We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
685 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1122
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$289
Travelocity$289
Priceline$289
Hotels.com$289
Orbitz.com$289
eDreams$289
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (60)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hickok’s Hotel & Suites
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 27 in Deadwood
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.2
Value
4.2
Hickok's Hotel and Gaming is centrally located in the Black Hills National Park and is within easy driving distance to Rapid City, Mount Rushmore, Devils Tower, The Mammoth Site, and is located on Historic Deadwood Main Street. The property is within easy walking distance to almost all of Deadwood's activities and attractions. Guests will enjoy the casino in addition to free wireless internet, and meeting room space is available. The hotel bar features beer, wine, and cocktails along with award winning hand made pizza. Well equipped rooms and suites offer a multitude of room configurations. All rooms have a microwave, mini-fridge, in-room safes, iron and boards and coffee makers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
173Reviews6Q+A49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 98
  • 51
  • 11
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kelly B wrote a review Apr 2022
Durand, Wisconsin6 contributions2 helpful votes
Everything was great - check-in / check-out was a breeze -- the location is the best in Deadwood. The room was large and comfortable. Great pizza -- And they employ the best bartender in all of Deadwood!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Larry R wrote a review Feb 2022
Kansas City, Missouri76 contributions139 helpful votes
Dont focus on the weird photos. I was on the fence about going here. ( And we travel quite a bit) the pictures looked more like a 1980 super 8 ( I hate bedspreads) . We wanted something user friendly and in right in the center of it all. But I was afraid i would compromise comfort with outdated rooms and beds. FORGET IT. Our room was as comfortable as our home. The bed and bedding was cozy once you rip of the dreadful bedspread. We had everything we needed. Coffee, refrigerator, microwave, usb ports. The bathroom was HUGE and plenty of hot water. Deborah / Debbie did a great job helping me with last minute reservation. Most all the staff was super. HERE IS THE EPITOME we were exploring the first day there. A housekeeper asked us if we needed help. We said just looking around. This is an amazing place. The house keeper said " YES, I LOVE THIS BUILDING". Rarely will you have staff that love the place they work. When they do everything comes together. That love for their job ( deborah began the experience on our phone call before we left) is what makes this place special. NOT TO MENTION THE LOCATION AND COMFY ROOMS! :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: corner 208. First night thought bar would keep us up. It didnt and never heard rumblings from...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Michael P wrote a review Sep 2021
Mason, Ohio250 contributions67 helpful votes
This was our biggest “gamble” of a hotel in that it is not a chain and I was concerned that the property might not live up to the pictures online. This turned out to be our favorite hotel during our 12 day visit to South Dakota! This is a “boutique” type hotel and so cool. You feel like you’re stepping back to 1880, but not staying at a property that was last updated in 1880! The bathroom was impressive and featured a whirlpool type tub. I this was my best night of sleep, and definitely the best wifi we experienced. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Deadwood. In fact, I’d recommend staying here and making it a base of operations if you want to visit Spearfish or even Devils Tower in WY.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Parking is off site at a garage. It’s a few blocks away, so you can unload at the hotel and then...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Andy S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I had stayed at this hotel from July 31 to August 1. I had issues that were small and only escalated do to incompetent workers. It started when the front desk worker did not know here the parking garage was. That took her 20 minutes to lookup the address of the off site garage. The Hotel manager should have left that information for that worker. The room was missing the remote controls for the TV sets. There was no one in the hotel to call or get help from. A sign at the front desk said to go to the casino for help. The casino said they can't help because they are busy. The Bathtub was clogged but they said that the drain was just screwed down very tight. Last there were people sleeping in the hall. I referred to those people as Bums to the staff but the staff got upset with me on that and said they were guest that they helped to their room. The management also told me that they had no security at this location. A little scary to think this is a Hotel and Casino with no security.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Different Hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Steve L wrote a review Jul 2021
Jamestown, New York568 contributions102 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel for 2 days and had a great time. There is some parking out front available for you to unload and check in. Then you need to park a few blocks away in the public parking garage. Ensure the hotel has your license plate in the system, and you can come and go from the parking garage as you please. We had a corner room which was huge. The hotel definitely has the Deadwood feel and is located on a corner with Main Street and right in the hear of everything. We did have some minor issues with check in and with a rude worker but addressed them with the front desk person the next day and had no other issues. I would stay again if in the Deadwood area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Kean, General Manager at Hickok’s Hotel & Suites
Responded Jul 20, 2021
We appreciate you feedback and thank you for the good review. We hope to see you again if you are in the area.
Read more
Chance_hawkins0 wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
Immediately by entering there was a noticeable odd smell, smelled like smoke. Casino was a bit noisy at night, and one of the jets on tub was broken. Other than that, the stay was enjoyable and peaceful. Would recommend staying here. Great location in downtown Deadwood.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Kean, General Manager at Hickok’s Hotel & Suites
Responded Jul 20, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Samantha S wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
I get it it, it's in a great location but for 400 dollars for 3 nights, no swimming pool no room service you have to ask for towels and set your dirty stuff outside (which we didn't because we didn't need it). Me and my fiance walked into the little (and by little it's a super small area) shopping room they have and the desk lady got up and followed us around the shop but never said one word. They don't have parking your parking is included in your rate and you have to drive down to a public parking ramp and hope to find a space. The pillows are so small and uncomfortable, you'd think for the price they would have better pillows. The plus side was the jacuzzi tub only big enough for one person and being by everything. Deadwood is fantastic but I wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
NebraskaAnne wrote a review Jan 2021
Elgin, Nebraska11 contributions
+1
Hickok is located right on Main Street across from town square and ice rink. Beautiful woodwork and staircases. We stayed in 3 room suite room #302. Queen bed in separate bedroom. King bed in large room with fireplace. Bathroom is large with whirlpool tub. Comfortable beds. Historic looking decor in clean rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
husker24fan wrote a review Oct 2020
Omaha, Nebraska15 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel feels like it’s over a hundred years old but it’s fixed up so well! Comfortable bed, HUGE bathroom, jetted tub, right on Main Street to enjoy the bars and stores. You will need to park about 2 blocks away in a garage but it’s free. Only criticism...wish the lady in the lobby could have cracked a smile to show she appreciated our business.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Trucano, Owner at Hickok’s Hotel & Suites
Responded Nov 20, 2020
Our building was completed in 1898, but was restored in the 2000's to it's historic grandeur. While we saved the Victorian features, "creature comforts" were added that you mentioned and that today's guests enjoy: the large bathrooms, jetted tubs, fireplaces, etc....We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
C Amy wrote a review Oct 2020
107 contributions67 helpful votes
Love the pizza, hotdogs, and burgers at this location. Love the fact that you can get food later in the evening when other places are closed. Always have had great service here. Love the location of this place on main street.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Trucano, Owner at Hickok’s Hotel & Suites
Responded Nov 20, 2020
Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. Our Main Street location lends itself well to guests that desire a late night snack....we serve our award winning pizza until midnight, and 2:30am on weekends. Our pizza is hand made to order, but you can enjoy a cold beer, wine, or whiskey while you wait for your order. Our Angus burgers and jumbo dogs are also very popular. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$67 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hickok`s hotel and gaming
LOCATION
United StatesSouth DakotaDeadwood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hickok’s Hotel & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Hickok’s Hotel & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Deadwood Alive (0.07 miles), Adams Museum (0.08 miles), and Mt Roosevelt Monument (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hickok’s Hotel & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Hickok’s Hotel & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hickok’s Hotel & Suites?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hickok’s Hotel & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Deadwood Legends Steakhouse at The Franklin Hotel, Jacobs Brewhouse & Grocer, and Mavericks Steak & Cocktails.
Is Hickok’s Hotel & Suites located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the center of Deadwood.
Does Hickok’s Hotel & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hickok’s Hotel & Suites?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Adams House (0.4 miles), Wild Bill's Trading Post on Main St. (0.2 miles), and Aspire Boutique (2.4 miles).
Is Hickok’s Hotel & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.