated. Rachel at Stan and Ollie’s pub downstairs is fantastic. The inn itself has great historic charm and character, located right off the Main Street close to all the bars, restaurants, and attractions of Deadwood. I would recommend this place to anybody and would love to come back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carl M wrote a review Oct 2020
Framingham17 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is old but nice, it has character. If you are looking for shiny and new this isn’t for you. Staff were super helpful and friendly. Gave us good recommendations.
They have a casino but the noise couldn’t be heard in our room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken Owens, General Manager at Historic Iron Horse Inn Deadwood
Responded Nov 5, 2020
Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate your kind comments. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Michael T
Henderson, Nevada13 contributions2 helpful votes
The Martin-Mason Lobby bar will be open until 1am, however the Iron Horse garden pub will be closed. Restaurant open for breakfast and lunch, closes at 2pm.
Ken S asked a question Feb 2019
Saint David, Arizona1,239 contribution69 helpful votes
We will be arriving in may as of now, around 11pm,,,, think we will find a parking space that late there?? thanks
Answer from Michael T
Henderson, Nevada13 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes, the hotel makes sure there is a parking space for all guests.
Answer from Michael T
Henderson, Nevada13 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello, parking is always free. Our lot is on-site and adjacent to our hotel. We hope to see you in the near future! Mike Trucano, owner Iron Horse Inn Deadwood, SD
Answer from Michael T
Henderson, Nevada13 contributions2 helpful votes
Your SUV is fine, but we would need to park your trailer off site in a city parking lot about 3 blocks from the hotel. It is a good, safe lot that we park all of our guest trailers. Let me know when you are coming and I can help you! Mike Trucano, owner Iron Horse Inn Deadwood, SD
Justin T wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go down the street. "
Read full review
Lilhippie wrote a tip Feb 2023
Gurley, Nebraska46 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"On site parking, easy walking, Legion nearby."
Read full review
Andy H wrote a tip Aug 2021
Pueblo, Colorado24 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away from room 205 until the fix the ceiling fan. It clicks all night, keeping you up, and off during the summer, you will get hot."
Read full review
ljhn wrote a tip Mar 2021
Rapid City, South Dakota27 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask hotel staff what is in the room."
Read full review
OtterPop wrote a tip Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Deadwood area.
PRICE RANGE
$44 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
iron horse hotel deadwood, hickoks iron horse hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Iron Horse Hotel & Suites
LOCATION
United StatesSouth DakotaDeadwood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HISTORIC IRON HORSE INN DEADWOOD - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Iron Horse Inn & Casino
Which popular attractions are close to Iron Horse Inn & Casino?
Nearby attractions include Deadwood Alive (0.09 miles), Adams Museum (0.03 miles), and Mt Roosevelt Monument (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Iron Horse Inn & Casino?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Iron Horse Inn & Casino?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Iron Horse Inn & Casino?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iron Horse Inn & Casino?
Conveniently located restaurants include Deadwood Legends Steakhouse at The Franklin Hotel, Jacobs Brewhouse & Grocer, and Mavericks Steak & Cocktails.
Is Iron Horse Inn & Casino located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the center of Deadwood.
Are there any historical sites close to Iron Horse Inn & Casino?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Adams House (0.3 miles), Wild Bill's Trading Post on Main St. (0.1 miles), and Aspire Boutique (2.4 miles).
Is Iron Horse Inn & Casino accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Deadwood HotelsDeadwood Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DeadwoodHotels near Iron Horse Inn & Casino
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars