We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

First Gold Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
First Gold Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 229: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked this hotel on "Hotels Tonight", not knowing how far we would make it on our car trip. Price was 88.00 plus taxes and fees, total 99.00 for King non-smoking. Not so certain it was such a great deal after walking down twin later in the evening and seeing Hampton Inn,, Holiday Inn advertising similar rates, being closer to... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a wonderful place to stay when you are planning a trip to Deadwood SD. We stayed here for 8 days as our hub for the fantastic motorcycle riding and all the sights SD has to offer. This hotel was located centrally for day trips to all the great sights, such as Mt Rushmore, Devils Tower, The Badlands ect.This hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank BikerFredDeb
Faulkton, South Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed awhile back and got a recently over hauled room Bed was comfy and room served our needs for a fun stay in Deadwood It's not fancy hoopla but the staff catered to all needs, even a first aid kit for a clumsy mishap, so we didn't have to run to a drugstore to buy band aids. If you want... More 

Helpful?
Thank mutschharvesting
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's too far to walk in to Deadwood from the Hotel although there is a trolley service that the town operates. Breakfast was wonderful and priced OK too. The rooms in the smoking block stink (naturally) but were clean and tidy.There was a nice kitchen area too. My personal opinion is that the rooms are too expensive.

Helpful?
Thank vegnomeat
West Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the First Gold Hotel & Casino for 3 nights, August 1 – 3, 2016. It was the week before the Sturgis Motorcycle rally. We wanted to enjoy the area on our bike without the huge crowds the following week would bring. This strategy worked well and we had a great time in Deadwood, Sturgis and the Black... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim_in_MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to a 3 wheel Rally and stayed at First Gold Hotel.Girls at front desk were very helpful.The room was great and Clean.Cleaning girls were on their hands and knees scrubbing bathroom floor everyday as we were there for a week, Parking indoors as we had Trikes.Don't forget the breakfast buffet and evening buffet with prime rib and whole big... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carl D
mrg1143, Owner at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review

Carl & Betty, Thanks for the review and it was great meeting you and showing you guys around the Black Hills. Hope to see you next year ! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff is great. Leslie at front desk was very accommodating. We checked in, my parents room was in building 3 with the view of the side of the hill. My mom is very claustrophobic and wouldn't be able to stay in that room. We called the front desk and Leslie took care of moving her to a room with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
mrg1143, Owner at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Also, I am happy to hear you were satisfied with the rooms and our service. More 

Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was there with a motorcycle club Rally, was in the 3rd building with the parking garage. We had the run of the full parking garage 2nd level, which was great had a room off from the garage as our main hospitality room also had tables out in the garage with the bikes so people could party and visit also...The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank ThomasA79
mrg1143, Owner at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review . So happy you enjoyed your stay . More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in building 3 for two nights and paid too much for what we got. Mind you, it was peak season and we booked late, so that's more on us. I must say, the staff were wonderful- very pleasant and accommodating. We had no issues with the service at all. Unfortunately, the parking is not ideal as the ramp... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky1876
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here 6 nights for the 3 wheel rally. Based on some previous reviews I had read, I was a bit concerned about what to expect in terms of our room (my wife and I are normally pretty picky about hotel rooms). Our room (3336) was great. Extremely clean, very good bed. I slept great every night. The bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank TomPlatinum
mrg1143, Owner at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our facility. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.6 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
0.8 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
First Gold Hotel & Gaming- "It's Where Deadwood Begins". Largest hotel property in Deadwood with 195 deluxe hotel rooms and 5 luxurious suites. We serve 3 Buffets everyday, featuring made to order omelets for breakfast, daily lunch specials and USDA Choice Prime Rib nightly. 11 Casino's filled with all your favorite slot machines and live blackjack table games. Free on-site parking including a covered parking garage, Free beer, wine and cocktails to players, Free Wi-Fi internet and Free Gold Club Players Card make First Gold Hotel your First Stop In Deadwood. ... more   less 

Additional Information about First Gold Hotel

Address: 270 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1224
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: $62 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Gold Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your First Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Gold Hotel
First Gold Deadwood
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay